We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cascade Manor
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
145
42
13
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
42
13
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful waterfallolive treesindoor poolspa treatmentsthe ownerdirt trackan olive oil tastingmountain bikeswell trained stafffirst floorcourse set menudietary requirementsluxurious staynature reservedelicious dinnerheaven on earthweek trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Yesterday decided to have some lunch in Cascade.
So we went to there:
1. Turn to Cascade - a damaged gravel road (do not try to reach that place by Porsche or by a small family car); "ok", we thought it can happen;
2. At the entrance of so called TOP class manor - the fence was collapsed. Really! Our second thought was "ui, what is this?", again, "ok, maybe..." and drove into the manor parking.
3. We stepped out of our car, luckily it was a jeep :-) The windows and doors of that building were far in rotting process, the small welcome area was like abandoned - dirty, not presentable at all for the customers. I felt as we are not welcome there.

We had decided to have our lunch in another place and we left. I did not trust their kitchen if the outside of a building is in that condition.

I really do not understand what can people go to search there? And wedding - NO WAY, NEVER!
The only thing they have in Cascade is a view - but there are so many fantastic views in SA in places what are maintained and clean.
I am so pity I have not taken pictures as an evidence, sorry.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Mada1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We took exclusive use of Cascade Manor for one night in September, and it was perfect. The food was exquisite - we can highly recommend the oven roasted quail as a main course! Service was exemplary, and nothing was too much trouble, even with last minute changes to room allocations.

Everything was arranged via email with only one meeting beforehand as we live in the UK, but no detail was missed.

Thank you to Volker, Maike, Barry and the rest of the team, especially Barry who chauffeured us around in the golf-buggy to get to the waterfall for photos.

We'll be back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagsCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I recently took a pleasant drive north of the city with my husband, just past Paarl to this hidden gem on the foot of the Drakenstein Mountains which is home to 900 olive trees, on a 24 hector plot with the natural waterfall which is part of the land. The manor has a beautiful entrance and reception with very friendly and welcoming staff and hosts. The hotel is full of heritage and history and was once the home of The Duke of Bedford in 1959; I loved the interior designs in the public areas, with a type of Colonial style to the guest house.

It is a fabulous getaway for a night or two with facilities that include a spa, warm and cold swimming pool, there are walking trails and you may go mountain biking as well as an opportunity for Olive Oil tasting that Folke, the owner provides himself.

It was an amazing stay and felt relaxed and thoroughly enjoyed the views and learning about the history of the farm as well being educated on the olives and olive oil.
They make their own extra virgin olive oil every year, which they sell only from the farm. The Cascade Manor is also child friendly, but please note that if you would like to go to the spa, try and book in advance as the spa was fully booked for the weekend when we were there. With 10 Classic Rooms (standard), 3 deluxe rooms, 1 family room and 1 suite there is a great variety of accommodation for all.

- Maria Steyn (Jenman Safaris, Tour Coordinator & Team Leader)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenmanSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

It is recommended to all the honeymooners you will enjoy the privacy and the calm nature go and you will be more than happy, the waterfall is amazing the restaurant breakfast their mineral water is awesome they have a smile in their face every employ there

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yasmina_a678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

What a gorgeous bed & breakfast! We were arranged to stay here by a couple who had their wedding at a nearby winery. What beautiful grounds! Waterfall was incredible, pool looked pristine, Olive grounds were awesome, food was great! It surpassed my expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews