We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best”
Review of Grande Roche Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grande Roche Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best of the best”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Grande Roche Paarl had breathtaking views of both Paarl Rock mountains as well as Drakenstein. The rooms are furnished and equipped with state of the art luxury fittings. Quality bath robes, toiletries and lots of white fluffy towels await you in the suite. Plenty of storage place. Gardens and grounds are kept meticulous. All the staff members are highly trained. Breakfast was a feast and dinner what one would expect the food of such a highly acclaimed hotel should be. Really felt spoilt and cared for.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hctal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel as well as Bosman’s Restaurant.
We were also delighted to hear about your appreciation of our Grounds, it is so rare that this is mentioned.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories.
We do hope that you are able to return to the Grande Roche in the near future.
Kind regards,
Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    100
    39
    25
    11
See reviews for
58
298
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I took my wife, as a treat, to this Superior Hotel in Paarl. Absolutely wonderful stay. The fireplace was blazing away and the reception excellent. Personal care was number one. We were accompanied to our room which is exceptional great with television and en suite bathroom with a very big shower but no bath.

Dinner was an exceptional five course meal. Everything out of the book with a sommelier standing by with a very extensive wine list at expensive price.
Breakfast was exceptional and the service that go with that.

An exceptional and worthwhile stay>

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jansteve_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Jan Steve,
My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel as well as Bosman’s Restaurant.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories.
We do hope you and your wife will be able to return in the future. We would definitely recommend coming in the Summer time to experience the full beauty the Grande Roche has to offer.
Kind regards,
Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The staff were the nicest most helpful people I have come across for a long time . We were a large party and they could not do enough for us . Always smiling and went out of their way to help on anything we requested. Rooms are nice , go for the split level rooms , food is excellent . We were low season so the menu was a little limited at times (not that it mattered) but was of a quality as good as anywhere else we ate. I would not hesitate to go back and hopefully soon. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: go for the split level rooms they are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Anthony,
My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel as well as Bosman’s Restaurant.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories.
We do hope you and your friends are able to return to us in near future.
Kind regards,
Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I spent two nights at the Grand Roche while in Paarl recently - it was a truly lovely experience, with wonderful service and great food. The view from the porch over the mountains is truly spectacular. I stayed in an converted stable - the heated floor kept it warm even when it was cold outside.
I enjoyed their room service and ate another night in the restaurant. Great food, but portions a tad small.
If coming in the winter and looking for food, call ahead to see if the restaurant is open, particularly on Sunday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Rachel,
My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.
We are glad to hear that you were able to keep warm, especially during a South African winter.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories.
Kind regards,
Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The 5 Star luxurious Grande Roche was my home away from home for 4 days, as a Mrs a South Africa 2014 Finalist when I attended the Lifestyle Challenge in June, and I loved every minute of my stay. Exquisite in its décor and design, a menu fit for a queen and staff who go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and to meet your needs. It’s definitely on the top of my list for best places to visit!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories.
We wish you the best for tomorrow evenings pageant.
Kind regards,
Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We spend one night and rate it as one of the finest 'boutique hotels' I have stayed in. The rooms ( 2 floor suite) was spacious, well furnished, excellent wifi connectivity and underfloor heating. What gives this hotel the leading edge is the personal service and small but welcomed gestures ( complimentary bottle of champagne), a filled bath and rose petals on the bath floor! Breakfast was also great.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nassos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed one of our Duplex Suites and we hope that you are able to return in the near future and experience it once again.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories.
Kind regards,
Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My 3 night stay at Grande Roche Hotel on the foot of the Paarl Mountains was truly exquisite. Safe and Secure, The Staff was incredible, always available and genuinely pleasant. The Hospitality was warm and comfortable, they catered for every need and I particularly loved the breakfast buffet. There is pleanty of Private spaces to relax like example the Herb garden with the aroma of Lemon trees, lavender and Rosemary. Grande Roche has the option of intimate dinning experiences avalaible private and truly special. Grande Roche is definetely a small little oasis I would love to return to.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tal2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
My team and I were delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.
It was also nice to hear how you appreciated our little herb Garden as well as our Breakfast.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests leave the Winelands with happy memories.
We do hope that you are able to visit us again soon.
Kind regards,
Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paarl
3.7 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
5.5 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
13.4 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
628 reviews
14.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Roche Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Roche Hotel

Property: Grande Roche Hotel
Address: Plantasie Street, Paarl 7646, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Roche Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Grande Roche, celebrated international hotel, famous for its exquisite location in the heart of the beautiful Cape Winelands as well as for its luxurious, cosmopolitan accommodation, award-winning cuisine and matchless service and hospitality. The immaculately restored Cape Dutch homestead at Grande Roche dates back to the 18th century, and offers guests a variety of sumptuous accommodation which include 35 luxury suites. The Banqueting Venue with an open-air amphitheater sits on the upper slopes of the estates, in the midst of vineyards and plum orchards, with a backdrop of Paarl Rock. Whether it's an international conference, a board meeting, cutting-edge product launch or high-profile company summit, The Grande Roche will take care of your needs... we know it is the little details that matter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Roche Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing