We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simon H”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mountain Shadows Guest House
Ranked #17 of 48 Paarl B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The most wonderful environment in which to relax and recharge after a hectic schedule.Rather like being at home,only quieter and far more beautiful!Nothing is ever too much trouble for Misty and her family to arrange or help you to sort out.
I could never recommend the experience of staying at Mountain Shadows highly enough.

Room Tip: The bridal suite is gorgeous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2013

We had our wedding here and it was perfect. The setting is very beautiful- dramatic mountain backdrop, beautiful grounds/farmland and the old Cape Dutch homestead. The accommodation was tasteful and we were able to provide for 22 family members at the venue, with many others booking into surrounding accommodation of which there was plenty. Misty is a superb organizer and we had no need to hire a separate wedding arranger as she did all the co-ordination with aplomb and it was quite a large wedding with 200 guests.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustinHardcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We had an extremely pleasant time at Mountain Shadow and Ms. Misty de Beer and her family were exceedigly accomodating in trying to fullfill all our wishes. We would recommend it to friends and relatives.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank outlandos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

This is a lovely family establishment. It was a priviledge to share a bit of history. The manor house is beautiful and the atmosphere warm and welcoming. Real old worlde. The setting is rural with a magic view.
The only negative is the proximity to the highway. We found the noise from trucks fairly late into the night disturbing. The mosquitoes also kept us awake but we should probably have come better prepared to cope with that.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Willem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Mountant Shadows. The location and scenery is fantastic. Our hosts Gerald and Misty were extremely friendly and responsive to queries.

My only comment is noticable wear and tear in the rooms e.g. door frames and window frames with flaking paint or chips that require a new coat of paint.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We were so fortunate to be rescued by Gerald and Kathy after we could not get home late one evening due to mountain fires between Paarl and Franschhoek. We thoroughly enjoyed our brief overnight stay and were made very welcome. Comfortable rooms, a hearty breakfast and friendly hosts- what more could anyone ask for? Thank you Gerald and Kathy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dr D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

What a wonderful and relaxing time spent at the Mountain Shadows Guest House in Paarl. We were made to feel welcome by the friendly and caring attitude of Misty and family. The room and manor house was well appointed with period furniture and old world charm. Nothing was too much trouble and the result was a refreshing real experience. Even the two dogs were welcoming and well behaved resulting in the guests being able to integrate into the character of the establishment and area.

Thank You Misty and the Mountain Shadows family.

Syd and Cathy

Room Tip: K2 is well situated for privacy with its own private verandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paarl hotels
1.6 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
8.9 mi away
Ridgeback House
Ridgeback House
#1 of 1 in Windmeul
52 reviews
5 mi away
Grande Roche Hotel
Grande Roche Hotel
#2 of 14 in Paarl
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge
14.2 mi away
Moreson Guest Farm
Moreson Guest Farm
#2 of 3 in Windmeul
5 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Shadows Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Shadows Guest House

Address: Off Keerweder Road | Klein Drakenstein, Paarl 7620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Paarl
Price Range: £73 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mountain Shadows Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Shadows is situated on a working wine and olive farm at the foot of the picturesque Drakenstein mountains in the heart of the Cape Winelands. A stay at Mountain Shadows Guesthouse is a rewarding experience in luxury, style and comfort. The spacious, en-suite rooms feature exquisite interiors, each with it´s own private terrace. Within easy reach of Cape Town and Cape Town International Airport, Mountain Shadows guesthouse is an ideal base from which to explore the beautiful Cape and its many scenic and tourist attractions. Visit the surrounding wine-estates, take a stroll amongst the vineyards or along the river, view the abundant bird-life, try your hand at fly-fishing in the bass dam or lounge by the poolside and soak up the peace and tranquillity of the estate. Great food prepared daily using only the freshest local ingredients, combined with fine wines from neighbouring cellars will ensure that your stay at Mountain Shadows will be an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Mountain Shadows Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing