We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
248 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This farm is in a lovely setting, well away from the tourist hustle. Our room had an extra bed in it for a child which made it a bit cramped. Good views from the small balcony, shame that the balconies for neighbouring rooms were separated by a sheet of corrugated iron - it detracted from the building. Great pool. Service at breakfast was slow, there seemed to be one poor lady trying to organise everyone, she did keep tabs on who needed what but food/coffee was very slow to arrive - she did apologise. Evening meals are huge and OK. great salad starters, again massive portions. We did the morning meerkat trip which was worth doing just to get so close to them, it is a bit of a touristy trip and you don't feel that you are really in the wild with them. Good walks right on the door.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Sophia

Thanks for the review, rating and your visit at de Zeekoe.
Our tours are not touristic, these meerkats are wild animals, and we offer the exclusive opportunity to view then in their natural habitat. You cant do this anywhere else!
Look forward to your next visit on the farm.

Kind regards from sunny Oudtshoorn
Kristy Potgieter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    263
    86
    23
    14
See reviews for
197
538
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

A lovely place, with great accommodation and food. The staff are friendly and helpful and the views are fantastic. Well worth a visit especially if wanting to see the meerkats. Stayed for two nights and would have preferred longer, but time constraints prevented it.

Room Tip: If the weather is hot ask for the outside shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grumpybrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thanks for the visit on our farm and your review. I'm happy that you had the time to experience the unique meerkat tour.

" i always wonder why birds stay in the same place when they can fly anywhere on the earth. Then i ask myself the same question"

Kind regards from sunny Oudtshoorn

Kristy Potgieter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed in a "Cabin on the lake", a three minute drive from the main building. I would definitely recommend the cabins if available! Our cabin was so lovely, big and cosy - it was just a lovely experience! It was raining the whole time we stayed in Oudtshoorn - which accordingly to everyone we talked to never happens ;) - but we took some blankets out and sat on our deck, overlooking the lake. Such a serene experience! We had a fireplace in the cabin and lit a fire at night. The dinner at De Zeekoe was the best I've had for months! I could barely speak during dinner, as I was totally absorbed by the food. Maybe ostrich meat is always that good, but I was just blown away. The meerkat-tour is on the farms' premisses, so the staff can help you with reservations and you get a discount for the tour if you stay at De Zeekoe. I would recommend the meerkat experience to anyone, as it is a once in a lifetime encounter with nature! And when in Oudtshoorn - stay at De Zeekoe!

Room Tip: If you have a car - try go get a cabin on the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeciliaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Cecilia

Thanks again for the visit and your lovely reply with awesome pictures :-)
Looks like the rain is over for now, and enjoying sunshine in Oudtshoorn. Look forward having you on our farm on your next trip to South Africa.

" In the world through which i travel i am endlessly creating myself"

Kind regards from sunny Oudtshoorn
Kristy Potgieter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here just for 1 night on our way to port elizabeth. We had a standard room which was simple but more than good enough for 1 night. Only negative was the low water pressure when taking a shower.

We had dinner at the restaurant which was great. Also the breakfast next morning was great.

Via de Zeekoe we booked the meerkat adventure tour. It's not really an adventure tour as you're sitting on chairs watching meerkats. Nevertheless it was a great experience to see the meerkats in the wild.


  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BartBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for the visit @ de Zeekoe and the review!

" twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do....so throw all the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbour, catch the trade winds in your sails...explore...dream...discover"

Kindest regards
Kristy Potgieter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veghel, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We ended up here to stay for just one night as we were on our way to the next stop along the garden route.
We had basic rooms, not to expensive and indeed very basic.
Water preasure was very low so taking a nice warm shower was not an option, the water also smells a little like sulfur, but it is well water they use.
There was no seperation between bedroom and bathroom, which feels a little odd but is in no way a big problem if your room partner is your lover.

The breakfast is simple but ok, the dinner (which comes at extra charge) was very nice!

Staff is friendly, wifi was ok but television was useless.

Wouldn't book it for a longer stay, but on your way through, no problem!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WouterGrimmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Wouter

We encourage our visitors to right reviews and therefor want to thank you for the honest opinion.
Our standard rooms are not very big ( only 2 standard rooms), and encourage our visitors to book the luxury rooms, with en suite bathrooms. We use clean water from the fountain on the farm, and therefor sometimes you can smell the sulfur.
We have so much activities on the farm as well as in Oudtshoorn, and would definitely encourage a 2 night stay!

Look froward to your next visit!

" Travel is the only thing you buy, that makes you richer :-)"

Kristy Potgieter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

De Zeekoe Guest Farm is situated just far enough outside Oudtshoorn to give the feeling of being in the middle of nowhere. An excellent place to stop over en route to Prince Albert or beyond. The pool area was a great place to relax with wonderful views. Our room was automatically upgraded for us without asking as they had the capacity to do so. The room and bathroom were spacious although I was sorry to waste so much water waiting for hot water to come through. The evening meal was well presented but somewhat tasteless and the poor friendly waitress was rushed off her feet despite the place not being full.

This accommodation worked well for ease of access for the Meerkat Sunrise Tour which was excellent.

Room Tip: Be sure to understand which room you have booked as some are situated well away from the main restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EluwaiLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you. It was our pleasure to host you and your group. I trust you had a wonderful trip. Hope to see you again in the future!

Kristy Potgieter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I know that the title of my report has words which seem to conflict however its difficult to put into words how we felt during our too brief stay in De Zeekoe. The Guest Farm captures the excitement of Africa yet manages to convey an exciting feeling with a gentleness and serenity that is not contrived and can only be the outcome of a combination of nature and a genuine desire to be of service.
There is a variety of accommodation available and you should make sure you know what your options are.The food and service was excellent and the friendliness of the staff was present without exception.
I wished we had booked to stay longer and next time we will, its the kind of place that you can spend a day doing very little apart from recharging your batteries and getting ready for the next exciting experience be it the meerkats or the nearby ostrich farms.
My strong recommendation is not to miss De Zeekoe.....you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for the options..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyager2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Willie

Thanks for the visit and the lovely review :-)
Was a pleasure accommodating you on our farm.
Look froward to your next visit!

“The most important thing is to enjoy your life—to be happy—it's all that matters.” ― Audrey Hepburn

Kind regards
Kristy Potgieter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
5.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
489 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
871 reviews
4.9 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#8 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
179 reviews
12.4 mi away
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
#4 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
288 reviews
16.7 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#9 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Zeekoe Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Zeekoe Guest Farm

Property: De Zeekoe Guest Farm
Address: Route 328, Oudtshoorn | P.O. Box 226, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — De Zeekoe Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7km outside Oudtshoorn, in the Garden Route, surrounded by the famous Swartberg and Outeniqua mountains, is one of the world's 17 "hot spots" with 3 overlapping flower zones. Surrounded by variety attractions like ostrich farms, longest wine route in the world (R 62), Cango caves, Wildlife ranch, waterfalls and museums, makes this the ideal destination for a visit or a stay over in the Klein Karoo. This owner managed, 3000 hectare working lusern farm, is malaria free, and child friendly. De Zeekoe offers a unique in the world opportunity to walk with Wild Meerkats (Meerkat adventures) and to be part of the shy 5 experience!From self catering to luxurious accommodation. De Zeekoe offers the following:• Wild Meerkat tours, home to the "shy five"• Accommodation: From Standard to Superior rooms ( 21 ) Rooms with views of mountains and gardens; 4 Waterfront cabins ; 3 x Private cottages with own pool. Wheelchair friendly rooms• Restaurant with fresh farm produce and free range meat• Cocktail Bar * Biking - bikes to rent• Community project with local school• Fishing - own equipment• Hiking• Going green with recycling , solar panels etc• Birding ( 162 species ) - private bird tours• Canoeing• Self guided walks• Massage relax zone - pre book• Swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your De Zeekoe Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Zeekoe Guest Farm Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing