We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Land Rover Family Club”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thabile Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thabile Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Land Rover Family Club”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were 13 couples and it was our 2nd stay and Len lived up to his reputation. We will definitely stay here again it was fantastic. The homely atmosphere and comfortable lounge makes it difficult to leave. The food was excellent and well presented. All in all a wonderful experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    33
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
83
213
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

What a lovely experience! We arrived unexpectedly, were made to feel so welcome and treated to wonderful meals and entertaining conversations. Large, comfortable, tastefully finished rooms with modern air conditioning/heating units, bar fridge, etc. - all spotlessly clean and well maintained. Charming main lodge for meals overlooking sparkling pool - indoor jacuzzi and small gym a bonus.
The evening sunsets over the mountains were magnificent and seeing a large flock of sheep meandering home at night was a real treat.
We will definitely be returning for further visits.

Room Tip: All the chalets have mountain views and are furnished in a clean, uncluttered fashion with wooden fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 550Nigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Dear Len , We so enjoyed our stay with you in March! - a super jacuzzi, steam room and pool; lovely peaceful mountain views from the rooms; good food and wine and lots of stories, laughs and helpful information. Thank you and all your staff and hope to see you again next year.
A and M

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marnie198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at Thabile lodge for 5 nights in April 2014 and we had a marvelous time there! The rooms are OK, nothing special really and a bit on the small side for a family of four (but we knew that, the owner even warned us about it). I imagine the rooms are perfect in size for couples.
The view from the rooms over the montains that turn all red at sunset is great. The rooms are located two and two in small huts, that are well separated from each and thus offer privacy.
The main building, with the bar and restaurant, is nicely decorated and meals are served on the veranda overlooking the garden. A swimming pool, yakuzzi and sauna, as well as a small gym are also available. It was great to come back after the day activities and take a dip in the pool and go in to the hot sauna.
BUT what realy makes this place special are not the facilities, but the staff and the food.
The chef is absolutely excellent!!!! And the staff are some of the nicest people we have ever met!!! We felt so increadably welcome and they spoilt us from day one!
We can only recommend this place and it was a great location for exploring little Karroo, Oudtshoorn with its ostrich farms and even for trips down to the coast and the garden route.

Room Tip: The rooms are more or less the same and their location are all similar. They told us that the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredrik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uitenhage, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Warm welcome, True Karoo hospitality, for down to earth people who are connected to mother Earth. The host is very friendly, helpful and down to earth, beautiful old farmstead with a contemporary twist and modern amenities. Don't expect 5 star city hotel but a 5 star country holiday experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Johann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Dear Len and all the lovely, friendly staff....we have been at least once a year (since Nov '07)visting your lodge, and every time we leave, we know that we'll be returning. Thanks for all the fond memories we take with us after each visit, and if only I could remember all the funny jokes.........that we chukkle to as we leave Thabile lodge. Keep up the great work you all are doing, and thanks for being a great host.
K&T Watson, Abu Dhabi, April 2014

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina-Louise2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

My family stayed at Thabile Lodge for two nights in March and had a wonderful stay. The rooms are very comfortable, all with beautiful views of the hills. We had great food both nights and excellent breakfasts. The lodge has a very warm and friendly atmosphere and our 7 year old son loved playing with the very friendly dogs and Garfield the fat cat! The lodge is well located for visiting the impressive Cango caves and ostrich farms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenTimSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
12.0 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
22.7 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
16.8 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
9.2 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#4 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
9.7 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#8 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thabile Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thabile Lodge

Property: Thabile Lodge
Address: Thabile Lodge | Vergelegen Road, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thabile Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thabile Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing