We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only if you are staying there” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Oude Meul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
De Oude Meul
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Only if you are staying there”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Only ate dinner here but it wasn't worth the trek from Oudshoorn for the quality of fare on offer. Food was OK but no more. Service mediocre. But it is not expensive so I guess it has to be OK if you are staying at the property.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward1951S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    34
    14
    9
    2
See reviews for
26
36
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

We had a warm welcome from Mariaan Spies(owner). The rooms were clean,comfortable,but a bit small and unfortunately no view from the room. The stars at night from the stoep are absolutely stunning especially for us city folk. Breakfast was an excellent, quality spread.
To note that if you have dinner in town it is a bit of a dark road back at night. However it is a very tranquil setting.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenore N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secunda, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

The venue is picturesque but the establishment did not live up to my expectation. The staff at reception were distracted and not too helpful. The room is decent,downside- I had a door opening into the service area and there was a lot of dust. The pool requires some attention.Not worth the money spent.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the A block
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelbugZAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights in the Luxury room and what a pleasure it was! The room was clean, everything was taken care of and the hospitality is fantastic! We enjoyed the swimming pool a lot and couldn't get too much of nature!
The restaurant is superb!!! We had Eland, Ostrich, Kudu & even Wild Boar kebabs! Each meal was perfectly prepared with much care, detail, quality but most of all, excellent value for money! The waitresses is lovely, especially Anika! Very cute & friendly and she really made us feel welcome!!
I will definitely return to Oude Meul someday and I will recommend this stay to anyone! Just don't stay for one night only. You'll miss out on a lot!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CL773WP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

This was the second time my Husband and I went to stay at The oudemeul Guest Lodge. I would go there every year we stayed for 15days this time and the staff From the Owner Boy and Mariaan Spies, and management team to all the staff, they all are just the best people we have ever met.The rooms are always clean and if you need something they are there to assist you,The Meul Rest. has the most amazing food This is the place you want to be if you need friendlyness and peace and quite.We can only say this is one of our best places we have ever visited for such a long period and can recomend them any time you will be blessed.We can just recomment them as the most clean and friendly lodge in the area.

Room Tip: The rooms are nice and big with aricons and fans. The selfcatering flats are huge and beautiful and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy Bryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boksburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

In the heart of the Swartberg Mountains, this is the perfect get away spot. Close to the Cango Caves, Rus en Vrede waterfall, Oudtshoorn Center, +/- 50km from Calitzdorp lots to do in the area, resturant on premisis. This Guest farm is run by indiviuals that all seem to be one big family (not blood related) but they work towards one goal.....keeping the guest happy. Great breakfasts, Clean rooms, Aircons....We truley enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Book early if possible. We are always walk in's as we never know where we will beheading next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juanita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

We made an unplanned stop at 'de Oude Meul' because our true destination was actually at Uniondale. Our friends highly recommended de Oude Meul and thank goodness we listened. The staff was available after hours which was a positive 1st impression for me because they actually closes at night. The rooms were in good clean condition. Bathrooms were in excellent condition. On top of everything they have there own beautiful restaurant which saved us trips to Oudshoorn. There location is also great as it's close to all the wonderful attractions Oudshoorn has to offer. One of the owners (think their surname is Spies) even borrowed my son a fishing rod for fishing in the local dam.
Personlly I had a great time at De Oude Meul and would recommend it for anyone!

Room Tip: If you go with a family ask for the rooms near the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
9.3 mi away
Miles B&B Guest House
Miles B&B Guest House
#17 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
3.3 mi away
De Kombuys Estate
De Kombuys Estate
#14 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Thorntree Country House
The Thorntree Country House
#33 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.6 mi away
Montana Guest Farm
Montana Guest Farm
#18 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Oude Meul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Oude Meul

Property: De Oude Meul
Address: Near Cango Caves, Garden Route, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Oude Meul 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located en route to the Cango Caves, De Oude Meul Country Lodge lies nestled at the foothills of the majestic Swartberg Mountains, in Oudtshoorn, Garden Route. The Lodge is situated in the beautiful Schoemanspoort, halfway between Oudtshoorn and the world famous Cango Caves on the R328. To overnight on this beautiful farm is an unforgettable experience. The lodge is surrounded by mountains, which together with the exotic plants of the Klein Karoo create a quiet serene atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your De Oude Meul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing