We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming cottages!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming cottages!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

I stayed in one of Berluda's cottages with my husband, parents and our toddler son. During our trip around the Karoo and Garden Route we stayed in a variety of different accommodations, but this was by far the favourite for all of us. The owners were super friendly and helpful, even presenting us with home made bread 2 days running! The cottage itself was very cosy and comfortable and spotlessly clean, just what a good farm stay should be. The view of the Swartberg mountains from our stoep was stunning. I was very sad to leave.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tumeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    56
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
110
103
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sterrebeek
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

a very pleasant and clean cottage with all the comfort one need on holiday. Very friendly owners. This is one of the best addresses we stayed at during our holidays.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rita083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed in Berluda cottage nr 1 for 2 nights and had an amazing time. The view from the stoep is amazing. Every morning we had our first cup of coffee there! Berluda is a place where you can relax and just be.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gretha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

I stayed in Berluda Farm House for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was very neat and provided for everything you can think off. The jacuzzi bath was a welcome relief after a long day and the food was delicious. The hosts made me feel very welcome so I'm taking the rest of my family over there during December. Recommended!!!

Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank IlsedeVlieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We only stayed here one night but I wish it had been more! One of the favourite places we stayed on our trip to South Africa. The hosts were welcoming and friendly and even offered to babysit our son as we enjoyed a fantastic feast of Ostrich! The room was spacious and decorated to a high standard and our son had great fun watching these enormous animals roaming about! A lovely, relaxing stay.

Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank familydawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Stayed here in June, an amazing place to stay, place is beautiful with beautiful gardens, it is a family run farmhouse and the family are so nice, very warm and friendly. Rooms are amazing, with a hot tub in the bathroom. Breakfast is a South African traditional breakfast, got to try ostrich egg here :). There is an ostrich farm down the road from here where you can go feed them and even ride them, also the Cango Caves as quite close to here, really nice caves to take a stroll through. Overall an amazing place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Berluda is amazing, my family and I loved it. The people are so warm and friendly, the views amazing (snow capped mountains and an ostrich outside your window). The cottage was pure luxury and the detailed finishes and furnishing amazing, fluffy white towels, feather duvets, wooden floors, jacuzzi baths, ostrich leather headboards, the sunny verandah and braai.....and lots more. The homemade bread on arrival and rusks were also great. We cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Cottage 7 is great, but I had a walk around and they all have beautiful views and are beautifully de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julesvdheever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
7.0 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
12.4 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
7.9 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#1 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
3.4 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#4 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
18.4 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#8 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages

Property: Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
Address: Schoemanshoek, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on route to the Cango Caves, in the Schoemanshoek Valley (14 kilometers north of Oudtshoorn), Berluda is an intimate guesthouse experience. 7 En suite bedrooms in the original Farmhouse and 8 self catering cottages. 2 Swimming pools are available to guests. Ostriches, apricot orchards, and hikes can be undertaken to enjoy the special indigenous vegetation. 4 X 4 routes and mountain biking. Ideal for family/friends reunions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing