We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thabile Lodge - the very place of happiness!!!”
Review of Thabile Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thabile Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2010

If you come to Oudtshoorn Thabile Lodge is a MUST! It seems to be the most peaceful, relaxing and beautiful place in the world. The host Len is just lovely. On arriving we received a very warm welcome from Len and Norbert (and the dogs Anabel, Coco, Thommy and two more), had a few cold drinks on the terrace, another drink in the Jacuzzi (also a great view from there) and finished the day with a delicious three course menue (Len's Bobotie is the best in South Africa!) along with a bottle of very good red wine.

Unfortunately, we only stayed for one night. We would have loved to stay longer (at least three nights) but the next hotel in Stellenbosch was already booked. When we said goodbye to Len and Norbert it felt like leaving friends behind - it was quite sad. We will definitely come back and stay at Thabile Lodge for a couple of nights.

If you read this, go straight to Thabile homepage, book a few nights and make sure to stay for dinner (ask Len about his special South African shot)!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maidivp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
There are newer reviews for Thabile Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2010

What a gem of a place, we stayed in 7 places in all on our honeymoon in South Africa and this is one of the most memorable place. What a wonderful find, we are so happy we made the detour off the garden route to Oudshoorn where we found waterfalls, Cango caves and the wonder Prince Albert pass but most of all we found accommodation at Thabile Lodge to be one unforgettable place. For us it was the shier beauty of the place and the owner, From the Lodges that are designed in a beautiful South African style, with the powerful showers and a bed you could sleep forever in.
We were arriving late, Being Irish we stopped for “one” Drink in a bar over an hour away, We rang to let Lenny know we would be very late and we would stop for food at a petrol station, only to be told by Lenny there was no need and he would be more than happy to cook for us,
When we arrive to Thablie lodge about 3 hours later in the dark we were greeted by Lenny and the lovely Nober. They served us an amazing 3 course meal with a lovely cool bottle of wine. We sat on the veranda wondering what we had done or ha to do.. (ha ha).. to be given such a lovely welcome.
And from there it only got better, each day we drove around Oudshoorn, (you’d need two days) and returned to swim in the pool each evening, chat with the animals while the boys went for a walk around the farm to see all the milking cows.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kinsale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Wonderful lodge with nice rooms, great food, superb views on the mountains. There is even a jacuzzi and a sauna! Len is the perfect host, we had a blast with him!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulRdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Having read the reviews on Thabile Lodge I was aware that our stay would be something special and planned to spend two nights. However the words from my youngest daughter, aged 9, as we entered the grounds "This is not what I was expecting" echoed exactly the type of stay we were about to have. Nothing we got was expected. It was all better and made so much more magical by Len who seemed never to tire of efforts to make you welcome, all starting with our introduction to two other guests already enjoying drinks on the porch of the main house. While Len's attempts to make us feel welcome were more than we had ever experienced, it was never overwhelming. This allowed us to truly enjoy what was in my opinion the most relaxing stay I have ever experienced in any hotel or B&B. As mentioned by some of the other reviews the food at dinner was fantastic, and perfectly presented outside on the portch of the main house. The rest i.e. the rooms and general setting were perfect and spotless all adding to our pleasure. If you find youself in Oudtshoorn looking for accomodation then I could not recomend Thabile high enough even if it is only for an overnight stop over.

While is it unlikely that we will have the pleasure of revisting Thabile we honestly felt as our title states "Arrived guests and left friends". As cliche as this may sound it is a true reflection of the way we all felt as we drove away.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRETravelMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

Thabile Lodge was a great place to stay. It was about 20 min outside of town a short distance down a dirt road. It was the perfect location to stay after several days of travel up the Garden Route. The Rooms were spacious and well equipped, the grounds were well maintained and beautiful to look at. I was able to completely relax on the farmers porch with a cold beer, overlooking the spectacular mountain range. The owner was very out going, and interacted with all of his guests. Not only did he get to know the folks staying, he made it a point to address all by name, and introduce everyone to each other. Further, the food was amazing, the chef was is in the same league as Todd English and Bobby Flay, Having eaten at both of their establishments on numerous occasions, I feel that my opinion on comparison is pretty valid. For an American Traveling to South Africa, I found Thabile Lodge a great place to stay. With the exchange rate, it was a very affordable place to stay, and dine, there was really no reason to leave to eat anywhere else. My only regret was not staying a few more nights. I would highly recommend at least one night at Thabile Lodge if you are traveling thru Oudtshoorn. Happy Travels!!

Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
Thank MichaelZ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

This unique lodge is a winning lottery ticket. Just outside of Oudtshoorn in the country side with 4 star facilities. Beautiful lodges all with an amazing view! We had 4 lodges all fully equiped with a special reference to the shower! Warm, personal service with a genuine smile. We had a great time! Thank you Len!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

The setting of Thabile is so lovely, not far from Oudtshoorn with it's restaurants and attractions but with the feel that one is way out of civilization. The clean and simple rooms have all the important amenities, (including air conditioning) and a gorgeous view of the mountains. There is a swimming pool and a juccuzzi, and Len will make sure that you are well fed and feel welcomed. I highly recommend Thabile Lodge if you are looking for a stay in the Oudtshoorn area and want to relax and feel well attended to. Great value!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plafield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
12.0 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
492 reviews
16.8 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
908 reviews
9.2 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge
31.0 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#10 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
153 reviews
10.6 mi away
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
#4 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thabile Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thabile Lodge

Address: Thabile Lodge | Vergelegen Road, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: £77 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thabile Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Thabile Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing