We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight”
Review of Karoo Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Karoo Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great overnight”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the small cottage and really enjoyed it. Central location, well equipped, neat and clean. Great recommendations for things to do in the area were left in the room which was really helpful. Would recommend block out curtains. The outside light was a bit disturbing at night. Overall we had a great overnight stay!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LanaStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    27
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

the Property is quite central to the CBD of Oudshoorn and the rooms are spacious. The unit we stayed in didn't receive a lot of sunlight and the Kitchen was a bit unpractical. both rooms had an on suite bathroom which was great for our son to also have a separate bathroom from ours. it has all the facilities you need for a short stay and is well equipped. there is no motorized gate and little security. the unit is clean and tidy and we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed there for two nights in February. To use A/C in the rooms we were requested to keep windows open. We didn’t feel secure at night so we had to switch a/c off and use fan instead. It didn’t help much and it was difficult to sleep.
The garden and pool area are quite small but we were lucky to be there on our own. Bear in mind that in case of full occupancy (~10 people) it would be a bit crowded.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IT_2014_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for two nights and had a very pleasant stay. The name "Retreat" is more than fitting - very quiet and safe area. The owner - Ina - was more than helpful. She washed our dishes and even offered to bring our laundry to cleaning. All in all, we couldn't have asked for anything more than what we received.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CPJ85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Recently my friend and I stayed at Karoo Retreat. We had a very nice stay at this self catering house. Very well equipped kitchen and spacious room. Although rather cold at night.......the electric blanket was very helpfull.
It had a homely and cosy atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mieneke2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My family of 6 just spent 3 weeks in South Africa and we are still talking about how much we loved staying at the Karoo Retreat. You can tell a tasteful woman once lived there, as her special touches still remain. It is strictly a house, with no front desk or meals, but the comfort level is 5*****. We had electric heaters as well as electric blankets and the huge kitchen was beautiful. We really hated that we only had one night there. One family member wants to return to Oudtshoorn in the summer, just to experience the house (and pool) again! The owner does not live there anymore but she rectified a mistake made by Booking dot com and gave us a free room. The only recommendation I have is for the owner to have firewood because the living area was very cold without a space heater, like the bedrooms had. We had no time to go to the store to pick any up because we arrived late. In spite of that, we still loved staying at the true retreat. Beautiful.

Room Tip: They are all so comfortable with fluffy bedding and space heaters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiftystatesevenconts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

My husband and I recently spent several nights at Karoo Retreat. Communication for booking was very good, prompt and helpful. We were able to pay with credit card, which we found not all properties in South Africa accept.

Our room was very spacious and nicely furnished. The bed is comfortable with nice linens. The bathroom is excellent and the common room and kitchen area large and well equipped. Unfortunately the rooms are situated where they do not get much sun (which no doubt is great for beating the Karoo summer heat) so were extremely cold and dark.

The supplied breakfast was very good, plentiful, delivered promptly every morning. The place was very clean and nicely kept, and the gardens and pool area restful.

The laundry situation was very confusing too. While I could see a laundry facility behind a locked door there was no access given to it and it was not clear how we got laundry done. We toughed it out and did a few things by hand, but better direction on what laundry service is available would be helpful.

Overall we found the Retreat nice, but in need of better heating or insulation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluegoldhighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.7 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
485 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Backpackers Oasis Shanti
#27 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
56 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lodge 96
Lodge 96
#23 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages
0.4 mi away
Bisibee Guest House
Bisibee Guest House
#59 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
19 reviews
4.9 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karoo Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karoo Retreat

Property: Karoo Retreat
Address: 238a Jan van Riebeeck Road | Wesbank, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karoo Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful Little Karoo, conveniently close to both the Garden Route and Route 62, we offer a unique base from which to enjoy and explore the beauty of this region. For the sophisticated young at heart, we offer an African experience with comfort, tranquility and style, furnished with hand-picked Karoo interior. We offer 4 double or twin bedded rooms with private entrance and patio each with own bathroom plus shower. All rooms are equipped with DSTV television, overhead fans, air conditioners, heaters, hairdryers and tea and coffee making facilities. Beautifull enclosed indigenous garden and Private Swimmingpool. All this for you to enjoy! We welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Karoo Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing