We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter monday"s great lunch”
Review of Harvest at Laborie - CLOSED

Harvest at Laborie
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant, Harvest at Laborie, is the canvas upon which internationally acclaimed chef Matthew Gordon renders his culinary art. The menu is contemporary South African with ingredients sourced locally. Free range and organic Karoo lamb, beef and fresh line fish are regular features on the menu, while herbs and vegetables are harvested from the restaurant's own garden. All of these components are cleverly combined to deliver a supreme dining experience hallmarked by depth of flavour and superb presentation. The restaurant has amassed a loyal following and is a #KLINK award-winner, having been singled out from the Cape's plethora of wine tourism destinations by popular vote..
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had an Easter lunch at Laborie and it was perfect. The starter was calamari salad, main kingklip fish and dessert was creme brule...all in harmony with paring wine from laborie itself...one should try the rose sparkling or blanc the blanc as they are great.
Of course the service is also pleasant and personal as we like it.

When-ever we go to one of the great restaurants of Paarl, Harvest at Laborie is definitively in our top 3 for lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank deleeuwenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laborie1659, Public Relations Manager at Harvest at Laborie, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hi deleeuwenhof,

Thank you for the kind review, Easter lunch was indeed a wonderful for us all. We look forward to your next visit when we hope to in your top 1 for lunch!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Harvest at Laborie
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 132 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were disappointed by the shabby state of a once grand room. Whilst the menu was diverse and the wine list, too, if a little expensive, the food did not live up to expectations.
The best taste of our lunch was the bread which was fresh, warm and aromatic, but the meal was bland and boring.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laborie1659, Public Relations Manager at Harvest at Laborie, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Mike E,

Really sorry to hear of your disappointing experience. Can I ask if you raised your concerns with the management at the time as we would have liked to resolve any issues you had immediately. We hope that you are willing to visit us again soon and can give us the opportunity to show you why Harvest is such a popular restaurant. Please let us know and we will ensure that we do everything we can so you can enjoy the true Laborie experience.

Kind regards,
Laborie Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Very close to Alba House guest house, in fact it is only 8 minutes walk, which we have enjoyed gratly glimpsing views of the Paarl Rock on the way. Most beautiful farm homestead with great outdoor seating with beautiful views of the mountains. Very friendly staff, delicious food, wines from own production at Laborie. Fantastic place for lunch and dinner.

Thank Jarka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laborie1659, Public Relations Manager at Harvest at Laborie, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Jarka H,

Thank you for visiting and posting your review. Not only do we have an award winning restaurant with it's beautiful wineland views, on your next visit you should stay in our luxurious accommodation and enjoy the Laborie experience in its entirety. Thank you once again and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
The Laborie Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Always consistent with good food, good service and stunning view! We love to sit outside. Love the wine.

Thank DoreenBotha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laborie1659, Public Relations Manager at Harvest at Laborie, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear DoreenBotha123,

Thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to post this review. Sitting on our stoep with a chilled bottle of our wine overlooking the vineyards is definitely on the 'to do' list with any visitor when the sun is shining. And if it's not then inside with a roaring fire to keep you warm makes Laborie a place to visit at any time of year. Look forward to seeing you here again soon.


Kind regards,
The Laborie Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The finest meal that I enjoyed during my South African adventure, in splendid surroundings.
Firstly the "5 wines" Wine Tasting, followed by the gastronomic luncheon.
Presentation was fantastic - notably the cheesboard - the finest ever!
Well done to everyone at this top class winery!!
NOT TO BE MISSED ON ANYACCOUNT.........

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gordon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laborie1659, Public Relations Manager at Harvest at Laborie, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hi gordon h,

Thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to post those kind words. All feedback from visitors is welcomed as it gives us the opportunity to consistantly improve but positive feedback is particularly welcome and I'll be sure to pass it on to the staff.

Look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to South Africa
Kind regards,
The Laborie Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harvest at Laborie also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing