We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy a good dinner and night”
Review of Rodeberg Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paarl
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rodeberg Lodge
Ranked #6 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Paarl
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Both hosts Willem and Minnie are examplary. I enjoyed an great dinner. Thank you to Minnie! My wish to become a room more off the street was immiadetly adapted. Due to the warm and heartful welcome I can say that this B&B is one of the better ones.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joerg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodebergLodgeMinnie, Owner at Rodeberg Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Thank you for the review! We hope to see you again. Keep well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Rodeberg Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

My wife and I spent three nights here.
Willem and Minnie are great hosts. Our room was spacious with air conditioning - essential in the heat when we were there. The location is central and peaceful. Although it is close to the main road we had absolutely no awareness of traffic. The facilities were perfect and everything was very clean. The beds were very comfortable and breakfast in the sun lounge was excellent with a choice of hot dishes as well as a full selection of cereals, toast and so on. There are three restaurants nearby. We were there over Valentine's Day and two of the three were fully booked but we got in to Marco's which gave us good service and quality dinner. On the third night we got in to Terra Mare where we had a really outstanding meal. It probably pays to book ahead.
Willem was extremely helpful with things to do and places to go.
If we return to Paarl we will stay here.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a/c. All are fine and airy.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John and Tish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodebergLodgeMinnie, Owner at Rodeberg Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again. Keep well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Friendly people, all and all a great experience .
The breakfast was very good, and anything you ask was not to much effort at all.
The beds was very comfortable and warm. Your car is parked safe off the street.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tanja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodebergLodgeMinnie, Owner at Rodeberg Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again. Keep well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

...because there are more polite people here. Convenient by foot to so many things, familiar conveniences (as an American, I dislike having to deduce the function of weird bathrooms), and the ability to come and go as you please. Internet available, a nice refrigerator stocked with wine...and other things, no doubt...outside your door. Willem was so proud of his city and extended tourist courtesies far beyond what was covered by the reasonable bill. Don't stay too long, or the breakfast will put you up a pants size...delicious. Convenient to shopping (if you need to change money), walking, tourism (I had the best time talking to South Africans at the Rugby Field just down the road), and the Nederberg wine tasting room. I hated to leave...will miss everything except South African TV.

Room Tip: Stayed downstairs, stayed upstairs. You're happy no matter.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wine_Chemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodebergLodgeMinnie, Owner at Rodeberg Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review. Rodeberg Lodge is run by the owners themselves, and we strive to give our very best every day. It is so nice to get a 5 star feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Rodeberg lodge is a lovely guest house with beautiful rooms and the warmest of welcomes. Willem and Minnie made us feel so welcome and well looked after that we came back for a second stay on our 2 week trip to South Africa. Beautifully decorated and exceptionally clean rooms, fantastic breakfast and peace and quiet.
Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richmond101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodebergLodgeMinnie, Owner at Rodeberg Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Dear Richmond101, Thank you for your review. We as the owners of Rodeberg Lodge run the Lodge ourselves and we strive to give our guests the best possible service we can. Reviews like yours make our hard work worth the effort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

the Rodeberg Lodge is a nice gem in an old Victorian style. Direct at the Main street but quiet with a nice garden. The room are very clean and after a good night Minnie and Willem pamper you with a tasting breakfast. You should try Minnie`s delicius menu and you feel like home.
Agnes and Günter Burczyk, Wesel, Germany

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guenter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Travelling a lot due to business I always find myself at Rodeberg Lodge when visiting Paarl. Rooms are clean, the bathrooms are clean, the lines is clean etc. Rodeberg Lodge offers great value for money. They also prepare a great breakfast for you. Thanks Willem and Minnie for the excellent service always! See you again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PietervJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paarl hotels
0.2 mi away
Grande Roche Hotel
Grande Roche Hotel
#2 of 14 in Paarl
493 reviews
3.6 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
6.2 mi away
Ridgeback House
Ridgeback House
#1 of 1 in Windmeul
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge
3.9 mi away
Ruitersvlei Heritage Guest Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeberg Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeberg Lodge

Address: 74 Main Street | N/a, Paarl 7646, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Paarl
Price Range: £25 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodeberg Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodeberg Lodge,a B&B and Guesthouse, centrally located in Paarl in the Winelands of the Cape, a National Monument and skillfully restored and converted into a three star graded Guest House in 1991. You will find comfortable accommodation within 35 minutes drive from Cape Town and Cape Town International Airport at Rodeberg Lodge, in this meticulously maintained Bed and breakfast, run by the owners themselves. The discerning businessman as well as local or overseas tourists in search of a memorable Cape Town Winelands stay over will experience homely country hospitality. We are surrounded by world class Restaurants and Art Galleries, and 300meters from the Grande Roche. We also do home cooked dinners on request. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing