We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oudtshoorn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rolbaken Country Guesthouse & Cape Mountain Zebra Reserve
Ranked #48 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Struisbaai, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most Enjoyable!”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We so enjoyed Mary and Dick's hospitality. Really felt like being at home from home with easy access to the facilities including complimentary tea/coffee and rusks. Dinner and breakfast were very tasty indeed! Highly recommended as a break in the quiet Klein Karoo!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela - Arnold K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We spent two nights in Rolbaken just before New Year and had a wonderful stay - the accommodation is spotless and beautifully appointed and Dick and Mary Carr are gracious and accomplished hosts with a wealth of knowledge and experience of nature and the outdoors to share with their visitors. We had wonderful food and had the opportunity of being involved in farm activities like gathering eggs from chickens, which was very special for our three year-old. All in all a wonderful stay and a great base to explore the outlying area's - we went to visit De Rust and Prince Albert as well as traveling the Swartberg Pass, which is an amazing experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good sizes and well appointed with en suite bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneDaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stabroek, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2012

What an experience we had at Rolbaken when we stayed there for 2 nights.It was part of our honeymoontrip through South Africa and the Karoo Farm of Dick and Mary was recommended by our friends Rob & Terry from Benoni.The breakfast and dinner prepared by Mary was delicious and they joined us both every meal.They tell you very interesting stories and it happened all as we were family of them.The location of this farm is just what we needed: pure nature,silence,no stress,a beautifull and clean guesthouse and the perfect hosts.They adviced us to visit the Ostrich Farm 'Safari' nearby and Dick recommended us to do Swartbergpas.One must you have to do,is to take a look in the foto album you'll find in the guesthouse.It tells you how Dick and Mary converted an old school farm into a beautifull guesthouse.As Mary told us we were the first Belgian visitors @ Rolbaken , there's only one thing left to say...it was our first but surely not our last time we visit Rolbaken.Peter,Lydia & Kevin

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherylQ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This is home away from home on a farm that has been lovingly restored to it's original state. Dick and Mary are the perfect hosts - one is made to feel so welcome from the moment you arrive. The house is spacious, beautifully furnished and every need catered for. Do yourself a favour and treat yourself to Mary's cooking - it is delicious and worth every cent. In fact, get Dick and Mary to join you for dinner - they have a wealth of knowledge on the wildlife, environment and conservation in this area. We only stayed overnight on our first visit but within an hour of arriving had already discussed our return and made tentative arrangements to do so. Rolbaken is a gem in more ways than one.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylQCapetonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Just what we were looking for - perfect hosts , wonderful food served with peace tranquillity & stunning scenery !
Suffice to say Dick & Mary couldn't do enough for us - they couldn't have been more hospitable or informative.
A big plus was that I was treated to an early morning trek with Dick to explore the magnificent Bushman Paintings Cave - a privilege indeed.
We would recommend Dick & Mary's hospitality to anyone.
This was a never to be forgotten stay - thank you both so very much .

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grannymeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Set amidst some of the most beautiful Klein Karoo scenery, about 20 kilometres south of Dysselsdorp, is a guest house run by a most dedicated farming couple, Dick and Mary Carr. The spacious, three bedroomed cottage, with en-suite bathrooms is a pleasure to behold. Lovely bedrooms and comfortable beds provided a most welcome rest from the rush of city life. A sizeable kitchen with all that is needed for self-catering, really comfortable lounge (with a diverse assortment of literature to suit every taste) and front veranda overlooking the farm, valley and mountains in the distance. We chose all three catering options, dinner for six to celebrate a 60th birthday and breakfasts served on the veranda. Both catered for with the warm hospitality of Dick and Mary who dovetail their many talents in a smooth and skilled manner.
Our self-catering evening meal consisted of local produce procured in the area and included bread, cheese, tomatoes, olives and wines.
Some of the guests also availed themselves of walks on the farm to take in the fresh Karoo air. We found this gem really value for money and worth the drive on the very well maintained dirt/gravel road (which was traversed a number of times in exploring the area, including visits to De Rust , the Prince Albert olive festival and the Calitzdorp winery, Boplaas, for wine tasting and wine orders).
If anyone deserves a Customer Service Award it is this hands-on team of Dick and Mary. Nothing was too much trouble and they provided a wealth of knowledge on South African wildlife, outdoor environment and conservation in general. Sadly our Rolbaken experience was soon over and time to say farewell to our hosts with promises of meeting again in the future. This was a truly wonderful Klein Karoo experience with old and new friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre_041_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Rolbaken is a really special place. 45km from the nearest town in beautiful countryside you stay on a farm. Your detached house is well away from the main farmhouse, with space & views all around. We stayed here with our 2 year old son, this was his favourite place, a ride on Dick's blue tractor was the highlight of his holiday and he still talks about it. We stayed 2 nights, I would stay 3 minimum, there is lots to do in the area but also you will not want to leave Rolbaken with the peace & quiet and views down the valley. A lot of thought, time & effort have been put into this holiday accommodation and your living areas have been beautifully decorated. It is a place to sit, be with loved ones, stop, relax, take it all in & really have a restful break, in many ways it felt like our holiday really started here. I would also take advantage of Mary's cooking, really delicious and fantastic value for money. We were all very sad to leave but it is comforting to know it will live in our memories for many years and that we will go back one day, this is a very special place & fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.8 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
477 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amber Lagoon
Amber Lagoon
#29 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
38 reviews
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Backpackers Oasis Shanti
#26 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lodge 96
Lodge 96
#23 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
59 reviews
0.9 mi away
Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages
1.8 mi away
Bisibee Guest House
Bisibee Guest House
#55 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rolbaken Country Guesthouse & Cape Mountain Zebra Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolbaken Country Guesthouse & Cape Mountain Zebra Reserve

Property: Rolbaken Country Guesthouse & Cape Mountain Zebra Reserve
Address: Daskop Road, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rolbaken lies in the southwestern foothills of the Kammanassie Mountains. The farm nestles in a long valley, only 40kms from Oudtshoorn, and has magnificent views of both the Swartberg and Outeniqua Mountains. The guesthouse is situated on top of a hill and has its own garden which is safe for children and pets. Rolbaken is the perfect farm getaway for families and friends. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing