We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Delft
1 review
“Great Place!!!”
Reviewed 27 January 2009

Hello,

We stayed with our two children (6 & 8 years) for tree nights in a luxuxry tent. Close to many great attraction like oudtshoorn, cangocaves etc. but still get a good feeling of sleeping in the open nature.
On the chandelier farm we did the sunsettour, quadbiking, ostrichtour and a game drive.
We liked all the tours with the friendly and very helpfull team.

So we are surprised over the bad revieuws.

We really loved it, and had a great time.

Mayby our expectations were lower, but we did get what the website of chandelier told us.

  • Liked — The great outdoor but still everything was nearby
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yosema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    35
    9
    7
    9
See reviews for
50
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
south africa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2008

We stayed at Chandelier with visiting relatives. It was supposed to be one of the highlights of their trip -a chance to stay out in the wild and view animals. What a disaster! The lodge we stayed in was dirty with insufficient cutlery and plates for the 5 of us staying. We did not see one animal except for the pet zebra when we checked in. When we were leaving the next day there was no-one on duty to try to compain to. The advertisement on the website is totally misleading. There is no view over the waterhole which is a dirty pond and the accommodation is certainly below standard.
Having lived in South Africa and been on a number of trips this was the worst experience I have ever had and a costly one!

  • Liked — Nothings to recommend it I am afraid
  • Disliked — Misleading twebsite indicating chance to view game
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2007

We booked two nights here in January and it turned out the be the worst place we stayed during our two weeks in Africa. Looked beautiful and sounded great on the website but turned out to be no better then a camp site with no facilities. We were shown to our tent by a very rude and unfriendly girl who informed us when we enquired about dinner that we would have to go into Oudstoorn as the restaurant was closed. We arrived back just after 8pm to find the whole place closed up!! Next day we had a so called game drive that consisted of the driver blowing the horn of the jeep to scare the antelope into sight! When we were driving back along the main road later in the day the antelope were still in the same place.
All in all this place lacked game, atmosphere, bar, restaurant, hospitality. If you are looking for a game lodge stay in buffelsdrift on the Cango road which is a much much better place.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank susansue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandelierOudtshoorn, Owner and Manager at Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this review, 20 May 2008
Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm is located 7 km outside Oudtshoorn en route to George. It is the ideal location to view the spectacular Garden Route as well as the magnificent Klein Karoo.

Chandelier Game Lodge provides guests with luxury en suite tented chalets and two selfcatering log -home units. The chalets are placed on wooden decks in the bush and great care has been taken to assure privacy and spectacular views. The Chandelier accommodation is rated as "Highly Reccommended" by the AA Quality Assured as well as the "Getaway Magazine".

We inform guests to book well in advance if they would like to have dinner in our restaurant. We even go out of our way to serve three course dinners in the privacy of their own chalets, if they so wish. Chandelier is only 7 km from Oudtshoorn with various outstanding restaurants. Being situated so close to town, guests have the option to select a restaurant of their choice.

Chandelier hosts a large population of antelope-23 species in total, free-roaming the 3 500 ha. The 700 heads of game are not always easy to spot, but the professional game rangers are trained to find the animals in their natural environment. Chandelier has open land cruisers and the hooters of the vehicles get disconnected upon arrival on Chandelier.

We are proud to say that, to our knowledge, not one unhappy customer has left Chandelier since we have opened our gates 4 years ago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
30.3 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#9 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
153 reviews
8.8 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#8 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
179 reviews
15.7 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge
8.7 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
873 reviews
9.7 mi away
Africamps Klein Karoo
Africamps Klein Karoo
#10 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm

Property: Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm
Address: N12, 7km Outside Oudtshoorn en route to George, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chandelier is easily accessible, next to the N12 (Route 62), between the Garden Route and Oudtshoorn. Chandelier offers luxury en-suite tented chalets and self-catering Log Cabins as well as various activities such as ostrich-riding, game drives, conference & wedding facilities and Sundowner Bush Dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing