We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Setting! Fab Food! Great Host”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thabile Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thabile Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Setting! Fab Food! Great Host”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights early December. Lovely place. but what really makes it is Len the very entertaining owner and his wonderful staff. Food was great. Portions huge. Too much but we found that the case for most of the countryside. You get to meet interesting people. The property is well tended.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 521travellinglisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    33
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
83
213
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed overnight on our way to Cape Town, and it was absolutely wonderful. The cottages are comfortable, clean and have all the extra luxuries. The meals are great, the service friendly and the atmosphere relaxing. The owner is very friendly and went out of his way to accommodate us with our 4-year old. Thank you, Len!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We enjoyed or short stay in Thabile Lodge very much. Especially the hospitality of Lens and his team was outstanding. The food was great, the setting of the restaurant too. The rooms were separate houses with eveything you needed. We will come again when in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawick
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

If it was possible to give Thabile Lodge 6 stars then I would have no hesitation to do so.

My wife and I stayed with Len, Arnold, Ma and staff in December for two days (far too short in hindsight). We had a great time. Not because of the property but because of the warmth of welcome and how well we were looked after during our short stay.

Having said that, the property is excellent with comfortable and well appointed rooms, a lovely pool area with jacuzzi and steam room, and access to a bar and lounge with a huge TV and all the comforts of home.

But the big difference of Thabile Lodge are the people. Len is a great character and his staff look after your every need. The recommended day out described by Len is spectacular - don't miss the drive through the Swartberg Pass to Prince Albert.

Thabile Lodge is a little off the beaten track but well worth the effort. If you like staying with good folks, eating great food and drinking excellent wine then Thabile Lodge is the place to stay.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james_edey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our first time in South Africa, and after a long drive from Cape Town, we were greated with a warm welcome and a cool drink. Our stay was only for 2 nights. The meals were all on the veranda where we could enjoy the view of the gardens. The accommodation was simple but very comfortable, our first night was spent watching the sun set with a bottle of wine or two. Well worth the drive.

Room Tip: Best shower in town :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Thabile was an oasis, away from crowd, traffic and urban noise, surrounded by beautiful landscape of mountains and plantation. Since the weather was so lovely, the porch was where we hung out and had all our meals. From the porch, we watched colorful birds eating out of the feeder, listened to the river running, enjoyed the view of green grass against red mountains in the background and petted the five dogs and Garfield, the cat. Our lovely barn styled room was spacious. The bed was huge and comfortable and the shower was amazing. Len and Arnold were great hosts and really care about their guests. I wasn’t feeling well the first night after we arrived and skipped dinner. They made me a plate of food to eat in the room. After I felt better the next day, I enjoyed both the rugged natural beauty Oudtshoorn has to offer and the serenity of Thabile. After a day full of interesting activities, we had fun and engaging conversation with the hosts and other guests on the porch and an amazing meal prepared by Arnold. We had Bobotie, Ostrich Steak and chocolate cake. Everything was delicious. I only wish I wasn’t sick the first day. Len and Arnold were so accommodating and made our two-night-stay an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiq4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed in Thabile Lodge for 2 nights. It was the highlight of our 2 weeks stay in South-Africa. The rooms are good however you can always find something wrong. What my stay made so special are the hosts, the location and the little paradise the hosts created. Len and his partner are very special people who will do everything to make their hosts at home. They showed us some special things to see and do in the area and taught some Afrikaans. I will always remember that the dutch word for "Cat" is something very much different in Afrikaans. The location is remote but with extra-ordinary views day and nicht (so much stars!). Unfortunately there's no McDonalds around ;-)
Thabile Lodge is an animal paradise with Garfield, the dogs, Ostriches and a whole bunch of beautiful and colourful birds. Even if you want to relax their is a real pool, jacuzzi and sunbathing area. Thanx for having us!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delphi_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
12.0 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
22.7 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
16.8 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
9.2 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#4 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
9.7 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#8 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thabile Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thabile Lodge

Property: Thabile Lodge
Address: Thabile Lodge | Vergelegen Road, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thabile Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thabile Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing