We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“meerkats”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Parry Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“meerkats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had a wonderful time at this family run 4 star working farm. De Zeekoe staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome, offering little extras at every chance. We got up very early one morning to watch the very cute, but wild, meerkats start their day. Thank you Paula for your wonderful hospitality.

Room Tip: We were told they are up grading the self catering cabins, which were great for a family. The hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meme532014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Glad that you had the opportunity to experience the meerkats and our lovely farm accommodation.
Thanks for you honest and lovely review :-)
Look forward to your next stay on our farm!

" Who lives sees, but who travel sees more "

Kindest regards
Kristy Potgieter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    248
    83
    23
    14
See reviews for
184
518
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

This was one of the pleasant surprises of our garden route tour. Its a good place to stay to explore the ostrich capital. The poolside restaurant and bar is very nice. Highly recommended for a short sweet two nights stay!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joydeep G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks for your positive review Joy.
Travel safe and we are looking forward to your next visit,

kind regards
Kristy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed in a cabin in May as the farm was closed in this month. It didn't matter though as we still had access to the whole area & in the morning, breakfast was delivered & cooked at our cabin which was brilliant, especially after doing the fantastic Meerkat tour in the morning. We stayed here due to their association with the tour but were pleasantly surprised by the ambience of the cabin - there is an open fireplace & view of the lake.

Room Tip: Definitely book the Meerkat tour as well, it was a fantastic way to start the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Cheryl

Thanks for the positive feedback.
The cabins are such a special place and we are happy that you experienced the lovely nature and our hospitality.

We are looking forward to the new renovations at the main house, and to share it with you in the near future as well :-)

Regards from the meerkat valley
Kristy Potgieter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

A very warm welcome when we arrived at De Zeekoe Guest Farm.

We did not make a reservation, were happy to find a nice and relaxed place. The intention was to stay for one night, finaly we stayed for three night. The rooms are luxurious and nice, the setting was serene.

The third bed for our boy (8) could be a bid more confortable (gap in the middle)

We definitely recommend this place

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vdStap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Vincent

Thanks again for the 3 nights visit on our farm & the good advise regarding our red wine ;-)
Hope you had a lovely trip after de Zeekoe and we are looking forward hosting your family on our farm again.

Blessing to your lovely wife
Kristy Potgieter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

With all the holidays this month past in South Africa we had the pleasant experience being booked into one of the Super Luxury suites on this stunning guest farm by Gelle Ritchie From Live4africa.com. Look, I stayed overnight on guest farms in the Karoo and had my own preconceived ideas of what it would be like. Was I surprised to find this quaint hideaway on a working farm. We stayed in room 14, All the staff was so friendly and competent. From the first warm welcome to the last goodbye. Rubeida and Ilse, I think, needs a mention here, they attended to our every need. The room is a luxurious living space with a huge shower and bath, his and her basins impressed my love travelling with me. You are greeted by a well furnished room, dimly lit with some complementary sherry waiting. You have a king size bed, with the option of a sleeper couch should you be a bigger family. There is enough activities to choose from and the staff will explain everything to you, so visit their site. Too bad we did not stay more than one night to enjoy a drink at the bar or in front of a "boma fire", that was not lit because of the rain we had on the night of our stay. Next time I will try the cabins. Had a wonderful romantic time and a good dinner that rally felt like good old country fare home cooking. Do try the Bobotie. Good for both the traveler, luxury traveler and adventurer looking for a base camp in the Karoo. d

Room Tip: Choose the super luxury rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeonLouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Deon

Thanks for taking the time to write your review.
Appreciate the positive feedback with regards to our staff and the rooms :-)
We try our best to offer luxurious accommodation, food and beverage and definitely pride our self for excellence service.


" travel brings power and love back into your life"


kind regards from Oudtshoorn
Kristy Potgieter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

A few years ago we stayed at De Zeekoe and were satisfied in all respects. Our recent stay, this month lived up to our expectations despite it being at the end of the Klein Karroo festival which is an extremely busy period for this establishment. The welcome was warm although the booking was at very short notice. The decor of the rooms is reminiscent of photos I've seen of Moroccan hotels. There was a sign in the bathroom apologising for the sulphur smell due to the borehole water but my sensitive nose didn't detect any smell.The substantial breakfast was all we needed before taking to the road again.

Room Tip: We previously stayed in a room with a little private garden which was very nice but this time we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Howard

Thanks for visiting our lovely farm & taking the time to write your review.
We are happy that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the whole experience.

" travel is about the gorgeous feeling of teetering in the unknown"

Kind regards
Kristy Potgieter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We spent one night in a lake cabin and one in the main facility. The cabin was rustic but attractive; the beds were extremely firm, but we had good nights' sleep anyway in a very serene setting. Being the end of summer, the lake level was very low, so it wasn't as nice as when the lake comes up under the deck. The other room lacked the charm of rough wood paneling and the privacy of the cabin, but made up for it by being close to the other facilities, and by having a much nicer bathroom.

The food was good, and service was attentive and friendly, which was true of all the staff. We arranged horseback riding and massage, and those were both pleasant experiences. Coming out to find our car washed by hand was a crowning touch. Recommended, especially if you are there for the meerkat excursion.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear William
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience at our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed the atmosphere, and appreciate the facilities our farm has to offer.
I'm happy that you had the time to experience a horse ride as well as a meerkat tour.

Look forward to your next stay,
Kristy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
5.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
4.8 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
4.9 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#3 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#4 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#7 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
16.8 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#1 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Zeekoe Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Zeekoe Guest Farm

Property: De Zeekoe Guest Farm
Address: Route 328, Oudtshoorn | P.O. Box 226, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — De Zeekoe Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7km outside Oudtshoorn, in the Garden Route, surrounded by the famous Swartberg and Outeniqua mountains, is one of the world's 17 "hot spots" with 3 overlapping flower zones. Surrounded by variety attractions like ostrich farms, longest wine route in the world (R 62), Cango caves, Wildlife ranch, waterfalls and museums, makes this the ideal destination for a visit or a stay over in the Klein Karoo. This owner managed, 3000 hectare working lusern farm, is malaria free, and child friendly. De Zeekoe offers a unique in the world opportunity to walk with Wild Meerkats (Meerkat adventures) and to be part of the shy 5 experience!From self catering to luxurious accommodation. De Zeekoe offers the following:• Wild Meerkat tours, home to the "shy five"• Accommodation: From Standard to Superior rooms ( 21 ) Rooms with views of mountains and gardens; 4 Waterfront cabins ; 3 x Private cottages with own pool. Wheelchair friendly rooms• Restaurant with fresh farm produce and free range meat• Cocktail Bar * Biking - bikes to rent• Community project with local school• Fishing - own equipment• Hiking• Going green with recycling , solar panels etc• Birding ( 162 species ) - private bird tours• Canoeing• Self guided walks• Massage relax zone - pre book• Swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Zeekoe Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Zeekoe Guest Farm Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing