We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique experience of peaceful excitement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
Certificate of Excellence
ayrshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A unique experience of peaceful excitement”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I know that the title of my report has words which seem to conflict however its difficult to put into words how we felt during our too brief stay in De Zeekoe. The Guest Farm captures the excitement of Africa yet manages to convey an exciting feeling with a gentleness and serenity that is not contrived and can only be the outcome of a combination of nature and a genuine desire to be of service.
There is a variety of accommodation available and you should make sure you know what your options are.The food and service was excellent and the friendliness of the staff was present without exception.
I wished we had booked to stay longer and next time we will, its the kind of place that you can spend a day doing very little apart from recharging your batteries and getting ready for the next exciting experience be it the meerkats or the nearby ostrich farms.
My strong recommendation is not to miss De Zeekoe.....you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for the options..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyager2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Willie

Thanks for the visit and the lovely review :-)
Was a pleasure accommodating you on our farm.
Look froward to your next visit!

“The most important thing is to enjoy your life—to be happy—it's all that matters.” ― Audrey Hepburn

Kind regards
Kristy Potgieter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    263
    86
    23
    14
See reviews for
197
539
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Was a bit concerned as we drove up dusty farm road to guest house but then came to gated and fenced area of the guest houses. Friendly staff welcomed us with offer of drink while we checked in. Allocated very nice room just next to main building. Pink ostrich feathers were scattered throughout room! Comfortable bed had mosquito net but it wasn't needed. Complementary decanter of sherry in room provided nice start to evening. We then had a very good meal in restaurant, a large high ceilinged room, on first night there was a warming lit fire but second evening although a bit colder fire was not lit! We had good service from friendly staff both evenings but other diners didn't fare so well and had long waits between courses. Bar area was open to the elements so didn't use on second evening as it was far too windy and cold. Had a drink in small lounge area instead. We liked De Zeekoe but didn't find enough to do in Oudtshorn so one evening would have been enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharrenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Dear Paula and team - thanks again for the very special time our family ( daughter 4 and 6) had on your lovely guestfarm. The food, sunset, Meerkat Magic, our room and your exceptional hospitality made our stay memorable. We will be back !

Room Tip: Do book for the Meerkat tour - truly magical !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanelVanReenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

A unique accommodation where all rooms are different and charming. I stayed in number 2 which was very small with the shower and bath in the room itself. The location of the hotel was very serene with the cows waking you up in the mornings. They had internet service but no phone in the room so bring your own alarm. The bar and restaurant where lovely and all around the property where places to sit and relax on your own or with guests. I ended up here when the hotel I wanted was full but consider it a bonus as I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and if ever in the area again will return but ask for a larger room.

Room Tip: The rooms in front of the reception seemed more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandrapauwels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A very quiet beautiful farm that is still run as a farm. The service was excellent so was the food. It you feel like really old fashioned Africa, try out their log cabins on the small lake - either for a sundowner if they are available or book your stay in them. The rooms at the farm are in seperate buildings right off the parking lot and are extra roomy. Great bathrooms and outdoor shower. You can have a swim in the pool, go kayaking, mountainbiking, book a merkat tour (early morning!) which you will always remember or try out the close by Ostrich farm for a ride on the world's tallest bird!

Room Tip: If you can book one of the log cabins on the lake instead of a room. Even though the rooms are excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TatiAfrika13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

WE stayed 2 nights at De Zeekoe. The rooms are very well appointed with lovely bathrooms and outside waterfall shower if it is warm enough. The view from our lodge/room looked out over the far hills.The restaurant is really good and much of the food on the menu is produced on the farm. there are are marked walks and bike rides round the estate . these are well worth doing as the reservoir has spectacular bird life.We also did the meerkat tour which is separate outfit and is again exceptional. Unusual and highly;y recommender.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you for the visit at de Zeekoe and the lovely review.
Looking forward to your next visit on the farm :-)

" You lose sight of things, and when you travel everything balances out"

Kind regards
Kristy Potgieter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

this is a great destination and although it is quite a drive we had a great time. the hotel staff are very friendly and very willing to help. dinner was great and our trip to see the meerkats in the morning was an experience that must be done. we also went to the Ostrich farm was great fun.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Catherine

Thanks for visiting de Zeekoe and happy that you enjoyed your stay and your tour!! :-)


"Wherever you go, ho with all your heart"
Kindest regards

Kristy Potgieter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
5.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
489 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#2 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
874 reviews
4.9 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#3 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#7 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
179 reviews
16.7 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#10 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
153 reviews
12.4 mi away
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Zeekoe Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Zeekoe Guest Farm

Property: De Zeekoe Guest Farm
Address: Route 328, Oudtshoorn | P.O. Box 226, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — De Zeekoe Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7km outside Oudtshoorn, in the Garden Route, surrounded by the famous Swartberg and Outeniqua mountains, is one of the world's 17 "hot spots" with 3 overlapping flower zones. Surrounded by variety attractions like ostrich farms, longest wine route in the world (R 62), Cango caves, Wildlife ranch, waterfalls and museums, makes this the ideal destination for a visit or a stay over in the Klein Karoo. This owner managed, 3000 hectare working lusern farm, is malaria free, and child friendly. De Zeekoe offers a unique in the world opportunity to walk with Wild Meerkats (Meerkat adventures) and to be part of the shy 5 experience!From self catering to luxurious accommodation. De Zeekoe offers the following:• Wild Meerkat tours, home to the "shy five"• Accommodation: From Standard to Superior rooms ( 21 ) Rooms with views of mountains and gardens; 4 Waterfront cabins ; 3 x Private cottages with own pool. Wheelchair friendly rooms• Restaurant with fresh farm produce and free range meat• Cocktail Bar * Biking - bikes to rent• Community project with local school• Fishing - own equipment• Hiking• Going green with recycling , solar panels etc• Birding ( 162 species ) - private bird tours• Canoeing• Self guided walks• Massage relax zone - pre book• Swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your De Zeekoe Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Zeekoe Guest Farm Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing