We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place with breathtaking sunsets and incredibly good service”
Review of Thabile Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thabile Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva
2 reviews
“Beautiful place with breathtaking sunsets and incredibly good service”
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Thabile Lodge is a must for everybody who wants to enjoy a few very relaxing days in a peaceful atmosphere. It is a place where the world is still in order.
The food is incredibly good and Len, Garfield and the dogs unique.
The little lodges are beautiful and made with thought and love. Every lodge is facing the impressive red mountains. You feel as if being part of a kids' picture book. Strongly to recommend. I will be back!!

P.S. Just one advise: If you like to keep your toes intact, stay away from the parrot. He is very charming but doesn't care much about the nationality of your toes.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mykonos77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    33
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
83
213
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2010

Len, the host has this incredible way of making you feel at home instantly. You suddenly find yourself in a countryside uniquely situated in the middle of amazing mountains. Uniquely situated, Thabile Lodge was our ideal stop over between the Karoo, on our way to the Garden Route. The food is delicious, the rooms are fantastic, and the attention to details exceptional. Best moment, was to watch the full moon rise, right over the mountain, while enjoying the jacuzzi!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nabuchodonosar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

This place is so much nicer than what the pictures show!
The rooms are perfectly built with views to the beautiful red mountains, and the mattresses are perfect for a good night-rest.
The owner has the right personality to be in the hospitality-industry
Excellent service.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddyleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Len made us feel extremely welcome, accomodation luxurious, food was great, even for us non-meat eaters. Loved the dogs and so-called cat (Garfield), Eric the parrot and the whole farm. Just wish we'd had more time

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnrLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We decided to book the Thabile Lodge for 2 nights after reading all the positive reviews on Tripadvisor - and we cannot agree more with everyone else.

First of all, the reservation process was a breeze, and the driving directions from Capetown were very clear. We arrived at about 6pm - and it was already dark. However, Corne was there to welcome us, along with Len's aunt (Meriki) and her friend, Elmarie.

We had a well-deserved quick drink after a 4-hour drive from Capetown before checking in to our room. It has a very quaint feel - and although there are 12 rooms there, they were all very spaced out, so you do get your privacy.

We had dinner in that evening - and it was fabulous. As it was off-peak, we ate dinner together with Corne (who made lovely dinner) as well as Meriki and Elmarie. It was very enjoyable - the food was lovely, and the company was excellent.

Oh, and we have yet to mention the animals - 5 dogs and 2 cats. They were all so friendly - particularly Garfield - wow, I have never seen such a 'big' cat in my life - and he was so friendly. If you love animals, you will love the Thabile lodge.

Breakfast was also delicious - we were blessed with sunshine, and it was lovely to have breakfast on the verandah, looking out to the mountains.

We met Len the next day - and he was a lot of fun - very witty and spontaneous and has a great sense of humour. Dinner was fantastic again - this time, we had a larger group of guests. When we left the following morning, we practically had the entire 'entourage' send us off - and we felt like we could stay a couple more days.

Overall, our stay at the lodge was very comfortable, relaxing and fun. Len and everyone else made us feel very welcomed. It really has a homely touch to it. We are already planning to return next year, and this time, we will certainly stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

I had the pleasure of staying at this paradise in Oudsthoorn with my future husband, We were welcomed graciously and had a wonderful time. The highlight was the delightful dinner which rates amongst the best dining experiences I have had in the Cape. And I am not easily pleased! I hope to return soon, Thank you for your hospitality!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTB250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
159 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

Tranquility place. Len and his helpful team are going the extra mile to make you feeling at home and to fulfill almost every wish. Hard to leave.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frogy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
12.0 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
22.7 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
16.8 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
9.2 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
9.7 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#8 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thabile Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thabile Lodge

Property: Thabile Lodge
Address: Thabile Lodge | Vergelegen Road, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thabile Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Thabile Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing