We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“De Zeekoe - conveniently close to Oudshoorn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“De Zeekoe - conveniently close to Oudshoorn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

We booked two luxury rooms and expected a view of the lush indigenous garden, but we were placed in two other rooms. The rooms were very spacious and had full en-suite bathrooms with open air showers. I guess the rooms were an upgrade. The rooms had ostrich cushion feathers, Persian carpets and lovely curtains.

We were a bit unfortunate with the “coffee and tea” facility in the room, as our room only had sugar and no coffee or tea. It is important that staff check this regularly. Even though there was insect repellent spray in the room, we were a bit overwhelmed with the amount of flies in the room as well as dead flies on the top of the mosquito net. It was almost impossible to open the doors due to the flies and a little bit of manure smell. I shared a bath with 4 lazy flies sitting next to me. I did not mind the manure smell as it was not overwhelming and is part of staying on a farm. Maybe an extra sieve door between the bathroom and outdoor shower, would help to keep the flies outside.

Breakfast was incredible and I must compliment the staff. They also served roosterkoek, which was great. The staff were friendly and helpful and also gave us discount vouchers to visit some of the Oudshoorn attractions.

Whilst staying at De Zeekoe, we visited the Cango Caves, Cango Wildlife, Oudshoorn (Langenhoven’s birthplace), etc. De Zeekoe Guest Farm is also very close to the Safari Ostrich farm.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlommetjieBlommetjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    248
    83
    23
    14
See reviews for
184
518
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

When we arrived despite having a e mail confirmation of our booking for a luxury room we were forced into standard accommodation due to a power cut! Despite being allocated room 8 in our original booking we were placed in the tour guide accommodation area at the back with no view.We spent the first night repeatedly asking to be put into the room we actually booked.Eventually this was agreed at 8pm and we were treated as if this was a favour and an upgrade (it was not) we had no apology or recompense.We had to repack our bags and move with no help or assistance which spoiled it for us.The breakfast was very very poor and the service terrible (one hour for a boiled egg) ask for everything from cutlery to cups mostly collecting bits from other tables ourselves in order to progress with eating.The setting is nice but the attention to service and detail lacking.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Owner at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Janice BJeffreys Bay, South Africa
2 reviews Reviews in 2 cities“Ok but poor service”
Reviewed 22 November 2012 NEW When we arrived despite having a e mail confirmation of our booking for a luxury room we were forced into standard accommodation due to a power cut! Despite being allocated room 8 in our original booking we were placed in the tour guide accommodation area at the back with no view.We spent the first night repeatedly asking to be put into the room we actually booked.Eventually this was agreed at 8pm and we were treated as if this was a favour and an upgrade (it was not) we had no apology or recompense.We had to repack our bags and move with no help or assistance which spoiled it for us.The breakfast was very very poor and the service terrible (one hour for a boiled egg) ask for everything from cutlery to cups mostly collecting bits from other tables ourselves in order to progress with eating.The setting is nice but the attention to service and detail lacking.gg

Hi Janice , thank you for your review ,this came as a toatally surprise , as you seen to be very happy whilst visiting De Zeekoe .It is very difficult to check in guests without a booking system , we did have a powercut ,the reason why our hard drive of our main computer crashed . All the tables were laid in the dining room , on your request to sit outside , this was done immediately . Our breakfasts is served from the fresh produce from our own farms and we offer a big variety to choose from daily .It does take an hour to cook an ostrich egg , so we do apologise for the long wait .Although we could not do toast , we did roosterkoek on the fire , for most guests this is an absolute treat . We proud ourselves in the training we offer our staff and waitresses on regular base. Interior design is one of my passions in life , all the rooms were upgraded with new curtains and persian carpets ,originallly artwork and flatscreen televisions , detail definitely not to be missed .

Regards
Paula Potgieter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
168 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Was a little disappointed in that this was billed in the literature that I read as an ostrich & protea farm. It may be, but guests aren't exposed to any farm activities. However, this is a professionally run establishment with clean room and staff that understands international travelers. It is well located & the staff has a handle on all the different options available to a traveler. The meal the 1st night was excellent and De Zeekoe owns the land the tour of meerkats is based upon so a guest gets a R50 discount.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynandTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

The best way I can describe our stay here is to quote from my journal

"It is about 4.30pm now and I am sitting on the veranda to the cabin, writing this journal, the lake is in front of me, there is a Fish Eagle sitting in a tree a little way off, Red Billed Teal, little egret, pied starling, speckled dove, coppersmith plover, cape sparrow and white faced whistling duck all in front of the cabin and several other species on the lake. We are booked onto the Meerkat experience tomorrow and have ordered our dinner for tonight. So, there is nothing else left to do but sit here birding, and sipping the sherry they have left in the room for us. Bliss!"

De Zeekoe is a wonderful place to stay, the staff are friendly and helpful - Paula is exceptional as a host and we were completely happy here. We had a massage whilst we were here, not the best we had ever had but pleasant enough.

We did not stay in the main guest house so cannot comment on this. We stayed in the lodge on the lake and this was wonderful, unfortunately there were mating pigeons on our roof which spoiled the peace a little but it was absolutely hilarious hearing them scrabble about and slide down the roof when they lost their 'footing'...... a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraTaylorMBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

After a long tiring drive it was lovely to arrive at this guest farm and receive a warm welcome from the receptionist! We booked a simple bedroom and although we were offered an upgrade for our second night we stayed with our small but sweet and comfortable twin bedded cabin. The setting was well thought out and the grounds very pleasent considering that this is a working farm. The food all in all was very good although we did have to return the cold soup and the indifferent bobotie. However to be fair when we complained this was taken off our final bill. Overall we did enjoy our stay and I suspect you won't better in the area. If you only have a day here go for the guided tour which will cover all the major attractions, i.e. ostriches, Cango caves, Swartberg pass and the delightful town of Prince Albert.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, the cabins/cottages are fine but if you are a family you might prefer the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ongeypongey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

I recently spent 2 enjoyable nights at De Zeekoe guest farm. The location is beautiful, surrounded by green fields and mountains. We stayed in a standard room which was an adequate size and had a nice deck out front. It was located next to the kitchen so it did get a bit noisy with the banging of pots and pans...but it wasn't too bad really! The breakfast was very substantial but it was a little off putting to have so many flies around! However, the food was well presented and there was good choice. I would recommend a Meerkat tour during the stay, Our guide Devey was excellent and despite the early start it was well worth it when the whole family emerged from the burrow as the sun rose!! We had a very pleasant stay at De Zeekoe and would recommend it!

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms next to the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Stayed for one night only with the specific intention of going on the Meerkat Tour in the morning. Stayed in a Standard room that included breakfast at a price lower than the self cater places we stayed on our trip. Quality of the room and breakfast was extremely good and way more than expected at that price - with sherry, soaps and lotions. We also had a great dinner there.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller55KT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
A big thanks from our side for a honest and lovely review.
We look forward to your next visit!

Kindest regards from sunny Oudtshoorn
Kristy Seyffert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
5.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
4.8 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
4.9 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#3 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#4 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#7 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
16.8 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#1 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Zeekoe Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Zeekoe Guest Farm

Property: De Zeekoe Guest Farm
Address: Route 328, Oudtshoorn | P.O. Box 226, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — De Zeekoe Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7km outside Oudtshoorn, in the Garden Route, surrounded by the famous Swartberg and Outeniqua mountains, is one of the world's 17 "hot spots" with 3 overlapping flower zones. Surrounded by variety attractions like ostrich farms, longest wine route in the world (R 62), Cango caves, Wildlife ranch, waterfalls and museums, makes this the ideal destination for a visit or a stay over in the Klein Karoo. This owner managed, 3000 hectare working lusern farm, is malaria free, and child friendly. De Zeekoe offers a unique in the world opportunity to walk with Wild Meerkats (Meerkat adventures) and to be part of the shy 5 experience!From self catering to luxurious accommodation. De Zeekoe offers the following:• Wild Meerkat tours, home to the "shy five"• Accommodation: From Standard to Superior rooms ( 21 ) Rooms with views of mountains and gardens; 4 Waterfront cabins ; 3 x Private cottages with own pool. Wheelchair friendly rooms• Restaurant with fresh farm produce and free range meat• Cocktail Bar * Biking - bikes to rent• Community project with local school• Fishing - own equipment• Hiking• Going green with recycling , solar panels etc• Birding ( 162 species ) - private bird tours• Canoeing• Self guided walks• Massage relax zone - pre book• Swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Zeekoe Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Zeekoe Guest Farm Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing