We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old wine farm, good wines”
Review of Backsberg

Backsberg
Ranked #15 of 63 things to do in Paarl
Attraction details
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The visit to Backsberg, long a favourite in this country, proved interesting. The venue itself is lovely and shady with huge old trees and vines sheltering the tasting room verandah. What was interesting was the fact that Backsberg has a number of ranges and the tastings between same cultivars from the original range and the kosher range proved challenging. In the tasting room, Danwin is wonderful and helpful and though there was quite a crowd standing around the tasting room counter, his jovial good mood and helpfulness did not falter.

1  Thank AntSomersetWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Owner at Backsberg, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Hi Ant, thanks for visiting us! I am glad you enjoyed the wines, and I will pass on your positive feedback to Danwin. Come again soon. Best, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wine estate"
in 5 reviews
"salads and vegetables"
in 2 reviews
"tasting room"
in 4 reviews
"al fresco"
in 2 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 13 reviews
"cape town"
in 4 reviews
"kosher"
in 6 reviews
"ambience"
in 4 reviews
"farms"
in 4 reviews
"spit"
in 3 reviews
"brandy"
in 4 reviews
"session"
in 2 reviews
"restaurant"
in 6 reviews
"range"
in 3 reviews
"reds"
in 2 reviews
"venue"
in 3 reviews
"franschhoek"
in 2 reviews
Filter

39 - 43 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

Our visit to this wine farm was the highlight of our trip to Cape Town. From the beautiful scenery, to the divine wines and friendly staff - we thoroughly enjoyed our visit here. We had a wonderful wine tasting session with John who was so helpful. Danwin from the wine tasting room is a star. He even gave us advice on which wine would compliment a certain meal. We learnt so much from him and of course we brought back a whole lot of really good wine from there. The service at the restaurant was excellent and the food was so wholesome ans delicious. It was truly our best afternoon in Cape Town.
We will definitely be back!

Thank NC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Owner at Backsberg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Hi NC07,

Thank you for the awesome feedback! I am thrilled you had such a great time at the tasting room and the restaurant. I will pass on your review to John and Danwin, and the restaurant team. We look forward to seeing you back at the farm soon.

Cheers, Simon Back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We were great fans of the Backsberg Sunday lunch for many years, but had not been there for several years. We thought it would be nice to bring some guests there for some 'down to earth' food between Christmas and New Year. We were very disappointed. What used to be an intimate, personal garden party with the owners as regular diners is now an industrial scale operation aiming to churn the clients through. Our hearts dropped a bit when we saw a coach parked outside as we arrived and we weren't wrong. We had to find our own table by interpreting the unattended bookings list, before waiting 20 minutes to get the attention of any of the few waiters. Our server proved to be pleasant if overworked. The lamb was OK, if somewhat cold, and the salads and vegetables offered were quite good. We had to search out our waiter to be given our bill, before leaving, all resolved not to come back for a very long time. There are so many superior offerings in the Winelands area, there is no need to come here.

1  Thank dsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Owner at Backsberg, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Hi Dsor,

Thank you for taking the time to write feedback, much appreciated. I am sorry to hear about your experience at the restaurant. This is not the high standard we pride ourselves in, and for that I apologise.

To your point of the restaurant being busy, truthfully, the week between Christmas and New Year, is possibly our busiest week during the year. There is a high demand to come to the restaurant, and we try to manage that as best as possible.

Busy or not, we work hard to maintain that 'intimate, personal garden party' atmosphere.

Could you please send me a mail (simon @backsberg.co.za) with the date that you had lunch on the farm, so that I can sit down with the restaurant team, and we can investigate further.

I would like to extend an invite to you and your party to come back the restaurant, and give it a second try. I am confident that we can deliver that unique experience.

Best,

Simon Back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Book early for a fabulous Sunday Lunch with live music in the grounds of Backsberg. Excellent wines and a help ourself lamb roast. Pure bliss!

Thank Scroobydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Owner at Backsberg, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Thrilled you enjoyed the lamb on the spit, and the wines! Come back soon.

Cheers, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I live in Cape Town (near Simons Town) and travelled the 80km across the wine lands for one reason. Simply put I went to treat my Mom on her birthday to their delicious Sunday lunch buffet.

This being the middle of winter, damp underfoot and the outside air temperature below 10degC all dining was indoors. The Restaurant has an open fire that warmed the interior and with the musician playing made for a very enjoyable ambiance.

The three courses on offer offered excellent value. The Mushroom and vegetable soup was thick and chunky. The Roast Lamb (done on a spit) juicy and delicious and all the traditional South African Sunday Lunch veg on offer. (Glazed sweet potatoes & pumpkin, cauliflower & broccoli in white sauce, roast potatoes), rice and a large selection of cold salad dishes including beans, peas (in the pod), bell peppers, tomatoes and olives. Desert offered two warm alternatives, served with custard.

I really appreciated the wine list that offers Joe public a good range of affordable (many under R100) reds and whites. (So tired of being asked R150+ for plonk in Cape Town).

Our waiter was attentive, and the service excellent. Everything a boerseun could hope for on a Sunday. Will be back in the summer to try it al fresco.

1  Thank CapeTownProgrammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Owner at Backsberg, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Happy Birthday to your Mom! Thrilled you guys had a great time at the restaurant. Please stay in touch and we look forward to seeing you when the weather gets a bit warmer.

Best,

Simon Back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Backsberg also viewed

 

Been to Backsberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing