We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed for one night as we specifically wanted to do the meerkat viewing. We were welcomed by Adri who was extremely friendly and helpful. The location is stunning, surrounded by farmland and beautiful views to the mountains. The room we had, number 1, was well equipped, comfortable bed and nice shower. It had tea, coffee making facilities as well as a little deck with a table and chairs. The pool was very nice, sited in the gardens with comfortable sun loungers and plenty of shade. We had a very nice dinner in the evening and there was a good choice for breakfast. We did the meerkat viewing which was a great experience. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Makalolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thanks for the lovely review and again for visiting our farm.
We look forward to your next visit on our farm!

Kristy Potgieter

" once the travel bug bites there is no known antidote, and I know that I shall be happily infected until the end of my life"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights , breakfast and diner are good , staff was very friendly you can ask them everything about the area and they will help you as much they can, Hotel was clean and good to find.

Room Tip: Choose the houses near the lake , beautiful view and very nice to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Ronald

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience at our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and our service :-)

Look forward to a next visit on our farm!

kind regards from Oudtshoorn

Kristy Potgieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We enjoyed two nights here and thought the staff particularly helpful.
Dinner was not the best we have enjoyed in this region of SA and a meal out in town at Bello Cibo was better value.
The room was well appointed especially the ostrich trimmed cushions. A pleasant stay in Oudtshoorn which has lots to see in the area.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Anne

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. We are very pleased to hear that you are satisfied with the standard of our accommodation and its facilities. Maintaining a good standard are one of our main focus points. Happy that you enjoyed our pretty town :-)
Hope to see you again soon!

Kindest regards
Kristy Potgieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

From the moment you check in till the moment you check out there is good service.
Very friendly, helpful and accommodating staff - I only remember one name Adri ~ there was a bit of a problem when I made the reservation - she immediately came to my rescue when I phoned her and delivered on her promises and help.
Welcoming drinks, easy and quick check in, nicely decorated and comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast, friendly staff and very easy and personable to chat with, car wash in the mornings ~ seriously I have no complaints about this place and highly recommend this !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frits H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Frits

Thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review and the great compliments towards Adri :-)
I'm sure this will put a big smile on her face!
look forward to your next visit on our farm!

"Wanderlust: A very strong and irresistible impulse or desire to travel the world"


Kind regards
Kristy Potgieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

A very nice place. Complementiry sherry on arrival. Beautiful room, but best of all was probably that our car was washed in the morning.
We had dinner two nights. Nice food and good service.
Here I would like to come back.

I.A.Kise

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Inger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Inger

Thank you for your review. As we have a passion for travelling we realise how important it is to offer the best service and extra' s like washing your car :-) . Thank you for all the positive feedback!!

Kind regards
Kristy Potgieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The rooms are beautiful and clean, the balcony comes with bird droppings everywhere, so does the playground. You don't want to send your kid there.
People are in general friendly and helpful, unfortunately they ignore feedback consequently. On the surface of the pool swimms all kind of stuff - only because the filter is not installed in a clever way - a small step to make a big difference, but again they won't listen.
Watch out the boys cleaning your car (w/o asking). Did not have small money ready and ended with a thin nail in my front tyre (inserted from the side). Made the guest farm aware of this issue, but again - no answer.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Magnus13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Owner at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Good day
We appreciate the time you have taken to send us an email as well as a review on Tripadvisor.

As said in previous reviews we have answered, we do appreciate the reviews - negative as well as positive.

Regarding your review, the following:

- bird droppings everywhere - we are situated on a 2000ha farm, with ±162 bird species calling De Zeekoe their home. Because we do believe that every creature living on this beautiful planet, has the right to walk/fly free. So that is why we unfortunately do not have any control over where the birds land/sit or "drop". The playground are being cleaned regularly, and guest who visited with kids, let them play there. Unless we appoint someone to stand at the playground with a cloth 24/7, this will happen during the day.
- ignore feedback consequently - where there more than two? We did receive your email and this review. If you did not receive the mail, it is unfortunate to say that you can blame that on us.
- swimming pool? - I am not an expert on this, so I had call the one who constantly inspect our pool on a weekly basis.
Boys washing the cars - this was the comment that we were the most upset about. The boys do this for extra money to better themselves and definitely not to sabotage our guest. Tips are also the prerogative of the guest and NOT compulsory. A service the boys deliver to the guest early in the morning and thankful for everything that they do get. My employees driving to work from town also have suffered flat tyre's because of nails or just simply a "slow punch". The gravel road leading to De Zeekoe is a municipal road that lead to a fair amount of farms. Anyone can drive on there. With our experience regarding this, we do feel that you comment regarding the boys are uncalled for, unless proof can be provided to prove that they put it there.

Thank you again for the time you took for these reviews.

Much Blessings and kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

In De Zeekoe we had one of the best rooms we stayed in during our two weeks holiday in SA. Very nice, little balcony, beautiful bed, en very well equiped bathroom. And so much space! We had dinner there the 2 nights we stayed, and it was very good food. Only thing that I liked better in some other places was that they offered a 3 course menu; you could also have that in De Zeekoe, but all seperately. This is just a small detail of course. You have wonderful views from the restaurant, beautiful sunset. The breakfast had plenty of choice for everyone, cold and warm. The service was good, efficient and to the point. Because I was sick the first day we arrived, we postponed our meerkat expedition one day, and this was absolutely no problem. They are a 10-15 minutes drive from Oudtshoorn away, so that is also very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Owner at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Good day

Thank you for taking time to write us an review. We do appreciate all feedback that we receive from our guest. It is a satisfying feeling when you receive an review as positive as yours.

We must apologize for the bugs - as you have stated ( africa), but also, we are situated on a farm and with that - comes interaction with all of life's beautiful little creatures.

Hopefully we will meet in the future. Blessings for you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
5.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
522 reviews
17.6 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
210 reviews
16.8 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#2 of 53 in Oudtshoorn
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#10 of 53 in Oudtshoorn
190 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#4 of 53 in Oudtshoorn
971 reviews
16.7 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#8 of 53 in Oudtshoorn
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Zeekoe Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Zeekoe Guest Farm

Address: Route 328, Oudtshoorn | P.O. Box 226, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £68 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Zeekoe Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7km outside Oudtshoorn, in the Garden Route, surrounded by the famous Swartberg and Outeniqua mountains, is one of the world's 17 "hot spots" with 3 overlapping flower zones. Surrounded by variety attractions like ostrich farms, longest wine route in the world (R 62), Cango caves, Wildlife ranch, waterfalls and museums, makes this the ideal destination for a visit or a stay over in the Klein Karoo. This owner managed, 3000 hectare working lusern farm, is malaria free, and child friendly. De Zeekoe offers a unique in the world opportunity to walk with Wild Meerkats (Meerkat adventures) and to be part of the shy 5 experience!From self catering to luxurious accommodation. De Zeekoe offers the following:• Wild Meerkat tours, home to the "shy five"• Accommodation: From Standard to Superior rooms ( 21 ) Rooms with views of mountains and gardens; 4 Waterfront cabins ; 3 x Private cottages with own pool. Wheelchair friendly rooms• Restaurant with fresh farm produce and free range meat• Cocktail Bar * Biking - bikes to rent• Community project with local school• Fishing - own equipment• Hiking• Going green with recycling , solar panels etc• Birding ( 162 species ) - private bird tours• Canoeing• Self guided walks• Massage relax zone - pre book• Swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your De Zeekoe Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Zeekoe Guest Farm Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing