We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service and care!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Goedemoed Country Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing service and care!”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We came to Paarl without a car - which obviously is a rare scene! But who needs a car when you have the kindness of Heather and Kim? Kim took us up to the mountains when we wanted to go hiking, drove us to town for dinner, and gave us all the advice we needed for the perfect Paarl experience! Not to forget the perfect breakfast!
Their hospitality got us to stay another night - and definitely coming back!
The nicest people!!! And gorgeous dogs!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guro-Marte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
17
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Kim and Heather were great hosts, and a really efficient team, Kim doing the cooking and the front of house, while Heather ran the back office. They have a lovely house, and provide a great place to stay, looking out over the vineyards and the distant mountains.
Kim was so welcoming, offering complimentary wine and plump grapes while we sat in the evening sunshine, admiring the views, and enjoying the company.
It makes such a difference to stay with a friendly family, rather than the impersonal hotels of Cape Town.
He cooked up a lovely breakfast too.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinCOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eriskirch, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We (3 Germans) stayed there for 2 nights and enjoyed really the hospitality of Heather and Kim. The Guesthouse lies ideal for trips around Paarl or into the Mountains and Valleys along N1. A little noisy due to that, but closed window and red wine will solve this little inconveniance.
Breakfast is prepared by Kim himself and he's doing a great job in that. You won't miss anything.
Garden and view into the mountains is great.
Start to Paarl Mountain Reserve early before breakfast and walk up for sunset/moonrise in the evening, You will have great impressions. Kims recommendation was Fairview Winery, a must go there as a german: They offer pretty good Weißbier...
Goedemoed is definitively worth while coming back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
212 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and could not have been made more welcome. Kim and Heather are excellent hosts. We stayed in the garden rooms and they had a pleasant patio area overlooking the vineyard as well as the lawn overlooking the pool. Breakfast was lovely, excellent fruit selection and Kim does excellent scrambled or poached double yoke eggs! Location is very good with some excellent restaurants nearby. Would definitely stay here again if we revisit the wine lands.

Room Tip: Garden room was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda58essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We have just returned from our holiday in South Africa and stayed at the Goedemoed Country Inn for one night. Big mistake - should have stayed for longer! We agree with all the previous reviews. The scenic views from the terrace over the mountains and vineyards were absolutely stunning. The accommodation was spotless and our only dislike was the concrete wetroom, which gave the impression that the ensuite wasn't finished. The patio chairs outside most of the rooms were welcome. The breakfast on the veranda was lovely and we could have stayed for hours chatting to Kim. Would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna BC Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We recently completed our fourth stay at the Goedemoed and stay here every time we visit South Africa, Kima and Heather are congenial hosts who spare no effort to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Given the excellent hospitality and the stunning setting there is no better place for us to stay in Paarl.

As other reviewers have mentioned the property has three dogs who are very friendly. We are not dog lovers but they do not bother us but beware if you do not love dogs.

The Goedemoed is a place to relax and read a book. The TV is still crt and there are 5 stations(?) so bring a good book or use the extensive library.

The ac and other infrastructure items work perfectly but be aware that the inn is a heritage site so is not a gleaming new hotel - it is a historic country inn with all the charm that implies.

Room Tip: We try to stay in Room 1 which is inside the inn with direct access to the deck with the view, I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank no_to_rain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I recently completed my fourth stay at Goedemoed in as many years. From the rose-lined entrance drive to the fantastic views over the mountains and vineyards to Kim and Heather's great hospitality, this place has it all. It feels like it is in the middle of the beautiful countryside, but is within walking (or short driving) distance from a nice mall and the restaurants of Paarl. The superb breakfast on the veranda is a great way to start the day. It is less than an hour from Cape Town and about a minute off of the N2. If I were to quibble, it would be about the TV--an upgrade to DSTV would help top things off.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John4101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paarl hotels
0.3 mi away
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge
3.7 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
Grande Roche Hotel
Grande Roche Hotel
#2 of 14 in Paarl
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Ridgeback House
Ridgeback House
#1 of 1 in Windmeul
50 reviews
2.0 mi away
Perle-du-Cap Private Suite Estate
1.8 mi away
Zomerlust Guesthouse
Zomerlust Guesthouse
#9 of 14 in Paarl
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goedemoed Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goedemoed Country Inn

Property: Goedemoed Country Inn
Address: 1 Cecilia Street, Paarl 7646, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paarl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Cape Dutch manor house offers you the very best in hospitality and location - a fantastic place to base your wine lands experience - come and enjoy our piece of paradise in beautiful Paarl ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Goedemoed Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Paarl
Paarl Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing