We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will never be back!”
Review of The Wigwam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Wigwam
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Casa Grande, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We will never be back!”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband had a golf tournament, so they offered a rate of $99.00. Lets just say by the end of our two night trip our bill was $459.00. So if you are planning on trying to do a family budget, this is not the resort for you. They charged $25.00 for us to have a fridge, however after having a fellow collegue and his wife (who were also staying at the Wigwam) stop by, they told us the bellman just gave them a key for a fridge that was already located in the room. We looked under our armoure and low and behold there was a fridge there. My husband inquired and was told those are just a "bar cooler fridge", which of course was all we needed to keep our drinks cold, but no further explanation would come. We took our three year old daughter and were very disappointed because our patio was covered in bird droppings, spider webs all under every piece of furniture and even around the tile room number. So needless to say she couldn't play around much. I am sure as in other post I read the manager will reply with why didn't you tell us at the time, to be honest after the fridge incident we were afraid our service would be horrible for the rest of our trip. The service of housekeeping, bellhops, and in room dining were great, Food was average at best but priced as if we should of gotten so much better quality of food. Also remember you are charged a resort fee for everyday you are there, part of this fee says it includes driving range however on Friday afternoon when we checked in my husband was going to call to go out on the range and the tablet by the phone stated that this was only available Sunday - Thursday, of course we were there Friday. So not one of the ammenities listed on the resort fee, did we even use. Also a good tip for families with little ones, we learned the hard way, they put out three canisters of nuts and two bottles of water and a very small cardboard sign that explains they are five dollars a piece, well because they had a foil top my three year old opened it by curiosity and of course another charge. They don't taste good enough to charge a dollar much less five and we left them there. I have stayed at both the Westin la Paloma in Tucson and the Orange Tree Golf restort in Scottsdale and by far the Wigwam was the worst, we will never go back and my husband is letting his company know that they will never book the Wigwam again for their yearly tournament. I have photos of all of this I took and will be downloading them on here so you will have a better idea of what I am explaining.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lhutton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
We are deeply disappointed that your stay was not what you had hoped for. With a combination of misunderstandings and lack of clarity in others, we can certainly appreciate the frustration you may have felt. We really do wish that you would have notified us of your concerns at the time of your stay as no one should worry that service would be negatively affected because they made mention to the staff. It is a privilege and a priority for us to help create an exceptional experience for all our guests and we couldn’t be more disappointed that we didn’t have that opportunity when it would have mattered most. Thank you for the kind acknowledgment of our staff and sharing your thoughts and we hope we have the chance to win you over in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    872
    282
    80
    30
    27
See reviews for
413
334
30
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2011

everything about this place is first class. the grounds are gorgeous. the fitness center, the pool and the tennis courts are outstanding. our room was immaculate, and every meal we had there was delicious and met all expectations. each member of the staff we encountered was courteous and friendly, but our favorite was the tennis pro, carlos. he did a great job of letting us know what was available -- from the fitness center to the bike rentals, the ping pong and the tennis courts. he went out of his way to make us feel welcome. we will definitely be back again next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
We're delighted to hear that you found everything about The Wigwam to be first class and that it met all your expectations. It is wonderful that you had the opportunity to enjoy many of the recreational activities available during your stay. Our tennis courts are state-of-the-art and our USPTA accredited pros are available to assist our guests with everything from general information to private lessons. Your praise of our staff is sincerely appreciated and will be passed along to them. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Creek, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My husband & I spent my birthday weekend at the Wigwam Resort at the end of August and we couldn't be happier. Our room was fantastic; the food & drinks were top-notch; and the staff was superior and willing to go the extra mile to make sure we were happy. We will definitely be back and will tell all of our friends to stay here. Whether you are celebrating a special occasion or just want to get away, the Wigwam has everything you need to have a memorable time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetkaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Happy Birthday! It is an honor that you and your husband chose to celebrate your birthday at The Wigwam. We always enjoy reading about our guest's experiences, their delight with our resort and the superior service they received from our staff. Thank you for taking the time to share your story and for the fantastic review and recommendation. We look forward to your next visit to The Wigwam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The Very Good (OVERALL PROPERTY AND STAFF):
The Wigwam is a beautiful property with lush/green grounds, large rooms, and gorgeous pools. I received wonderful service at check-in and check-out, both clerks where efficient and friendly. I also enjoyed a delicious and quick breakfast in the lounge, the server was prompt and the quality was top-notch.

The So-So (ROOM 605):
While the room was very spacious and adequately furnished, the carpet was stained (a permanent rust colored stain approximately one square foot near the desk area), tile in the bathroom is need of re-grouting (dingy), and the old “tube” television (not broke, just picture quality) is in need of replacement with a newer high definition television. The room was clean (despite the permanent carpet stain, the carpet needs replacement), had a very nice bed with quality linens, and a wonderful balcony with a view of the pool. What I found very strange was the very high-tech touch screen computer terminal on the desk for ordering room service, reviewing hotel amenities, etc while the television is dated back to the 1990’s. Why have this nifty device and not upgrade the televisions?

Room renovation priorities seem amiss, plus more "art" is needed in the room. The very large room had a total of three 10"X10" historical black and white prints. The walls where just "screaming" for something, a nice dessert landscape painting, mirror, etc.


The Bottom-Line:
For a $100.00/night the Wigwam is perfect. If I had paid $250.00/night I would have been very disappointed and would have ending up writing a seething review.

Room Tip: Just ask, the staff at the Wigwam is great and will do thier best to get you a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZFoodCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
We’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the resort and the attentive service you deserve. Earlier this year, The Wigwam unveiled a $7 million dollar renovation and upgrade throughout the resort, blending the historic characteristics with the luxury and modern amenities of today. With feedback received from our guests and locals, we were able to incorporate aspects of what they enjoyed most at the resort and what they would like changed. The results of those efforts and feedback have been so wonderful. It is regrettable that the accommodations were not up to your expectations. It would have been our pleasure to address your concerns during your stay to ensure a more enjoyable stay. Thank you for sharing your feedback and suggestions on the room decoration. We hope you will return for another visit to ‘Make Some History’ with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We have stayed here previously always great service attentive staff great activities

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxy18018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
It’s always nice to hear from our returning guests! Thank you for sharing your kind words about our staff and amenities with everyone here. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Wigwam and hope it’s soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Valet and bell staff provided Immediate greetings upon arrival. Front desk staff could not have been more professional and efficient. lobby rooms are finished with a real western motif. Casitas/rooms are spacious. quiet, and comfortable. Room service, tee time, and reservations ordered from in room touch screen monitor. Fitness center with nautilus equipment. For a nominal fee they have poolside cabanas that include bottled waters, fresh fruit and refuge. The poolside bar and attendants are extremely attentive. (A+ on the adult beverages) providing Great guest acknowledgent with such a positive presentation in guest relations. Dinning staff was exceptioal for each and every meal enjoyed. All attendants at pro shop and golf course very helpful and knnowledgeable. Just a real treat and hideaway! keep up the Great work!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wetsuitsdrymartinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
The Wigwam has had a $7 million renovation and we’re glad you noticed! Many of our returning guests have a long history with our resort so we wanted to maintain the character that they have grown to love while still up-dating and modernizing to provide the best of amenities to our guests. Thank you for your kind and thoughtful words for our staff, dining, and accommodations. We hope to continue to welcome you back again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed at the Wigwam for the weekend. As we live here in the valley, we like to take advantage of the summer resort specials. I was so pleasantly surprised with our stay. The rooms were spacious and lovely. Perfect for my two little ones to run and play. The bathrooms were large, with lots of counter space...I was able to keep our bags in the bathroom strategically out of reach of my kids! Perfect!

Many of the valley resorts offer "family" deals in the summer months, but when traveling to other "five star" resorts with 2 preschoolers, sometimes we can't help but feel like we are bothering other guests and staff....not here. Everyone was super friendly.

The Radio Disney Pirates and Princess weekend was a lot of fun for our kids, as was watching the Princess and the Frog in the pool and making s'mores. The grounds were so beautifully maintained...lovely flowers everywhere and green grass in 110 degree AZ summer is an impressive feat!

I had one of the most delicious breakfasts at Red's....the flatbread with pistachio cream cheese, smoked salmon, pancetta, pine nuts and a fried egg!!! Along side an impressively strong and spicy bloody mary...heaven!

The only negative that I can think of is the pool servers...the "water girls" were zipping around making sure everyone had full pitchers of ice water, but the food servers were slow as snails. I have worked in the food service industry for years, and if one of my employees walked that slowly while being THAT busy they wouldn't have a job! He could have sold/made $100's of dollars more if only a little pep in his step. it was beyond frustrating. Lastly, while we sat there and debated what to order for the kids, he sat silently. When I asked about portion sizes he mumbled something about kids eat free...oh, fantastic! Make sure you know this BEFORE you order.

Also...don't even consider that awful sushi restaurant across the street from the resort! It has a really cool, loungy feel....but godawful sushi! If you like that Krab stuff you might like it, bc just about every roll had it...and one roll came out with a huge mound of that stuff all shredded (confetti style) on top! GROSS!!!

Overall, the Wigwam is a true family vacation spot I the midst of all these resort specials!! I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Extend your Sunday checkout to 5pm for additional $25!! Totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovemy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
We try to provide a variety of activities so that the whole family can fully enjoy their time here at The Wigwam. It’s nice that our family friendly environment made your stay-cation more comfortable and we hope you’ll come back to check out all the other fun programs we have for the kids this summer. We will address your experience with our pool service staff and apologize for any inconveniences. We hope you’ll visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Litchfield Park
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wigwam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wigwam

Property: The Wigwam
Address: 300 E Wigwam Blvd, Litchfield Park, AZ 85340-4410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Litchfield Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wigwam 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beloved by generations, this Arizona landmark, Historic Hotel of America and AAA 4 Diamond property couples historic charm with a truly modern sense of adventure. Relax in the elegant comfort of 331 casitas and suites, but be sure to carve out time for our legendary golf, superb spa, four pools - including a new 25-foot tower with twisting water slides -distinctive cuisine and innovative, Arizona-inspired programming. The Wigwam is the ideal choice for both locals and guests who seek exceptional accommodations, amenities, activities and service that are enriched by the genuine flavors and real character of Arizona’s past and present. Rich with over 80 years of tradition, The Wigwam inspires locals and guests to “Make Some History” by creating memorable stories and cherished new traditions of their very own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Wigwam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wigwam Golf Resort And Spa
The Wigwam Golf Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Hotel
Wigwam Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Arizona/Litchfield Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing