We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most wonderful time at Thabile Lodge”
Review of Thabile Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thabile Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Oud-Heverlee, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The most wonderful time at Thabile Lodge”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

When we arrived at Thabile Lodge, we thought for one moment we made it to 7th heaven. (Or above if possible :-) .
Len makes you feel at home immediatly and boy oh boy, what a little paradise does he has there. Perfect room and bathroom, great food prepared by his excellent chef and there all the nice pets that are just waiting to become friends with you. Especially Garfield is quite an appearance. What a lovely time we had there at Thabile lodge during our 2 nights stay : it was a privilege. Thank you Len and Gretchen, thank you chef Kenny for the great food, thank you Garfield, Pepsi, Anabelle, Jack, Ben, Kleintjie, (I think we forgot one) for the friendship.
See you soon, I hope.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    33
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
83
213
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I have now stayed at Thabile four times and found it absolutely sublime. Nothing is to much trouble for the host Len, ably assisted by Ma and Hennie and I have never had such a warm welcome anywhere else.
After a long day in the saddle there is nothing better than turning into Thabila Lodge off the gravel road knowing that Len will be waiting with ice cold beers and a warm welcome. Yes fellow bikers this is definitely the place to stay.
The rooms are delightful and comfortable, and I have never found a shower to compare.
After sitting on the terrace of the room, drinking an excellent white wine, whilst watching an awesome sunset, which turns the Zwartburg Mountains a brilliant red it was time to make ones way to the Lodge for dinner. Served on the veranda, overlooking a perfectly manicured garden, with trees subtly decorated with small lights, it makes for the perfect setting for ones evening meal.
The choice of food was absolutely excellent, cooked to perfection by Hennie, and supplemented with Len's superb choice of wine there is no better way to spend a balmy evening in the Karoo. Perfect food perfect wine and even better company.
And the culinary skills do not stop there. After waking to the sound of birds and the early morning light of the sun rising over the mountains it's time for a breakfast which will suit all tastes. Again served on the veranda, one can sit there, watch the numerous birds landing on the bird feeder or just emerse oneself in the peace of the Karoo and dream about what the coming day has to offer.
This is definitely the place to stay......Thanks Len............and in the words of the immortal terminator ............I'LL BE BACK!

Room Tip: All rooms are of the same high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We visited the Cango Caves on new years eve and didn't want to drive back to Montague in the dark and decided on staying at Thabile Lodge.

Len and his staff are fantastic! Service, food & atmosphere are excellent.
Our room was very comfortable and just what we needed for the 4 of us.
The boys watched TV & made a big fuss over Garfield, the rather large cat.

Well done on creating such a friendly and welcoming place were new friends are made.
Keep up the hard work.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2013

From arrival to departure what an amazingly relaxing stay......... I have stayed there 6 times & will definately visit again.......... Thanks to fab Len & his team for always ensuring each stay is wonderful. Great view, delicious food fit for a king, welcoming staff and comfy beds - what more can i say

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PietervNiekerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Stayed at Thabile during October 2012 for only one night, but what a experience. We arrived late at the lodge, and was welcomed with open arms by Leonard(owner), despite the time. Leonard invited us for a drink at the very cosy bar area, which was much appreciated as we had a tough couple of days behind us. Rooms are comfortable with beautiful views. Breakfast was great, on a big veranda, with great service. Thanks Len, will visit again, even if it is to say hello.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank André B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2013

My brother, six year old daughter and I stayed at Thabile Lodge for two nights this January, while on a driving trip in the Oudtshoorn area.

Len's charm and skills as a host made us feel at home. He made sure my daughter was well taken care letting her watch television in the comfy den, eat in her own area when she wanted and play with the friendly dogs and cats on premises including an enormous feline named Garfield . She loved her time here and, because of that, I could enjoy the company of the other guests without worrying about her all the time - much appreciated when traveling with a kiddy . Thabile was definitely kid friendly with a pool and a herd (?) of ostriches beside the driveway to look at (Don't touch because they are gnarly animals we learned during a visit to a local ostrich farm).

The dinners at Thabile are communal and held on the balcony of the main house. While this can be a drag, if you don't like the people staying with you, we had two nights of fantastic guests - conversation skipped along with the good food and generous servings of South African wine.

Because Len had the space, he let my brother have another cottage to himself while my daughter and I stayed in our own, at no extra cost. I appreciated this, although perhaps my brother did more.

The lodge is about ten minutes drive outside Oudtshoorn. All the cottages have views of the surrounding hills. I recommend it highly.

Regards,
Mary

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2013

My wife and I recently travelled to Cape Town via the infamous Route 62. By recommendation of a friend we stayed over at Thabile Lodge...
What a beautiful place! All rooms have a wonderful view. Service was good and friendly.
Food was GREAT - thanks Hennie!! Especially dinner!
We will definitely stay there again, and as my friend, recommend it to others...
Thanks again Len (and your team)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batts21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
12.0 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
485 reviews
22.7 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
178 reviews
12.5 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#4 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
894 reviews
9.2 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
860 reviews
10.6 mi away
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
#5 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thabile Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thabile Lodge

Property: Thabile Lodge
Address: Thabile Lodge | Vergelegen Road, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thabile Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thabile Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing