We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfully friendly and homely!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belair Country House
Ranked #25 of 45 Paarl B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Wonderfully friendly and homely!”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

A very attractive old style farm house with great views nestled in the hills of Paarl. Super pool and really comfortable rooms. The hostess, Janet, is extremely friendly and amenable, always busy with weddings and general maintenance of the large property. Within walking distance to Fairview Wine Estate and Spice Route. There are also 3 very friendly dogs who are there to welcome you when you arrive.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg South Afrcia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The hardworking and generous with her time and energy,Janet, makes the Belair country house a perfect weekend away . Sandwiched between fair view and spice route, the tranquil and quiet farmstead with great bathrooms and views is akin to visiting a great aunt for a farm visit. Personally cooked delicious breakfasts and Janet's dignified presence make this Ia "must go back to" experience .any negatives? Needs dstv, a few more amenities as tablet soap in bathrooms ....but those are niggles in a lovely, nostalgic and classy stay

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the skylight bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is an attractive old style farm house set on a plot leading up to the hills.
There’s a great feeling of elegant history, and yet our room was stylish and interestingly furnished with a sleek modern bathroom. All the bedrooms are different.
In the rose season the rooms are decorated with beautiful fresh blooms.
We didn’t sit out by the pool as the weather wasn’t quite warm enough, but we did walk up the hill and enjoyed the panoramic view over the adjoining vineyards and hills towards Cape Town.
It’s a short drive into Paarl for supper and Mrs Plumbly kindly booked us a table at Noop where we enjoyed an excellent meal.
We ate breakfast in the conservatory and it was delicious. The strawberry season had just started and they were tasty along with a lovely selection of other fruit.
Belair is a lovely base for exploring the winelands - Stellenbosch and Franschhoek are within very easy reach.
It is also close enough to Cape Town International Airport to be perfect for either the first nights, or last few days of a visit to this beautiful and fascinating region.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

We needed to stay a couple of nights in the winelands for a wedding and the Greenwood Guide recommended Belair. We thought it looked nice from the pictures and the website was helpful. We chose one of the new suites which was on two floors. A lounge downstairs and a modern spacious bedroom with a bath, shower and loo incorporated. The views from the bedroom are stunning and waking up to a full African sunrise is magical. Of course being out in the countryside it is beautifully peaceful but the guinea fowl and peacocks ensure that you do not stay in bed too long.

We took wonderful brief pre-breakfast walks up the hillside among the vines, the wildlife-mainly birds, and the magnificent views of the mountains before coming back to the main house for a fresh and tasty breakfast well prepared and presented by the owner Janet.

There is a good sized pool and loungers to relax with at the side of the property and the extensive gardens are very well maintained.

The main house has a wide range of leaflets on things to see and do in the area and the breakfast room is the logia at the rear. As we walked in for our first breakfast Janet had Out of Africa playing quietly in the background which added to the magic of the place.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twickers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paarl hotels
0.0 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
Nuwerus Lodge Paarl
Nuwerus Lodge Paarl
#1 of 45 in Paarl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oak Tree Lodge
Oak Tree Lodge
#10 of 45 in Paarl
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Skinkikofi B&B
Skinkikofi B&B
#21 of 45 in Paarl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alba House Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Nwanedi Wine & Country Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belair Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belair Country House

Property: Belair Country House
Address: Suid Agter Paarl Road, Paarl 7624, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Paarl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Belair Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing