We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique, peaceful experience in a beautiful environment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Strand, South Africa
1 review
“A unique, peaceful experience in a beautiful environment”
Reviewed 1 October 2010

If you want to escape from the rat-race, is Chandelier Game Lodge definitely the place to be. We enjoyed every minute of our four night stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful - always willing to go the extra mile for you. The food is delicious; the accommodation is cozy and roomy - with all the necessities; and the air is so fresh! We slept like babies and awoke with the singing of birds. Chandelier is fit for a king!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jumap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    35
    9
    7
    9
See reviews for
49
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Tented camp an amazing treat in spite of cold wet weather, it is simply our personal preference. Staff very friendly and helpful even on the phone when we booked. Elzette was a star in referring us to the Dr's and making the call to arrange for them to attend to Atties broken ankle. Dr. Genis very helpful, radiology dep. at mediclinic very helpful as well as the pharmacy. Game drive a bit of a dissapointment, the fact that it could not be open vehchile and that we could not see more game, but this is understanding bearing in mind the weather was not playing along. Always a next time. Rooms and facilities very clean. Substantial breakfast a great start to the day! Warm fire at breakfast so special!!!Enjoyed Gerrie's company and the personal attention,. Appreciate the fact that he took trouble to introduce himself and make us feel welcome, needless to sat that Ben crept into our hearts as well. The aloes in the region are quite amazing, so too the Karoo veld. We admire the trouble taken to create garden in and around tented camp and still having it look so natural, admire the efforts taken to manage and maintain erosion, admire the words in Chandeliers history where family feels that if you look after the Karoo she will look after you, we can appreciate that. Would be nice if hiking trail could start from tented camp and have routes clearly marked with map and distances available. Simply a great
set-up with huge potential. Regards Annemarie and Attie Hofmeyr.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2010

The tents were immaculate, clean and comfortable. The food was superb and the game drive something we will always remember. Our game drive guide, Nico, was excellent and knowledgeable, and extremely helpful. Even the ostrich viewing which is normally done by foot was done in a vehicle for us by him as we had difficulty walking. The food bought to our tent was delicious and the service overall very good. I can highly recommend Chandelier.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_F3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Thank you to all the staff for your warm welcome and for making our stay such a special one. We were accommodated in the two bedroomed log cabin (with a couple who travelled with us) and our first night the BBQ (braai) at the cabin was wonderful - with everything prepared for us. Most special was our night with the BBQ (braai) under the stars after watching a spectacular sunset. Thank you again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renalda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

My girlfriends horror on being told I'd booked a tent for a night during our recent road trip through the Karoo was impressive. However I managed to get lots of brownie points for finding Chandelier, the luxury tent was just perfect and the wildlife did not disappoint. The laid back atmosphere, friendly staff and big breakfast added to the charm of this lovely place. We wished we could have stayed a second night to make the most of what was on offer.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buggsi31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2009

When you say tent you go back to the dreaded childhood holidays,but this is anything but. when my husband hold me that i was going to spend one night of my honeymoon in a tent i was less than happy Once i arrived i was over the moon, the setting was just the prefect pitcure postcode to bring back to england with us. It brings a new meaning to the word tent, with the luxury decor and surround it will be something that i will be recomending to family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandNatalieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2009

Hello,

We stayed with our two children (6 & 8 years) for tree nights in a luxuxry tent. Close to many great attraction like oudtshoorn, cangocaves etc. but still get a good feeling of sleeping in the open nature.
On the chandelier farm we did the sunsettour, quadbiking, ostrichtour and a game drive.
We liked all the tours with the friendly and very helpfull team.

So we are surprised over the bad revieuws.

We really loved it, and had a great time.

Mayby our expectations were lower, but we did get what the website of chandelier told us.

  • Liked — The great outdoor but still everything was nearby
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yosema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
11.1 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
477 reviews
10.3 mi away
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
#12 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amber Lagoon
Amber Lagoon
#29 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#9 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
151 reviews
11.4 mi away
Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages
8.8 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#8 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm

Property: Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm
Address: N12, 7km Outside Oudtshoorn en route to George, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chandelier is easily accessible, next to the N12 (Route 62), between the Garden Route and Oudtshoorn. Chandelier offers luxury en-suite tented chalets and self-catering Log Cabins as well as various activities such as ostrich-riding, game drives, conference & wedding facilities and Sundowner Bush Dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing