We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay - You won't be dissapointed...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay - You won't be dissapointed...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Stayed here for one night and wish we could have stayed for longer. The lodges are very well equipped with large double bed, lovely free standing bath with seperate shower, fridge and seating area outside with small table and chairs. Would recommend the resturant as the food and service were outstanding. We both had the Ostrich steak which was cooked to perfection and was reasonably priced. Over view of the local area was given on arrival which was great. It is outside of Outschoorn village but very close to the Ostrich 'Safari' which is well worth a visit for a few hours. The hotel is also in a good location to visit the Cango Caves. The breakfast was cooked to order and agian to a very high standard with great service. Overall - The service was very friendly, food was very good and the rooms had lots of character. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella8891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Dear Bella

Thanks for the visit and the lovely honest review.

“Travel brings power and love back into your life.”
― Rumi


Kind regards
Kristy Seyffert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    248
    83
    23
    14
See reviews for
184
519
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

I'm not sure how to rate this guest house highly enough! We stayed for 3 nights and really didn't want to leave!

The accommodation, location, views, food and service are all excellent but the real highlight is how friendly and welcoming the staff are! Nothing is too much trouble and everybody is always smiling and happy to see you.

A real gem, stay at De Zeekow, you won't regret it!!

Room Tip: The Cabins are separate from the main guest house but if you want to sit on the deck with your morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night only in December wish it could have been longer the accomodation was top, the restaurant as good as any and the staff very helpful, would defiantly stay again only we will stay longer

The meerkat trip wow!!!!!!!!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bickersblackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
“We live in a wonderful world that is full of beauty, charm and adventure. There is no end to the adventures we can have if only we seek them with our eyes open.” – Jawaharial Nehru

Thanks for a lovely review :-)

Kindest regards
Kristy Seyffert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed one night as part of our drive along the Garden Route from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town. The accommodation is beautiful with real attention to detail and lovely views. We enjoyed the meals in the restaurant and prices were very reasonable. Whilst at De Zeekoe we visited the nearby 'Safari' ostrich farm which was a pleasant way to spend a couple of hours. We also got up early to meet Devey for the unique meerkat experience which was just amazing. It was such a privilege to witness the meerkats emerging from their burrows and Devey's knowledge was excellent. All in all well worth a visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stockport_UKJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
engalnd
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed here for 3 days over Christmas, myself, my husband and our 3 children. This place is fantastic and is just outside the main town so has a real outback feel to it. The rooms are clean and spacious with lovely views out over the mountains. The pool area and gardens are perfect for relaxing in. We also did the merecat tour whilst we were here which was well worth getting up at 4 in the morning for. The place felt very safe and the staff pleasant and helpful. The only disappointing part was that we were under the impression that the farm was an ostrich farm and the children were exciting about this, but when we asked about the farm tour we were told they no longer had any ostriches. They did have lots of lovely brown cows though that sung to us early every morning. We really enjoyed our stay and would love to return one day.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoreyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Thank you for the visit over Christmas. I remember your family :-)
Glad you had a lovely stay and thanks for the review.

Look forward to future visits :-)

Always travel safe!
Kristy Seyffert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Addo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

This was our first visit to De Zeekoe however not our first visit to Oudtshoorn so when we arrived here halfway the afternoon we didn’t feel the need to do any of the activities as explained by the very knowledgeable hostess upon arrival. Instead we decided to take it easy and simply relax in the pool since it looked so inviting on this hot day. And that was a pool with a view… Definite wow factor in this place. Great rooms, great views, great food and enough fun things to do to stay a week….

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreaterAddoJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Hey Julia

Thanks again for visiting our farm and happy that you enjoyed your stay!


kindest regards
Kristy Seyffert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

We stayed two nights here on the recommendation of our travel agency.

Although there are a lot of activities on offer we mostly lounged around our room, the pool and the wireless internet lounge.

Breakfast was great - hot food cooked to order and wonderfully tasty, my husband loved his omlete. We took advantage of the Meerkat Adventures run on De Zeekoe property and Davee was a great guide. After a small (< 1 km) walk with our chairs and cameras we staked out the meerkat overnight accommodation and spent then next couple of hours taking pictures of them coming out into the morning sun and scavenging for food.

We received a complimentary upgrade on our room without asking and it was wonderfully decorated with all amenities - we especially enjoyed the complimentary bottle of sherry that we partook of each afternoon and evening.

No complaints with regards to the service - the staff were extremely helpful with recommendations on activities to enjoy in the area, locations for early dining in Oudtshoorn and help with getting connected to the internet. We would definately return to relax some more.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrissa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
Hey Carissa

Glad you enjoyed your stay at De Zeekoe :-) thanks for the lovely review.
Safe yourneys ahead!

Kind regards
Kristy Seyffert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
5.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
4.8 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
4.9 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#4 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#6 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
16.8 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#1 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Zeekoe Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Zeekoe Guest Farm

Property: De Zeekoe Guest Farm
Address: Route 328, Oudtshoorn | P.O. Box 226, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — De Zeekoe Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7km outside Oudtshoorn, in the Garden Route, surrounded by the famous Swartberg and Outeniqua mountains, is one of the world's 17 "hot spots" with 3 overlapping flower zones. Surrounded by variety attractions like ostrich farms, longest wine route in the world (R 62), Cango caves, Wildlife ranch, waterfalls and museums, makes this the ideal destination for a visit or a stay over in the Klein Karoo. This owner managed, 3000 hectare working lusern farm, is malaria free, and child friendly. De Zeekoe offers a unique in the world opportunity to walk with Wild Meerkats (Meerkat adventures) and to be part of the shy 5 experience!From self catering to luxurious accommodation. De Zeekoe offers the following:• Wild Meerkat tours, home to the "shy five"• Accommodation: From Standard to Superior rooms ( 21 ) Rooms with views of mountains and gardens; 4 Waterfront cabins ; 3 x Private cottages with own pool. Wheelchair friendly rooms• Restaurant with fresh farm produce and free range meat• Cocktail Bar * Biking - bikes to rent• Community project with local school• Fishing - own equipment• Hiking• Going green with recycling , solar panels etc• Birding ( 162 species ) - private bird tours• Canoeing• Self guided walks• Massage relax zone - pre book• Swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Zeekoe Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Zeekoe Guest Farm Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing