We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

A really lovely place. Great rooms, great food, great service. Just outside of town so nice and quiet.
Nice pool and bar area. Very helpful re trips to book, extensive menu, very pretty gardens.
It really was a nice way to spend a couple of days before Christmas! Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Joe

Thank you for the honest and positive review.
Was a pleasure hosting you on our farm!
Looking forward to your next visit!


" Remember happiness is a way of travel, not a destination"

Kind regards
Kristy Potgieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (923)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 923 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

great location and room comfortable but dark - and we were upgraded! some of staff really nice...some were frosty. one lady - possibly the owner - positively bossy! one lady on reception was very helpful as we had a puncture.

breakfast ok but not too hot and rather small portion of cooked food. nice pool area.

long way out of town but not much in the town anyway!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Owner at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

I remember you two gentleman very well, you had problems with the rental car.
De Zeekoe without hesitation, made a few phone calls, without any charge and with a smile, as a result of kindness and good service we offer. Positive bossy, thanks you for the compliment, as a proprietor of the company with 30 people ( most of them local, that is being trained under management of de Zeekoe) is rewarding and challenging to keep everybody happy, to uplift them all the time, and to be a true ambassador for my country and my Lord.

Paula Potgieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We spent three nights in the Zeekoe and we had a great time there. We loved the surroundings and there were plenty of activities to keep us busy (for example the Meerkat experience was amazing). The personnel were extremely kind and helpful and we loved the food in the Zeekoe's own restaurant. However, given the R1500 p/n rate (and the 'upgrade' we received when we arrived) our room was disappointing. We had no view whatsoever and the shower took more than 10 minutes to warm up. Hence the three star rate. The wonderful service, surroundings and food would be worth nothing less than five.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank StephanieCatherina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thanks for the review Stefanie

Disappointed that you didn't enjoy your free upgrade, however I'm glad that overall you had a nice visit on our farm! Looking forward to your next stay!

Kristy Potgieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The Little Karoo region of South Africa stole our hearts, and Oudtshoorn is probably the best town to stay in the region. And the De Zeekoe might be the best place to stay in Oudtshoorn. We were upgraded to a deluxe room and wow -- really nice, spacious, romantic and comfortable rooms. I liked the (useful) mosquito netting over the comfortable bed, the indoor/outdoor shower, the nice furnishings and the complementary in-room sherry. The setting is very pretty although, as others have noted, you don't really feel like you're on a farm; more like a nice country inn.

Breakfast at the restaurant was very good, and the restaurant is well-sited for good views. I thought dinner was good -- you want to try the local ostrich -- but the menu is a little limited and the food wasn't extraordinary for the price. If you're staying 2 nights -- and you should -- you'll probably want to go into town (10 minute drive) for one of the nights. Oudtshoorn itself surprised me as being a larger and more sophisticated town than I expected. I'd recommend doing an ostrich farm tour (we liked the one near the caves), the cave itself, the pass to Prince Albert and some shopping (too bad ostrich leather is sooo expensive).

The only thing we passed on was their Meerkat Adventure. Honestly, at 450 rand (and that's a discount for guests!) it seemed very overpriced. Oh, and you also have to be at the meeting place a few kilometers from the hotel at 5 am! We saved the money, slept in, and saw meerkats "for free" driving ourselves around the Addo Elephant Reserve a few days later.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Dave

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Happy that you enjoy your visit on our farm & our luxurious rooms.
Next time when you visit you should definitely do the meerkat tour, I'm sure you will think different then.

Always travel safe!

" we travel not to escape life, but for life not to escape us"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Lovely 2 night stay for three persons in three separate rooms, wonderful accommodations, splendidly clean and comfortable bedding, perfect for an evening rest and after dinner drink on the included private patio, a sound overnight sleep, and lazily lounging in the early morning before a sumptuous breakfast. Dinners at the Guest Farm and not to be missed, I encourage all to try the Ostrich filet - delicious; and, as is true of all the meals, prepared to perfection! Staff are wonderfully professional, friendly, always smiling and helpful, and serenely attentive yet unobtrusive. The setting is calm and restful, and the views of the nearby fields, river, tall grasses and distant mountains are exquisite. Conveniently located just outside of town, with many local sites to see for the inquisitive, happy traveler. We highly recommend De Zeekoe Guest Farm to anyone interested in a luxurious stay at reasonable pricing for all that you receive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear William

I remember your visit on our farm. Thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are happy and proud that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to our season ahead and are now inspired to continue giving excellent service to our guests.

Look forward to your next visit on our farm.

Kind regards
Kristy Potgieter

“Stop worrying about the potholes in the road and celebrate the journey.” -Fitzhugh Mullan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This place is lovely - the rooms and their decoy are just stunning (four poster beds, large bathrooms with both an internal and an outdoor shower), the swimming pool and the grounds are beautifully maintained, the breakfast spread is top notch, and the food is very good (though not memorable). While the accommodation is located on a working farm the only place where could see the two met was in the use of farm produce in the meals - there were no farm activities you could involve yourself in if that was your thing (though there is horse riding). There is a small children's playground and children are welcomed. Our small person had a great time. The farm is only 10 kilometres from town and is therefore a good base for exploring the area (including, having dinner in town if you choose). There is free WiFi in the main building only but not in individual cabins.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank anactbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

De Zeekoe is situated 7 km from Oudtshoorn. This makes our farm the perfect destination to visit all the surrounding activities Oudtshoorn has to offer. Thanks again for the visit and we are happy that you enjoyed our rooms, service and food.

" To move, to breath, to fly.
to gain all while you go.
to roam the roads of landscapes..
to travel is to live"


Kind regards from sunny Oudtshoorn
Kristy Potgieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

For luxury, the hotel lodges on the farm are made to high standard very large room and bed and bathroom, bath plus shower plus double basin and separate toilet, and outside shower which simply had to be tried.
Hotel facilities are good, outside bar with simply delicious cocktails in lovely gardens.
The cabins however stole our hearts, away from all the hotel facilities located on a water reservoir teaming with birds. Tranquil and lovely. Self catering, although a little challenging. But then there is always the restaurant and the bar with cocktails to fall back on.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanealle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thanks for the visit and the honest review.
Glad that you enjoyed your stay & our new bar on our farm.
Look forward to your next visit.


" peace is a journey of a thousand miles and it must be taken one step at a time"
Lyndon Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
5.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
503 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
911 reviews
4.9 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#7 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
345 reviews
18.2 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#8 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
184 reviews
16.8 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#1 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Zeekoe Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Zeekoe Guest Farm

Address: Route 328, Oudtshoorn | P.O. Box 226, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £63 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Zeekoe Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7km outside Oudtshoorn, in the Garden Route, surrounded by the famous Swartberg and Outeniqua mountains, is one of the world's 17 "hot spots" with 3 overlapping flower zones. Surrounded by variety attractions like ostrich farms, longest wine route in the world (R 62), Cango caves, Wildlife ranch, waterfalls and museums, makes this the ideal destination for a visit or a stay over in the Klein Karoo. This owner managed, 3000 hectare working lusern farm, is malaria free, and child friendly. De Zeekoe offers a unique in the world opportunity to walk with Wild Meerkats (Meerkat adventures) and to be part of the shy 5 experience!From self catering to luxurious accommodation. De Zeekoe offers the following:• Wild Meerkat tours, home to the "shy five"• Accommodation: From Standard to Superior rooms ( 21 ) Rooms with views of mountains and gardens; 4 Waterfront cabins ; 3 x Private cottages with own pool. Wheelchair friendly rooms• Restaurant with fresh farm produce and free range meat• Cocktail Bar * Biking - bikes to rent• Community project with local school• Fishing - own equipment• Hiking• Going green with recycling , solar panels etc• Birding ( 162 species ) - private bird tours• Canoeing• Self guided walks• Massage relax zone - pre book• Swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your De Zeekoe Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Zeekoe Guest Farm Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing