We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Located in a true to form Cape Farmhouse with nicely decorated and comfortable rooms on the premises.
Owners make you feel very welcome. Food of outstanding quality and very well presented.

If you are looking for a relaxed weeks' away and use Leewenhof as a base to explore the area from this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Axel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

We enjoyed a lovely stay at the De Leeuwenhof Hotel. We were 2 couples who each got one of the newly redone rooms, brilliant interior and decor.

The only criticism was the bed was too comfortable and so we overslept in the morning..

Great braai with owner Daan and his son Stefan the previous night.

Richard

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricsmi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed there with 3 couples, two couples got a room and one couple a little apartment.
At the end the rooms are better than the apartment. The bathrooms are better and more comfortable.
Nice swimming pools but cold water.
Ok restaurant but no choice menu.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Visited the De Leeuwenhof Hotel in March and had a wonderful time there. Dan (The Owner ) and his family and staff were very helpful and always attentive to our every need. They even came out to the local golf club for me when I was stranded there with no money (long story senior moment).
In short everything excellent and highly recommendable
Peter Murphy

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at De Leeuwenhof. In particular, Daan and his family really made us feel welcome and at home there. We had many interesting conversations with them and the family went out of their away to give us lots of time and attention. As a tourist from England we really valued this personal attention.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Blue-Sky9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

De Leeuwenhof is one of the most wonderful places (not only in Africa) in which we have stayed. The estate is beautiful, the owners and friendly and helpful, the breakfast is delicious! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Evgeniya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our room in the 'horse stable' was freshly refurbished and had a very tasteful interior. A beautiful pool and a perfect service made the picture complete. We still have the smell of the fruits in our noses. Thanks Daan for everything !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Juergen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paarl
3.7 mi away
Grande Roche Hotel
Grande Roche Hotel
#2 of 14 in Paarl
504 reviews
2 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
196 reviews
21.8 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge
7.3 mi away
Ridgeback House
Ridgeback House
#1 of 1 in Windmeul
52 reviews
3.7 mi away
Perle-du-Cap Private Suite Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse

Address: Sonstraal Road | Klein Drakenstein, Paarl 7646, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Price Range: £77 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"De Leeuwenhof" was founded in 1698 by a French Hugenot who came to the Cape winelands to grow fruit and grapes. Nowadays the 4-star Cape Dutch Estate is restored to it former glory and offers 11 luxury guestrooms and two apartments, 4 self-catering cottages and a small restaurant with a nice entertainment area with two pools and safe parking. The Estate is family run and the personal touch will make you feel quite at home. Most guests come to rest and enjoy the food and wine and beautiful surroundings. "De Leeuwenhof" 11,5 Ha is still a working farm and produces 64 tons of grapes and 200 tons of fruit on a yearly basis. The estate is situated in the historic wine lands of the Western Cape, tranquilly situated on the foot of the mountains 5 min from Paarl itself.The offerings more specific: Rooms & family apartments: We can accommodate 36 people in total!Attached to main House (1698): Two family apartments , with two double bedrooms with queen-sized four-poster beds, kitchenette, terrace and bathroom, fully air-conditioned (cooled and heated) TV, DVD and local TV station. Minimum charge of two people per apartment. In adjoining historic building " The Old Barn"(1914 ) Four luxury rooms **** with queen-sized double bed and en-suite bathroom, coffee/thee tray, patio and linked to private terrace with pool. In The orchard we offer 4 self catering cottages with bedroom including en-suite Bathroom and separate kitchen, dining area with fire-place and outside terraceand we offer 6 luxury rooms in "The Old Stable" with en-suite Bathroom and private terrace.Also: - Secured private parking space on farm - Own private terrace with the apartments and outside terrace with the luxury rooms. - Air-conditioned ( heating and cooling ) - Swimming pool - TV, DVD in apartments and Satellite DStv and LCD flat-screens in luxury rooms - Internet facilities present (wireless ADSL ) - Laundry service on request. - Daily cleaning of rooms - Credit card facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing