We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place for relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Muenchweiler
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place for relaxing”
Reviewed 27 March 2009

I was staying a couple of days at "De Zeekoe". And I loved it so much.
Excellent accomodation with super breakfast and dinner and such nice people.
I can 100% recommend that place.
Thank you very much! I will come back !
Silvia Weber, Muenchweiler/Rodalb, Germany

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crosswind11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    257
    83
    23
    14
See reviews for
188
529
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nürnberg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

We stayed there from 9th to 12th of March in one of the new luxury suites. We can recommend this location strongly. Very friendly and helpful staff - special thanks to the manager Sarita! Great dinner menues and lovely wine list. Go and see the Meerkats!! A truly once in a livetime experience with Grant a most competent and entertaining biologist. Also go and see the great caves - if you haven't seen to many of those caves already.
The Golf course is very cheap but rather boring. Only go if you need the excercise. My wife went on a horseride in the mountain - organised by Sarita - and was quite pleased, because they cater also for experienced riders.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hyronimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
77 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2009

Stayed for one night in one of the wooden cabins on the lake. Very unique spot. Sadly due to the lack of recent rain the lake was quite small, where normally it would come right up to the edge of the cabin. Cabins are a couple of minutes drive from the main lodge, four cabins together, and whilst quite isolated, felt very safe and secure. Gives a real feeling of being away from it all and great stars with no light pollution. Whole place was alive with birds who also provide your wake up call. The main lodge was very nice. The only real disappointment was the dinner which was poor - particularly compared to the quality of food in S Africa. On the plus, we were surprised to find the cabin had air-con and a mosquito net and breakfast exceeded expecations after the poor dinner. Sunbathing beside the pool was a nice treat.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

We only had one night here and we really wish it had been longer! We stayed in one of the log cabins by the lake and wow what a view! The bird life was amazing. So many different species and being woken by the chorus of bird song was wonderful. The cabins are a 5min drive from the main house but this was fantastic as it was so relaxing and peaceful. We booked on b&b basis as we didn't think dinner was available but it was offered as soon as we arrived and I'm so glad we said yes. It was as good as, if not better than a top class restaurant and we had a great evening enjoying a four course meal with great wine! All the staff were very friendly and the owner very kindly gave us a tour of the other rooms and suites to show us what else she has available if we wanted to stay in the main guest house next time. And there will definately be a next time! This has been a real find and being on a farm and seeing how it all works was great fun. The location is perfect too for all the local sightseeing and we are already planning our next visit to this wonderful guest house.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CALCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2009

We stayed for three nights and loved every minute. Having booked out early from a very wet Graaf-Reinet it was a pleasure to be able to move our booking to a day early to a very sunny de Zeekoe. They have a lovely swimming pool, both umbrellas and trees for shade, lots of sun loungers, and superb views.
From the moment we arrived we were made so welcome. As it was a Sunday dinner was not served that night, but a reservation was made at Jemima's in town. 4 course dinners the next two nights were a joy to both behold and eat, so varied and imaginative, ostrich and springbok one night, Karoo lamb the next. Paula, the owner, and the rest of the staff were so helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them.
Although we stayed in the main house we visited the log cabins and to us they seemed ideal overlooking the lake (a little low in high summer) and the reed beds, and saw so much bird life. Apparently there have been over 150 different species seen on the farm.
The main guest accommodation has just been expanded and the work is finished. The only noise we encountered was from the wild life. The rooms are beautifully appointed, the new ones looked like honeymoon suites with beautiful views of the Karoo hills.
We visited the Cango Caves, quite small, and then went over the Swartberg Pass, a gravel road, which had fantastic views and rock formations. Check that it is open, as in bad weather it can be treacherous. In dry conditions it is not to be missed, and we thought we would go home the easy way on the paved road - it is almost as scenic. A wonderful day, especially as that was the evening we had the melt in the mouth ostrich steak.
de Zeekoe is a little way out of Oudtshoorn, but well worth the extra few kilometres to get the peace and service. Be sure to get up in the middle of the night to see the stars - it is years since I saw the milky way. It seemed as though there were thousands of stars lighting up the sky, worth the visit for that alone.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianneF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2009

We stayed in one of the lovely rustic log cabins by the lake (there are only 4) and were very pleased we had made that choice. The view from the large wooden balcony was wonderful even though the water was low. Apparently it is often lapping at the stilts of the cabins. The birdlife was fabulous and we were excited by seeing two Goliath Herons (HUGE!), lots of Spoonbills and a Green Turaco amongst many other birds. There is a canoe for general use and we paddled accross the lake much to the very loud annoyance and position-changing of the birds!

The cabin was spacious and clean, had AC and contained interesting furnishings. The lampshades in the bedrooms were made from porcupine quills and the lights beside the fireplace were a Kudu horn attopped with an ostrich egg with the light bulb inside the egg! It was very effective. I liked these touches. The main house which was a 5 min drive away down a track, had a very impressive dining room and we had two evening meals there. Both meals were good, one particularly excellent including ostrich. It is lovely home-cooked food and much of the food presented is produced on the farm. Breakfast was served outside on the veranda at the main house and we watched a Kingfisher while we ate - wonderful!

De Zeekoe was a great place to explore from. We had a fantastic morning with Grant McIlrath - Meercat Man. Early start - up at 4.30 am but it was magic to witness these sweet little creatures emerge tentatively one by one from their burrow and then to join them on their daily foraging. It was as if we were wearing invisible cloaks. We were lucky to go on this tour - the meercats apparently had recently moved house to somewhere inaccessible but moved back to their favoured burrow coinciding with our visit to De Zeekoe. Another outing we did from here were the Cango Caves and Swaartberg Pass. Both fabulous.

We would definitely return to De Zeekoe.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallyh164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constantia South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2009

Oudtshoorn: De Zeeko guest farm: Awfully horrible"
Date: January 26, 2008
Reiewer: A TripAdvisor Member, Location Constantia, South Africa
I booked 2 nights to stay in this guest farm which I thought would be ideal base to see Klein Karoo (route 62). It looked fantastic in the internet and when I read the description how peaceful and quiet this place is I thought perfect! Only to find out that the cabin lodge that suppose to sleep six was full of cobwebs, dusty and worst rats!!! all over the place. By the way there's only partition in between rooms, not really a private bedroom and very small to sleep six. We asked if we can swim in the dam and if it's safe, the lady in the reception said "yes we can canoe and very safe to swim". My husband took the kids and canoed then I heard an urgent call from my husband for help. I was so shocked when I saw my children covered with tiny leeches all over their legs. The place is far from peaceful and quiet because you can actually see the big main road from the cabin and very noisy indeed at night. Their one and only shower is dirty and doesn't even have a place to put your soap or anything, it is a bare shower. I thought 4 star category guest farm should be better than that. We also immediately left the next day. It was such a horrible experience to say the least.

Helpful?
Thank wajigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
5.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
4.8 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
4.9 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#6 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
16.8 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#1 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Zeekoe Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Zeekoe Guest Farm

Property: De Zeekoe Guest Farm
Address: Route 328, Oudtshoorn | P.O. Box 226, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — De Zeekoe Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7km outside Oudtshoorn, in the Garden Route, surrounded by the famous Swartberg and Outeniqua mountains, is one of the world's 17 "hot spots" with 3 overlapping flower zones. Surrounded by variety attractions like ostrich farms, longest wine route in the world (R 62), Cango caves, Wildlife ranch, waterfalls and museums, makes this the ideal destination for a visit or a stay over in the Klein Karoo. This owner managed, 3000 hectare working lusern farm, is malaria free, and child friendly. De Zeekoe offers a unique in the world opportunity to walk with Wild Meerkats (Meerkat adventures) and to be part of the shy 5 experience!From self catering to luxurious accommodation. De Zeekoe offers the following:• Wild Meerkat tours, home to the "shy five"• Accommodation: From Standard to Superior rooms ( 21 ) Rooms with views of mountains and gardens; 4 Waterfront cabins ; 3 x Private cottages with own pool. Wheelchair friendly rooms• Restaurant with fresh farm produce and free range meat• Cocktail Bar * Biking - bikes to rent• Community project with local school• Fishing - own equipment• Hiking• Going green with recycling , solar panels etc• Birding ( 162 species ) - private bird tours• Canoeing• Self guided walks• Massage relax zone - pre book• Swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Zeekoe Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Zeekoe Guest Farm Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing