We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No more than 3 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No more than 3 stars”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Personnel from reception and ostrich tour (except tour guide Anita/Anina)were like irritated during our incountar.
Tent was OK considering that is a bush tent, but still, holes and broken zippers here there.
Dinner was the worst one that I had for a long time. Asked for dinner at the tent, but finally got it at the restaurant. Meal was not cooked there, it was just reheated in the micro way, ostrich meat could not be chewed, vegetable dry, etc.
Ko Samui tour in the morning was interesting and the Lady was kind and helpful.
The location is OK, nice lake and a dog, but these are not enough to give the place 4 stars as advertised.
I would definitely not go back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KatalinBartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    34
    9
    7
    9
See reviews for
48
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

This farm had better day before, all looked a bit disappointing. The guide Looked like She wasn't motivated, or interested in it atlas all.. Before the Ostrich tour we had a coffee, this was in line with the tour, awfull, the cappacino looked like it was one day's old drip coffee, the milk wasn't creamy. all to be forgotten asap. Don't go here!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank FrisianEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strand, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My brother and his 2 sons joined me and my wife for a 2 night stay here and we all had a tremendous time the tented accommodation was excellent and the game drives that we did were conducted superbly by the very knowledgeable guides as was the tour of the ostrich show farm. The breakfast was excellent as was all the food especially the picnic braai on to of the mountain at sundown. All in all it was well worth the trip.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but the honeymoon room is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redmick1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

The Dream House at Chandelier is stunning! It is very secluded and next to the river. It is a pity that the deck jacuzzi which was advertised didn't work and would have appreciated it if this was communicated to us prior to our stay. The outside shower is divine, but the design of the cottage makes it difficult to accommodate 2 couples.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank J l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Tented accomodation right in the bush is fantastic, with all the amenities including outdoor shower. Luxurious tenting at its best. Just a pity it was let down by very slow service at breakfast. Also, we booked a rather expensive game drive and bush braai which would have been outstanding had the guides had an training at all. Our stargazing guide didn't know where the Southern Cross was, and the young lady hostess spent her time on her mobile phone, and didn't know what a bontebok was. A little training before letting them loose would be money well spent. Would go there again just for the night under the tent!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

The Chandelier is an ostrich farm with some posh tented accommodation and restaurant attached. It's run on a bit of a shoestring but it runs ok nonetheless. The night I was there they didn't offer restaurant dining and brought the (wrong) meal to the tent and all went home before I had time to complain. The restaurant though was beautiful on the lake and the food good. The service was great too.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Daniel68london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haydock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We'd like to thank you again, although it's been a while, for the warmth and hospitality you showed our group during our visit. From the moment we arrived, Gerrie and his staff could not do enough to welcome us, keep us well fed, watered and thoroughly entranced by all that Chandelier has to offer.

Our group of 20+ disabled clients and staff from a rehabilitation facility in England had the pleasure of staying at Chandelier for an unforgettable holiday to South Africa.

The visit to Oudtshoorn, and especially Chandelier was a big part of the trip. From game drives and trail walks, to ostrich tours and craft-making, there was something for everyone to enjoy and participate in. Accommodations were excellent, well maintained, clean and promoted a feeling of being in harmony with the environment. The cabins, tents and house provided great choices for client with different needs. The food was great, with meals served either outside on the veranda overlooking the watering hole, or inside the posh restaurant. The outstanding meals exceeded all expectations, and were served by friendly and helpful staff.

People still can't believe that we travelled with a group of individuals with disability to such a vast, unknown place. Had they been part of our group that enjoyed the home-like settings you provided, they would realise that even though we travelled 11 hours on a plane to get there, we were welcomed and made to feel like family. More amazing is that everyone, with all levels of ability, were able to take part in so many different educational and entertaining events and activities that your lodge and farm provide.

We loved the sundowners, the delicious braai prepared as we heard local stories perched on a hilltop with picture postcard sunset views. We learned the history of the ostrich trade, watched skilled craftsmen create art, breakfasted on the edge of a watering hole and watched animals come and go . . . it was really a fine way to experience the hospitality that Chandelier offers to guests.

I have had the pleasure and privilege of visiting South Africa twice, and both times, have been pleased and happy with stays at Chandelier. There are few places one can travel where the history, beauty and hospitality of a place come together to create a really unique holiday, and I'm very pleased to say Chandelier is one of those gems.

I have recommended, and will continue to recommend Chandelier as a place that people interested in a real South African holiday, one rich with local history and pride of provenance, should experience.

Room Tip: Treat yourselves to a luxury tent - the best of a fine hotel in the Karoo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
11.5 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
10.3 mi away
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
#12 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
8.8 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#8 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#9 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amber Lagoon
Amber Lagoon
#29 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
10.9 mi away
Boulders Lodge & Spa
Boulders Lodge & Spa
#27 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm

Property: Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm
Address: N12, 7km Outside Oudtshoorn en route to George, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chandelier is easily accessible, next to the N12 (Route 62), between the Garden Route and Oudtshoorn. Chandelier offers luxury en-suite tented chalets and self-catering Log Cabins as well as various activities such as ostrich-riding, game drives, conference & wedding facilities and Sundowner Bush Dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing