We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence
Babenhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
114 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

right next to the highly overpriced Grand Roche, this small and cozy B&B is our first choice for the second time in Paarl.
This time we got a downstairs garden room, very spacious and well equipped.
The pool has one of the best views over Paarl Valley, and the garden is relaxing.
Breakfast was great, all you need for a good start.
Pierre showed us their rental appartement, so we think about coming back, next time longer in Paarl.

Dirk & Marion

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ducky0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    23
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
47
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
342 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

We recently spent a night at De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge. Friends of ours stayed there years ago and loved it. It was raining on arrival, and the hosts gave us the choice of a room right inside the front door, or a room with an outside entrance a bit further. Kind to offer. The room was clean and well appointed. I was especially grateful for an electric outlet, with hairdryer, and mirror all in the same spot. That's a rarity in South Africa for some reason. Breakfast the next morning was delicious - a good assortment of cold items, and a cooked breakfast to order. Secure parking behind an electric gate. Stunning views.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank africanaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

What a pleasure to be quiet near the pool and contemplate the valley. Nice room with private entry and attentive owner.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IngridNelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

This proved one of the more expensive places we stayed on a recent 2-week trip to the winelands, but it enjoys a lovely location and good amenities. For those who care, there's a small pool with patio and deckchairs. The breakfasts are taken poolside but each room can have its own table, therefore a certain degree of privacy is preserved. It's a short walk to either the very luxe Grand Roche vineyard/restaurant, or some nice places on the Main Street. Paarl is overlooked by many tourists and therefore has a charm Franschhoek can't aspire to -- worth the detour. As this place is so close to the airport and also at the top end for B&Bs, I'd recommend it as an -end-of-holiday splurge.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ontheroad164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puurs-Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

We have stayed already 6 times at De Wingerd. The location is unique with the view on the Paarlberg, the mountains, the vineyards and their neighbours, the hotel 'Grande Roche'. Within walking distance of the restaurants in the Main street. Safe place to stay. Extremely clean. Swimming pool, nice garden. All amenities are available in the room. We are always happy to return to the Wingerd, the owners make us feel at home. This makes that a lot of guests return or send family or friends to stay at De Wingerd.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
140 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2008

Stayed at De Wingerd for one night. Room and surroundings beautiful and hired help who met us was delightful. However, the owners chose to ignore us when we were sitting by the pool on the afternoon of our arrival and also ignored us at breakfast the following morning.

We were woken at 4am by seven other Belgian guests leaving for the airport!!

  • Liked — Stunning views and pool
  • Disliked — Owners
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2008

The place was spotless and very comfortable. The recommendation to eat supper at the La Borie was a revelation and one of our special memories of South Africa. First class food and at half the price of UK. The guesthouse was extremely comfortable and you felt very much at home and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. Nothing special about Paarl except a good stopover for visiting the winelands

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Starchy atmosphere
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gibson1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paarl hotels
3.7 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
5.6 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande Roche Hotel
Grande Roche Hotel
#2 of 14 in Paarl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Ridgeback House
Ridgeback House
#1 of 1 in Windmeul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.7 mi away
Perle-du-Cap Private Suite Estate
1.6 mi away
Zomerlust Guesthouse
Zomerlust Guesthouse
#9 of 14 in Paarl
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge

Property: De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge
Address: 7 Waltham Cross Street, Paarl, 7646, Paarl 7646, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing