We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Cascade Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cascade Manor
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing time with three other couples. Food was good, hotel was clean. Bed a bit uncomfortable on one side . Room 31. Wonderful views. Pleasant staff. Fantastic massages all round. Great indoor warm pool and amazing outdoor pool. Neat gardens. Weather not good at all. Another deal and we all back. Let us know when . Thank you

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    37
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
104
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bari, Puglia, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Cascade Manor is beautiful and very relaxing. Our stay was very short unfortunately. Only one night passing through on our way to Cape Town so we could recharge after our flight and see the Winelands. The Manor itself is beautiful and the staff were so friendly and gae us a perfect 1st night in South Africa. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was huge and very luxurious! The bath was enormour- more like a plunge pool! We enjoyed relaxing in the pool on our 1st afternoon, had a pleasant meal and a nice breakfast to send us on our way. The staff were extremely kind and friendly and we bought a lovely bottle of olive oil produced there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatrionaMacPas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capetown
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Arrived at the Cascade Country manor on 31 October after I had to negotiate my way through the mud road with a low profile sports car. Also see review by Mada 1234 reference his visit on 23 October.

No apology was made for the condition of the road.
We were taken to a room which turn out to be a classic room whilst the voucher was for a delux room, it also seems like the lady at reception was "told" to tell us it was one of their delux rooms. This kind of misleading information put me in a negative mood from the start.

We questioned the fact that the room had an ordinary bath whilst the voucher mentioned a spa bath, the owner maintained that in her opinion it was a spa bath, I send her a definition of what a spa bath is, I had no reply.

They also mentioned a large screen TV with remote control, why mentioning a remote control is beyond me, anyway the remote control's batteries were running flat or the control was worn out, also mentioned numerous channels, at best it has 5 channels with poor reception.
Swimming pool water was cold on the day of arrival, we ask why and an explanation was given and saying that it will be up to temperature the next morning, another untruth.
Bar fridge "fully stocked" only had soft drinks and beer.
We dined at the restaurant but I won't go out of my way to eat there again, at least the waitress which had to serve 6 tables alone was good at her job.
The breakfast was reasonable but not coming close to what we had at "Head over Hills" in Knysna
Back home I had to spend R140.00 to get the undercourage of my car cleaned.

After spending time at Sante Hotel and Spa (Paarl) Wilderness Dunes (Wilderness) The views hotel,
spa and restaurant (Wildernes) Head over hills (Knysna) and Thali Thali (Langebaan) we though we were saving the best for last (The description of what was on offer reads like a dream) it was very disappointing. We really enyoyed our stays at the other venues mentioned. Individual reviews will follow.


The Cascade Country Manor is situated in a lovely area with nice gardens and waterfall closeby, pitty that it was to be spoiled by misleading promotion. I wrote to Daddy's deals but had no reply.

I have asked the cleaning staff in the morning we were checking out to have a look at the delux room they were cleaning, would have been happy if we had a delux room.

A bit difficult to rate the location as the area it very nice but the raod travel to get there is terrible.
Also to fully rate the rooms as average isn't fair as the deluge rooms are excellent but I am rating my experience

Room Tip: Delux Rooms and try to get room 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascade_Manor, Owner at Cascade Manor, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Reader,

We apologise for the state of the road; however we have paid attention to this and have had an excellent response from a construction company that has done work on our section of the road and the surface is now even. We assure you that you it is possible to drive on this road with any car. The municipality has also advised that they are addressing their section of road.

Any other complaints that were mentioned in this post should be taken up with the company that offered the deal. The terms and conditions on the voucher clearly state the rooms which are applicable to such deals.

We reassure you, as the reader, that we are committed to offering each of our guests an excellent stay at our hotel.

Cascade Country Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We booked two nights at Cascade Manor well in advance to co-incide with my wife's birthday. And this was an excellent choice! The experience from arrival to departure was fantastic. We were shown to our extremely well-appointed room in real mint condition. We could not fault anything - and the detail was immense. The view towards the mountain and waterfall from the room is really spectacular. We requested a table for dinner in the enclosed verandah next to the fireplace. It was, as expected, no problem. Dinner was top class. It was a set menu and we only opted for the starter and main course. Breakfast on the verandah the next morning was another fantastic experience. The well-kept garden, swimming pool and the spectacular mountains surrounded the building whilst we indulged in the tasty cold buffet and warm breakfast. We took a trip around the Paarl area and were a bit disappointed in some of the surrounding eating establishments. Nederburg (The Red Table) ignored us, while the waiters were rushing around. Eventually they told us that they are still expecting 2 bus groups and cannot accommodate us. The same happened at Val de Vie, and the wine and food pairing at Avondale would only commence on the 1st of November. We did not want to have lunch in town, so we opted for our own Cascade Manor, and what an excellent choice (again). We went for treatment in the Spa, and both of us had a relaxing full body massage. It was also the final of the local rugby championship derby, and a big screen was set up for the two of us. The rest of the guests were from abroad, and had no interest in rugby. After that, we enjoyed another fantastic dinner with good service and wine. The next morning, after another good breakfast, we took a leisurely stroll to the waterfall. What a wonderfull sight!
Checking out was painless, and we left with an extremely good feeling about Cascade Manor. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeinOos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Yesterday decided to have some lunch in Cascade.
So we went to there:
1. Turn to Cascade - a damaged gravel road (do not try to reach that place by Porsche or by a small family car); "ok", we thought it can happen;
2. At the entrance of so called TOP class manor - the fence was collapsed. Really! Our second thought was "ui, what is this?", again, "ok, maybe..." and drove into the manor parking.
3. We stepped out of our car, luckily it was a jeep :-) The windows and doors of that building were far in rotting process, the small welcome area was like abandoned - dirty, not presentable at all for the customers. I felt as we are not welcome there.

We had decided to have our lunch in another place and we left. I did not trust their kitchen if the outside of a building is in that condition.

I really do not understand what can people go to search there? And wedding - NO WAY, NEVER!
The only thing they have in Cascade is a view - but there are so many fantastic views in SA in places what are maintained and clean.
I am so pity I have not taken pictures as an evidence, sorry.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Mada1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We took exclusive use of Cascade Manor for one night in September, and it was perfect. The food was exquisite - we can highly recommend the oven roasted quail as a main course! Service was exemplary, and nothing was too much trouble, even with last minute changes to room allocations.

Everything was arranged via email with only one meeting beforehand as we live in the UK, but no detail was missed.

Thank you to Volker, Maike, Barry and the rest of the team, especially Barry who chauffeured us around in the golf-buggy to get to the waterfall for photos.

We'll be back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagsCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I recently took a pleasant drive north of the city with my husband, just past Paarl to this hidden gem on the foot of the Drakenstein Mountains which is home to 900 olive trees, on a 24 hector plot with the natural waterfall which is part of the land. The manor has a beautiful entrance and reception with very friendly and welcoming staff and hosts. The hotel is full of heritage and history and was once the home of The Duke of Bedford in 1959; I loved the interior designs in the public areas, with a type of Colonial style to the guest house.

It is a fabulous getaway for a night or two with facilities that include a spa, warm and cold swimming pool, there are walking trails and you may go mountain biking as well as an opportunity for Olive Oil tasting that Folke, the owner provides himself.

It was an amazing stay and felt relaxed and thoroughly enjoyed the views and learning about the history of the farm as well being educated on the olives and olive oil.
They make their own extra virgin olive oil every year, which they sell only from the farm. The Cascade Manor is also child friendly, but please note that if you would like to go to the spa, try and book in advance as the spa was fully booked for the weekend when we were there. With 10 Classic Rooms (standard), 3 deluxe rooms, 1 family room and 1 suite there is a great variety of accommodation for all.

- Maria Steyn (Jenman Safaris, Tour Coordinator & Team Leader)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenmanSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paarl
2.0 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
5.5 mi away
Grande Roche Hotel
Grande Roche Hotel
#2 of 14 in Paarl
487 reviews
5.3 mi away
Perle-du-Cap Private Suite Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Sante Hotel & Spa
Sante Hotel & Spa
#10 of 14 in Paarl
188 reviews
5.6 mi away
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge
23.7 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascade Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Manor

Property: Cascade Manor
Address: Waterval Road, Dal Josaphat | P O Box 2815, Paarl, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paarl
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paarl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cascade Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 luxuriously appointed rooms each leading onto a private balcony or patio. Cascade Country Manor Hotel and Spa is situated near Nederburg Wine Estate in the heart of the cape winelands. Light meals are served all day and set menus are freshly prepared for dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Cascade Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascade Manor Paarl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing