We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Main meal lacked flavour ... What a pity”
Review of Harvest at Laborie - CLOSED

Harvest at Laborie
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant, Harvest at Laborie, is the canvas upon which internationally acclaimed chef Matthew Gordon renders his culinary art. The menu is contemporary South African with ingredients sourced locally. Free range and organic Karoo lamb, beef and fresh line fish are regular features on the menu, while herbs and vegetables are harvested from the restaurant's own garden. All of these components are cleverly combined to deliver a supreme dining experience hallmarked by depth of flavour and superb presentation. The restaurant has amassed a loyal following and is a #KLINK award-winner, having been singled out from the Cape's plethora of wine tourism destinations by popular vote..
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We love coming to Laborie for a special meal. Our starters were delicious and we both ordered the pork for mains. Unfortunately although it was beautifully prepared and cooked the overall impression was fairly tasteless. We hope and trust that this was an exception. Another slight irritation was that we booked via the internet and did not receive any notification and we had to phone to establish that we did indeed have a booking.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Guy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Harvest at Laborie
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 121 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a good steak for lunch, which was well presented. The service was just great, the waiter obviously well trained, was not overbearing, nor was he missing in action. The choice of wine by the glass was impressive. All in all a fantastic experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shaun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laborie1659, Public Relations Manager at Harvest at Laborie, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Hi Shaun,

Thank you for your kind words and we'll make sure they are passed on to the staff. Thank you also for visiting us and we look forward to seeing you in Paarl again soon.

Kind regards,
Harvest Restaurant Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Simple yet super,sirloin steak well prepared,chips very well cooked,great Chardonnay to suit,can really recommend.

Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laborie1659, Public Relations Manager at Harvest at Laborie, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Hi Nick,

Glad you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for the kind words in your review.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Harvest Restaurant Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Had lunch at the Resteraunt at Laborie when staying on the estate
The lunch special Lamb burger was fantastic and the roast chicken excellent, the sticky toffee pudding was good but needed more sauce. The Limited Edition 2013 Chardonnay was a perfect partner to the food. Great service and lovely location - highly recommended

Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laborie1659, Public Relations Manager at Harvest at Laborie, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Hi Richard,

Thank you for the review Richard and for staying with us whilst you visit South Africa. I'll pass on your comments to the kitchen and we look forward to you visiting us again soon, perhaps on the stoep with our Summer Menu next time.

Regards,
Harvest Restaurant Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Having visited a few times, Laborie has never dissapointed. Good food always, using fresh ingredients and own grown herbs, great service that makes one feel at home and to top it all, super wines!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Juliette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harvest at Laborie also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing