We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Stayed here in June, an amazing place to stay, place is beautiful with beautiful gardens, it is a family run farmhouse and the family are so nice, very warm and friendly. Rooms are amazing, with a hot tub in the bathroom. Breakfast is a South African traditional breakfast, got to try ostrich egg here :). There is an ostrich farm down the road from here where you can go feed them and even ride them, also the Cango Caves as quite close to here, really nice caves to take a stroll through. Overall an amazing place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Latinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2011

Berluda is amazing, my family and I loved it. The people are so warm and friendly, the views amazing (snow capped mountains and an ostrich outside your window). The cottage was pure luxury and the detailed finishes and furnishing amazing, fluffy white towels, feather duvets, wooden floors, jacuzzi baths, ostrich leather headboards, the sunny verandah and braai.....and lots more. The homemade bread on arrival and rusks were also great. We cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Cottage 7 is great, but I had a walk around and they all have beautiful views and are beautifully de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julesvdheever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

An excellent guest house set in one of the worlds most amazing and diverse land scapes surrounded by the Swartsberg mountains. The cottages and farmhouse are set in beautifully maintained mature gardens in a peaceful tranquil valley.
Our hosts Rose & Laura were extremely proffessional, honest and proud owners of this wonderful family guest house. This can be seen every where you look on the property with the care and attention to detail from gardens and interiors to lovely touches like fresh home grown flowers everywhere. One needs to allow enough time to explore this stunning area and get the full benefit of relaxing, at one with nature in this little spot of paradise. Thank you Rose & Laura , we will return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KnysnaStays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Couldnt recommend this place more and wish we could have stayed longer. Lovely hosts and amazing cottage (number 1) right at the top of the complex. This would be perfect for a family who wanted to stay for a few days and explore the local area. Its about a 10 minute drive from Outdshoorn and not too far from the Caves. Recommend a visit (for lunch) to Buffelsdrift Game Lodge - fantastic food and views of the hippos wading in the lagoon.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We spent a wonderful 4 days at Berluda and were pleasantly surprised by the charming cottages, beautifully decorated with wonderful luxuries like a jacuzzi bath and air-con. Cottages are serviced daily by friendly staff. even your car gets a wash ! Spectacular views of Oudtshoorn. We have 2 young kids and they had such an adventure ...Berluda is nice and safe and plenty of space for them to play.. In general Oudshoorn an amazing destination, so much to do : Cango caves, Wildlife ranch, Ostrich farms and our highlight was the elephant feeding at Buffeldrift game lodge. All in all an amazing 4 days , we will most definately be back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NomadCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Originally booked into Cottage 2 but were given a much bigger cottage on arrival - no 8. Cottage very roomy - 2 double beds, each with en suite, large living/dining/kitchen area, veranda at back not overlooked at all with stunning forward views to the hills etc. Situated in a picturesque hamlet with a large church in the centre.

Used the braai on 2 nights which was a great experience as it's not something we normally do in the UK. Add a decent bottle of wine and some fantastic dark starry skies, complete with several bats zooming around - pretty much perfect, though a bit warmer would have been ideal! Kitchen equipment was pretty spartan though sufficient - all seemed virtually new. Cottage was cleaned/made up each day, a nice touch when you're supposed to be self catering! Even had our car cleaned one day without even asking!! Blissfully quiet at night too.

Some lovely secenery around - we stayed 3 nights and did the meerkat trip (05:15 start though and about a 20 minute drive from Berluda to the start point but well worth it), the Cango Caves (very spectacular). Oudsthoom, Rust-en-Vrede waterfall, as well as just relaxing on the veranda at the cottage. Make sure you try the wines at nearby Karusa too.

Baby ostriches between the cottages and hotel buildings - quite surreal until you get used to seeing them. You'll see ostriches though all round Oudtshoorn.

Overall we really can't complain which makes a nice change!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PjayP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We stayed at Bermuda for a full week for a music festival in Oudtshoorn that we performed at. Being traveling musicians, we get to see a lot of places, and stay at a lot of guesthouses. Berluda definitely came out on top when comparing to all the others we have stayed at around South Africa.

Beautiful Scenery, Extremely friendly hosts, Lovely food and the quaintness of the cottages made it an unforgettable stay, and a place we would love to return to. It has a real authentic South african farm feel to it! All the great Sightseeing for Oudtshoorn also stones throw from Berluda, ie. Cango Caves, Wildlife park etc. And don't let the dirt road leading to the cottages put you off, as the staff washed our car every morning.

Thanx to Berluda for making our work much more pleasurable... :)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlanetPeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
7.0 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
510 reviews
12.2 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
200 reviews
12.4 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#4 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#2 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
463 reviews
7.9 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#1 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
340 reviews
3.4 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages

Address: Schoemanshoek, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £65 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on route to the Cango Caves, in the Schoemanshoek Valley (14 kilometers north of Oudtshoorn), Berluda is an intimate guesthouse experience. 7 En suite bedrooms in the original Farmhouse and 8 self catering cottages. 2 Swimming pools are available to guests. Ostriches, apricot orchards, and hikes can be undertaken to enjoy the special indigenous vegetation. 4 X 4 routes and mountain biking. Ideal for family/friends reunions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing