We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and quiet”

Marc's Mediterrean Cuisine & Garden
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint and quiet”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Took some good friends on a spur of the moment idea for lunch on the Sat just after Christmas. The restaurant was quiet and lacked atmosphere. But the owner made a point of coming to greet us, and the staff who looked after us were very attentive and friendly.

The wine list was being revamped, so our choice was very limited. The food was acceptable, but no more than the average fare available most anywhere - although the Gazpacho was excellent. It had rained lightly so we were told the outdoor area was closed, sadly. An enjoyable, but not memorable, afternoon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KevS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    20
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very nice food and atmosphere, different than expected”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This place has a true mediterranean feel to it; make sure you sit in the garden in the back and it feels like walking into a greek restaurant. Unlike typical South African restaurants in this area. Service is good but maybe a bit formal. Quality of the food is very nice, value for money is ok.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasper L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boksburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Good food and lovely garden seating”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the garden seating area, food was well presented and very tasty. The pan fried fish is a must if you enjoy fish. Friendly staff. Will definitely pay a visit again :)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deidre K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“evening out”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had a dinner at Marc's and I will not pay them a visit again. The waitress service was very good, but unfortunately we had slow service from the kitchen. Waiting on food to be delivered between courses up to 1 hour. I mean a pizza does not take that long? Owner no decency to make a proper excuse blaming it on the kitchen staff and computer system.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GroenewaldJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I called in for a light lunch.We were shown to a table in the rear of the restaurant which was very pleasant.

My wife ordered a burger and I a chicken wrap.My wife's burger was good whilst my wrap had very little chicken in it.I mentioned this to the waiter who said he would mention it to the chef whom I believe is also the owner.

Leaving he enquiried as to how we had enjoyed it I said the lack of chicken in the wrap was disappointing.His response was he would look in to it whilst continuing to drink his wine with a friend.

Not exactly the reply you would expect from the owner.A shame because I am sure it could be very a pleasant place to have an evening meal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marc's Mediterrean Cuisine & Garden also viewed

 
Paarl, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing