We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceptional place”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

WE stayed 2 nights at De Zeekoe. The rooms are very well appointed with lovely bathrooms and outside waterfall shower if it is warm enough. The view from our lodge/room looked out over the far hills.The restaurant is really good and much of the food on the menu is produced on the farm. there are are marked walks and bike rides round the estate . these are well worth doing as the reservoir has spectacular bird life.We also did the meerkat tour which is separate outfit and is again exceptional. Unusual and highly;y recommender.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you for the visit at de Zeekoe and the lovely review.
Looking forward to your next visit on the farm :-)

" You lose sight of things, and when you travel everything balances out"

Kind regards
Kristy Potgieter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    257
    83
    23
    14
See reviews for
188
529
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

this is a great destination and although it is quite a drive we had a great time. the hotel staff are very friendly and very willing to help. dinner was great and our trip to see the meerkats in the morning was an experience that must be done. we also went to the Ostrich farm was great fun.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Catherine

Thanks for visiting de Zeekoe and happy that you enjoyed your stay and your tour!! :-)


"Wherever you go, ho with all your heart"
Kindest regards

Kristy Potgieter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langendorf, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed for one night at the guest farm and visited the meercat tour offered by them. I certainly liked the place. The people were very friendly and lots of fun. The food was very good especially the fresh veggies and salad. Something I usually miss during my travels. The room was very comfortable, clean and cozy. I did not quite like that somebody turned on the lights and the heating sheet in the bed during my absence. Especially as a pamphlet mentioned we should save energy. I know it was well meant but hospitality should not be on the cost of the environment. I can turn it on when I need it and not before hand.
The meercat tour was very good and informative. However it was only a bit longer then 2 hours (as the meercat started to go hunting) then the 3-4 hours mentioned in the booklet.

Over all a very nice place to stay which I can certainly highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We were very impressed with the friendly service and attention to detail. We receive all the information we need on arrival. The dinner and breakfast was absolutely excellent! Can not wait to visit again! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenBabsenFamilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
What a lovely review :-)

Thanks for the honest comments and the visit!
Look forward accommodating you on your next visit to SA and Oudtshoorn.


Happy regards
Kristy Seyffert

" Where ever you go, go with all your heart"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here with a toddler, and despite it being on a farm, there was basically nothing for children. No games or play area are provided. The guest house was nice enough, and had lovely views, but was not really anything special in my opinion.
We did not try the restaurant, but breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thanks you for the review and visiting de Zeekoe.
Happy & safe journeys for you :-)

Kind regards
Kristy Seyffert

" The world is a book, and those who do not travel read only one page"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manheim
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We choose this hotel because it was near where we had previously been staying. My daughter and I stayed from July 22-28, 2013. Paula and all of the staff were so friendly and helpful with our plans. They went out of their way to make sure our stay was wonderful and relaxing. The rooms were not only clean but luxuriuos, and the staffs' attention to detail was amazing. I have never been at a hotel where the staff actually cared how my day was going. Also, the food was delicious. We asked if they had anything on their menu that was native to the area and they made something special just for us! We also were without transportation for our stay and Paula arranged rides for us. Never have I ever been so well taken care of. And the scenery was exceptional as well as the cabins- which we didn't stay in them but toured through them. I will be telling all my friends here in Pennsylvania, USA to stay at DeZeekoe. Janet & Teah N.

Room Tip: Let Paula choose for you- you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Janet

Thanks for the review and visiting de Zeekoe :-)
Hope to see you and your daughter again in the near future!

Thanks for volunteering at Oudtshoorn animal park and making a difference.


" Travel is the only thing you buy...that makes you richer"

Kindest regards
Kristy Seyffert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

An excellent hotel, not too far out of town and well worth visiting. The chalet style rooms were comfortable and very spacious. The restaurant served excellent food and wine and is well recommended. Plenty of meerkats to view if you have the time.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WJL411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
5.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
4.8 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
4.9 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#6 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
16.8 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#1 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Zeekoe Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Zeekoe Guest Farm

Property: De Zeekoe Guest Farm
Address: Route 328, Oudtshoorn | P.O. Box 226, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — De Zeekoe Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7km outside Oudtshoorn, in the Garden Route, surrounded by the famous Swartberg and Outeniqua mountains, is one of the world's 17 "hot spots" with 3 overlapping flower zones. Surrounded by variety attractions like ostrich farms, longest wine route in the world (R 62), Cango caves, Wildlife ranch, waterfalls and museums, makes this the ideal destination for a visit or a stay over in the Klein Karoo. This owner managed, 3000 hectare working lusern farm, is malaria free, and child friendly. De Zeekoe offers a unique in the world opportunity to walk with Wild Meerkats (Meerkat adventures) and to be part of the shy 5 experience!From self catering to luxurious accommodation. De Zeekoe offers the following:• Wild Meerkat tours, home to the "shy five"• Accommodation: From Standard to Superior rooms ( 21 ) Rooms with views of mountains and gardens; 4 Waterfront cabins ; 3 x Private cottages with own pool. Wheelchair friendly rooms• Restaurant with fresh farm produce and free range meat• Cocktail Bar * Biking - bikes to rent• Community project with local school• Fishing - own equipment• Hiking• Going green with recycling , solar panels etc• Birding ( 162 species ) - private bird tours• Canoeing• Self guided walks• Massage relax zone - pre book• Swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Zeekoe Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Zeekoe Guest Farm Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing