We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thabile Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queens Hotel(Oudtshoorn)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hlangana Lodge(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveller rating
442
35
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
442
35
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsostrich steakbobotieother gueststwo nightsswartberg passswartberg mountainsmoment you arrivethe main housegravel roadbreakfast and dinnerpiece of heavenwarm welcomegreat place to stayhome from homelovely poolcango cavesroad trip
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 478 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2013

The visit to lodge was very peacefully and enjoyable!! Staff are very friendly and welcoming. Food was great and dining experience was great! Would recommend a visit if you are looking to escape from hustle and bustle of crowded town or city. Looking forward to visiting again soon.
BIG THANK YOU!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

When we arrived at Thabile Lodge, we thought for one moment we made it to 7th heaven. (Or above if possible :-) .
Len makes you feel at home immediatly and boy oh boy, what a little paradise does he has there. Perfect room and bathroom, great food prepared by his excellent chef and there all the nice pets that are just waiting to become friends with you. Especially Garfield is quite an appearance. What a lovely time we had there at Thabile lodge during our 2 nights stay : it was a privilege. Thank you Len and Gretchen, thank you chef Kenny for the great food, thank you Garfield, Pepsi, Anabelle, Jack, Ben, Kleintjie, (I think we forgot one) for the friendship.
See you soon, I hope.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I have now stayed at Thabile four times and found it absolutely sublime. Nothing is to much trouble for the host Len, ably assisted by Ma and Hennie and I have never had such a warm welcome anywhere else.
After a long day in the saddle there is nothing better than turning into Thabila Lodge off the gravel road knowing that Len will be waiting with ice cold beers and a warm welcome. Yes fellow bikers this is definitely the place to stay.
The rooms are delightful and comfortable, and I have never found a shower to compare.
After sitting on the terrace of the room, drinking an excellent white wine, whilst watching an awesome sunset, which turns the Zwartburg Mountains a brilliant red it was time to make ones way to the Lodge for dinner. Served on the veranda, overlooking a perfectly manicured garden, with trees subtly decorated with small lights, it makes for the perfect setting for ones evening meal.
The choice of food was absolutely excellent, cooked to perfection by Hennie, and supplemented with Len's superb choice of wine there is no better way to spend a balmy evening in the Karoo. Perfect food perfect wine and even better company.
And the culinary skills do not stop there. After waking to the sound of birds and the early morning light of the sun rising over the mountains it's time for a breakfast which will suit all tastes. Again served on the veranda, one can sit there, watch the numerous birds landing on the bird feeder or just emerse oneself in the peace of the Karoo and dream about what the coming day has to offer.
This is definitely the place to stay......Thanks Len............and in the words of the immortal terminator ............I'LL BE BACK!

Room Tip: All rooms are of the same high standard
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We visited the Cango Caves on new years eve and didn't want to drive back to Montague in the dark and decided on staying at Thabile Lodge.

Len and his staff are fantastic! Service, food & atmosphere are excellent.
Our room was very comfortable and just what we needed for the 4 of us.
The boys watched TV & made a big fuss over Garfield, the rather large cat.

Well done on creating such a friendly and welcoming place were new friends are made.
Keep up the hard work.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

From arrival to departure what an amazingly relaxing stay......... I have stayed there 6 times & will definately visit again.......... Thanks to fab Len & his team for always ensuring each stay is wonderful. Great view, delicious food fit for a king, welcoming staff and comfy beds - what more can i say

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PietervNiekerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews