We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mountain Shadows Guest House
Ranked #17 of 48 Paarl B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We had a wonderful time at Mountain Shadows!
The hospitality was incredible and it felt like we were part of the family that owned the farm. Was exactly what we were wanting from our visit.
I will highly recommend them!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

The breakfast is delish, the farm and dam are beautiful. The rooms are very well kept and furnished. The most amazing thing is waking up to a view of the Franschoek mountains. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. I couldn't find one thing to complain about and will definitely be going back for the romantic dinner by candle and lantern light on the dam.

Room Tip: Room directly behind reception have their own little courtyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Athelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My husband and I had a great time at Mountain Shadows the past weekend. Staff were friendly and the scenery beautiful.
They were also accommodating, providing a halaal breakfast and Grapetiser instead of wine at our arrival and providing us with a microwave to warm our food. We went on a long walk and their two dogs Sisu and Drywer kept us company :)
If you looking for a relaxing get away with the most beautiful scenery this is definitely the place for you!
The only problem was that our toilet was not in perfect working order, although this did not spoil our holiday.
Thank you for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haniefa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Wow, lovely surroundings, fantastic hosts and fabulous food. Who could ask for more?! It was lovely stay and I would dearly love to come back again. Thank you Misty and Gerald. I lived up to all I had been told about the place x

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeanette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The most wonderful environment in which to relax and recharge after a hectic schedule.Rather like being at home,only quieter and far more beautiful!Nothing is ever too much trouble for Misty and her family to arrange or help you to sort out.
I could never recommend the experience of staying at Mountain Shadows highly enough.

Room Tip: The bridal suite is gorgeous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We had our wedding here and it was perfect. The setting is very beautiful- dramatic mountain backdrop, beautiful grounds/farmland and the old Cape Dutch homestead. The accommodation was tasteful and we were able to provide for 22 family members at the venue, with many others booking into surrounding accommodation of which there was plenty. Misty is a superb organizer and we had no need to hire a separate wedding arranger as she did all the co-ordination with aplomb and it was quite a large wedding with 200 guests.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustinHardcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We had an extremely pleasant time at Mountain Shadow and Ms. Misty de Beer and her family were exceedigly accomodating in trying to fullfill all our wishes. We would recommend it to friends and relatives.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank outlandos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paarl hotels
1.6 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
8.9 mi away
Ridgeback House
Ridgeback House
#1 of 1 in Windmeul
52 reviews
5 mi away
Grande Roche Hotel
Grande Roche Hotel
#2 of 14 in Paarl
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge
14.2 mi away
Moreson Guest Farm
Moreson Guest Farm
#2 of 3 in Windmeul
5 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Shadows Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Shadows Guest House

Address: Off Keerweder Road | Klein Drakenstein, Paarl 7620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Paarl
Price Range: £73 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mountain Shadows Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Shadows is situated on a working wine and olive farm at the foot of the picturesque Drakenstein mountains in the heart of the Cape Winelands. A stay at Mountain Shadows Guesthouse is a rewarding experience in luxury, style and comfort. The spacious, en-suite rooms feature exquisite interiors, each with it´s own private terrace. Within easy reach of Cape Town and Cape Town International Airport, Mountain Shadows guesthouse is an ideal base from which to explore the beautiful Cape and its many scenic and tourist attractions. Visit the surrounding wine-estates, take a stroll amongst the vineyards or along the river, view the abundant bird-life, try your hand at fly-fishing in the bass dam or lounge by the poolside and soak up the peace and tranquillity of the estate. Great food prepared daily using only the freshest local ingredients, combined with fine wines from neighbouring cellars will ensure that your stay at Mountain Shadows will be an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Mountain Shadows Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing