We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paarl
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mountain Shadows Guest House
Ranked #19 of 48 Paarl B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Accommodation was wonderfully clean. Service was very friendly and attentive. Location is extremely picturesque, particularly for those who enjoy a historic setting with majestic views. Rates were very much on par with the area. Only 1 hint - take your mozzie spray (as you would for any accommodation in the area during Summer)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Cat361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

Although the accommodation was clean, we found it rather tatty for the amount of money paid. A very average stay. The gentleman that greeted us was very friendly and helpful in suggesting a very good restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roland K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The location is beautiful with the mountains around! But the rooms are awful, bed soft, even after I requested a firm bed and they stated that would be in order! Apparently our bed was the firmest they have – it was like a sleeping on a lumpy, spongy old mattress of straw! The rooms have not been cleaned properly in years with bugs that bite us during the night making it almost impossible to sleep. Even the main house is not maintained and dirty – the loungers around the pool are broken.
The shower was in the bath which is fine, but the shower curtain was dirty and the towels smelt of old milk! The breakfast the next morning was average and nothing special. We booked out after 1 night even though we had booked in for 2 and moved to Franschoek where we stayed in an amazing B&B for the same price. When booking out the owners were astounded that were unhappy and did not charge us for the 2nd night and gave us a bottle of wine as an apology, which was nice of them.
This place could be amazing with the setting and old buildings, but no care or attention has been given to the property and it is now in disrepair. The promised olive groves to walk in are little more than poorly maintained trees - it is such a pity!!!

Room Tip: Until the place is redone don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penelope C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

A lovely family run establishment, helpful at all times - has the baby arrived yet? Dramatic mountain background, lovely pool (dam if you want something larger), see the olive groves etc. Comfortable rooms and breakfast on the terrace - sheer bliss. Thank you. The dogs are really friendly too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The facilities are outdated, and the room insufficiently furnished out. For instance, no table to put the kettle on. No place to put microwave except on top of the fridge!
The place needs a serious upgrade. The room rate is exorbitant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank conrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A wonderful guest house - run and managed by such a warm family, wish it could have been longer! We were fortunate to get married at Mountain Shadows 5 years ago so this one night was a trip down memory lane and luckily for us, it coincided with an afternoon full of musical entertainment and dancing - wonderful. Look forward to attending in Summer!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We all enjoy the country/outdoors and could not have stayed in a lovelier place. The air was fresh, the view was magnifico and the service friendly. A venue to recommend and return to!!
As I Jennifer went to school in Paarl, I found many changes and could share this with my friends.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paarl hotels
1.0 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
4.1 mi away
Goedemoed Country Inn
Goedemoed Country Inn
#7 of 14 in Paarl
48 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge
8.3 mi away
Ridgeback House
Ridgeback House
#1 of 1 in Windmeul
51 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lemoenkloof Guest House & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Shadows Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Shadows Guest House

Address: Off Keerweder Road | Klein Drakenstein, Paarl 7620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Paarl
Price Range: £50 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Shadows is situated on a working wine and olive farm at the foot of the picturesque Drakenstein mountains in the heart of the Cape Winelands, a few minutes away from Paarl. The historic Cape Dutch manor house dates back to 1823 and has been declared a national monument. A stay at Mountain Shadows Guesthouse is a rewarding experience in luxury, style and comfort. The spacious, en-suite rooms feature exquisite interiors, each with its own individual decor and antique furnishings. Within easy reach of Cape Town and Cape Town International Airport, Mountain Shadows guesthouse is an ideal base from which to explore the beautiful Cape and its many scenic and tourist attractions. Visit the surrounding wine-estates, take a stroll amongst the vineyards or along the river, view the abundant bird-life, try your hand at fly-fishing in the bass dam or lounge by the poolside and soak up the peace and tranquillity of the estate. Great food prepared daily using only the freshest local ingredients, combined with fine wines from neighbouring cellars will ensure that your stay at Mountain Shadows will be an unforgettable experience. At Mountain Shadows we celebrate life. Whatever the reason for your visit; be it a holiday, wedding, anniversary, birthday or any other celebration, we will provide the attention to detail to ensure that your time at Mountain Shadows Guesthouse is treasured for a lifetime. The following languages are spoken at Mountain Shadows: English, Afrikaans, German, French, Finnish and Swedish. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing