We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Grande Roche Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grande Roche Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Last time i stayed at the hotel was in 1996 - a long time ago - when the hotel was ratet as the best hotel and restaurant in South Africa. I am very glad that the standart of service and food still is of very high standart. We got a very warm welcome at the check in, the room was a little bit "tired" and needs a loving update. The waiting time between courses was very long, but we were not in a rush. All in all a very good experience.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Trine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I are delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, your comments help us to improve on our services.

We hope that you will visit us again soon.

It is our passion to ensure that all guests depart the Winelands with such happy memories.

Kindest regards,

Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    100
    39
    25
    11
See reviews for
58
298
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had a Business breakfast at the hotel,service was good,food was nice with limited a la carte hot selection, not so into hot bain marie meals.Buffet cold selection was good and fresh but small variety.In general a good morning out with good food and Spectacular view from the terrace.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJansen108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I are delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.The Hotel prides itself on sourcing the freshest ingredients from eggs to our home made pastries for breakfast.

We do hope that you will return soon.

It is our passion to ensure that all guests depart the Winelands with such happy memories.

Kindest regards,

Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murnau, Germany
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Needed a retreat in the middle of a very hectic business trip, and was not disappointed by the Grande Roche. Perfect balance of comfort & ease of relaxing plus lots of activities - could do as much as I wanted (cycling, visiting local wineries, gourmet chocolate tasting, to name a few) and also enjoy doing nothing. Very comfortable rooms with special little touches - comfy chairs & cusions, cuddly blankets (necessary on cold African winter nights), candles... and the main reception area was also extremly cozy (loved the deep armchairs in front of the roaring fireplaces!)
Fantastic staff who really went out of their way to be welcoming and friendly, but never overbearing. Shame I only had 2 days, most definitely hope to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebie_MUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I are delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel. We know that it is the small details that matter.

We hope that you will return soon and stay for a longer period with us.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests depart the Winelands with such happy memories.

Kindest regards,

Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Grande Roche for the third time this year. We love the sneaky getaway from the city and Grande Roche does not disappoint. From the second you drive in and greeted at the gate, you can tell that you are entering what feels like a fairy tale. The old style building architecture, vineyards and beautiful view onto the mountains makes you feel like you are in a different world.

As we parked we were immediately greeted & escorted to the front desk to check in. The staff are friendly, greets you by name and looks after your every need. The glass of bubbles on arrival and a personal greeting by the lovely general manager certainly shows the personalized interactions and also why the staff are not shy to make sure your every need is taken care of, as well as try to ensure that your stay is welcoming and special.

The rooms are absolutely gorgeous, my favourite is definitely the big rain shower and Charlotte Rhys products. The bed and all the linen, robes, etc. is heavenly. Their housekeeping is of a very high standard and rooms are always spotless. Great attention to detail is displayed.

Breakfast can not be more magical, overlooking the beautiful valley & mountains whilst having a fresh cup of coffee (or bubbles & oysters if you like).

Thank you for always making our stay special, we can not wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVDM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I are delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.

We cannot wait for your forth visit to Grande Roche and we hope that it is every bit as magical as before.

It is our passion to ensure that all guests depart the Winelands with such happy memories.

Kindest regards,

Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rendsburg
Level Contributor
204 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Why I say so? Because the combination of perfect service and high quality hotel was outstanding. From beginning to enter the property the service was excelent. Someone pick us up with umbrella, the check-in was perfomed while we have had tea by the fireplace.
The hotel is very nice and comfortable, it's a perfect hideaway!

And at least the hotel has one of the best restaurants in south africa: Bosman's.
Don't forget to make a reservation. You will enjoy it.

Next time to africa we are comming again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Scout_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I are delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.

It is our passion to ensure that all guests depart the Winelands with such happy memories.We look forward to your next stay at the hotel and South Africa.

Kindest regards,

Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. We were recommended this hotel by some friends and this was the beginning of our Cape Town experience as we did the safaris in Botswana first. The hotel was fantastic and looking back, we could have stayed here a few nights. Let me try to highlight why:

Service 11 out of 10

Our flight from JNB was late to Cape Town and instead of arriving at the hotel (with our rental car) at 7pm, we ended up taking a cab and arrived at the hotel around 130am. We had been up at 5am to start our on safari (then flew from Botswana) and were frustrated we didn't have a car (we didn't want to drive this late at night from the airport) but the staff member who greeted us in, told us he would take care of it all. Our bags were rushed to the room and the hotel staff said don't worry about checking in tonight (we had called ahead saying we were late) and that we could check in during the morning and told us they would see us when we woke up. He also said he will take care of the car rental and work with the am staff. We woke up to a perfect sunrise and were immediately seated for breakfast outside. All I could say was wow.... the view was amazing and the food was fantastic.

During breakfast the staff (new members) came by and gave us the car details and mentioned Avis would bring by the car in the morning. Great follow up and service! I was completely stressed out about the car but they hotel was extremely helpful and recognized this. After finishing breakfast we finally checked into the hotel and the received the car as Avis showed up.

We also asked for some recommendations on places to visit and the staff was fantastic. We used a wine guide they recommended which was top notch and definitely a great value for the money, and each winery they suggested we explore on our own was amazing.

One night we ate at the Bosmans and it was first class all the way. Great table, they put my wife and I in a quite corner and the meal was top notch. We were also invited to attend the dinner party the following night as there were local wineries coming to the hotel

Finally, the last night of our stay the room was decorated with roses and extra wine and snacks for us to enjoy.

This was one of our favorite hotels and once again the staff really went above and beyond to make us fell welcomed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I are delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.We are happy that we could take part in making you honeymoon a memorable experience.

It is our passion to ensure that all guests depart the Winelands with such happy memories.

Kindest regards,

Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My husband and I stayed for 1 night at grande Roche hotel in Paarl. From the time we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. To begin with the staff were all so friendly and helpful. The buildings and grounds and views over the Paarl valley were all so lovely. Walking into our room we were greeted with a toasty warm comfortable room, tasteful and understated decor, big firm bed, lovely linen, Charlotte Rhys toiletries, complimentary wine, bottled water, biscuits, coffee and tea. The room was quiet and dark and had a great nights sleep.
We had dinner in the restaurant and the food and dining room were both lovely-crystal chandeliers, roaring fire and lovely staff.
For breakfast we sat on the trace overlooking the misty valley and had great coffee, local cheeses, freshly baked bread, farm butter and all the trimmings.

Overall I think it was a 5 star experience and real value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarryn222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I are delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests depart the Winelands with such happy memories.

Kindest regards,

Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paarl
3.7 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
5.5 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
13.4 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
628 reviews
14.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Roche Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Roche Hotel

Property: Grande Roche Hotel
Address: Plantasie Street, Paarl 7646, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Roche Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Grande Roche, celebrated international hotel, famous for its exquisite location in the heart of the beautiful Cape Winelands as well as for its luxurious, cosmopolitan accommodation, award-winning cuisine and matchless service and hospitality. The immaculately restored Cape Dutch homestead at Grande Roche dates back to the 18th century, and offers guests a variety of sumptuous accommodation which include 35 luxury suites. The Banqueting Venue with an open-air amphitheater sits on the upper slopes of the estates, in the midst of vineyards and plum orchards, with a backdrop of Paarl Rock. Whether it's an international conference, a board meeting, cutting-edge product launch or high-profile company summit, The Grande Roche will take care of your needs... we know it is the little details that matter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Roche Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing