We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rating based on "resort" status”
Review of The Wigwam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Wigwam
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Based on this being a resort, I have to rate it lower. The room I stayed in for 8 nights in Aug 2011 was out-dated and tired -- furniture, decor and carpet (old and needed replacing) Everyday I killed at least one roach -- after the house keepers had cleaned.
The front desk staff were not very helpful, unless you got loud with them -- which you shouldn't have to do in order to get basic information.
The phone in my room did not work till the last night of my stay, and no one seemed to care.
It was in excess of 110 degrees every day and there is not a fridge in the room for water (options to get water are the bar and room service or you can pay an excessive amount for a small bottle left in the room, which is room temp) if you go out an purchase to bring back to the room, there is no way to cool it off -- again front desk folks didn't seem to care about this either. Room service menu's are not available in all of the rooms -- however, you are told at check in about room service being available in all rooms.
The common areas of this historic resort are very nice...the main resturant is amazing -- great service and local/fresh/flavorful food! So, highly recommend eating in the main resturant, but staying here.
No good place on the 'resort' to get a full good breakfast.
The owners really need to invest some money to restore the rooms here and stop relying on bus tours to stay open.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TLA48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

It saddens us to learn that although you've shared an appreciation for our onsite restaurant and facilities, there were many aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. We were very surprised to learn about the issues you mentioned within your review. We do encourage guests to share any concerns with us at the time of the stay so that we may address them immediately. Just a quick note, refrigerators are available for a small fee per stay and we apologize if this was not communicated to you. Your input and feedback is welcomed and we appreciate the time taken to share your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,182 - 1,188 of 1,382 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2011

This resort is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are very spacious and the beds are very comfortable. The staff from the front desk to housekeeping are exceptional. Any problems were quickly attended to with a smile(minor issues). The grounds are lovely and well maintained. We were there for a national dog show and they made us feel very welcome and accommodated our needs including our dogs. The ballroom was perfect for our show and the other rooms accommodated our dinners, parties, etc. We utilized a rented golf cart to get around the grounds since it is so spacious. Highly recommend this resort for a large function.

Room Tip: The rooms are divided according to are such as golf course, pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabygoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

At The Wigwam we love all our guests including the fury four legged ones! It was our pleasure to attend to not only your needs, but also your dog's needs as well. We're thrilled that you had such a positive experience with us and we sincerely appreciate the high recommendation. We hope that you will find your way back to The Wigwam soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Apon our arrival I knew this resort was going to be a special retreat. Although, we were traveling cross country we were only at this location for one night. The ambiance was amazing from the moment we stepped into the lobby. From the outdoor fire heaters and fire pits to the beautiful pool and hot tub you couldn't feel anymore at home and relaxed. Also, there is plenty of open complimentary parking. My only bother was there wasn't many lighted signs guiding to rooms and other areas on property.
A special thanks to Luke front desk, who was very helpful and friendly! We hope to return again someday with more time to enjoy the resort to its fullest!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wrldtraveler365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

We too hope that you will be able to return again someday! It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guests and we enjoyed reading about your experience with us at The Wigwam. To learn that a guest felt relaxed and at home while staying with us is such a compliment. Thank you for your many kind thoughts and we hope that on your next retreat, we can welcome you back to The Wigwam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

First the many, many positives:

The grounds of the resort are immaculate, and beautiful. You truly feel like you've stepped back in time to an old-line Arizona resort. The staff, almost to a person, were incredibly friendly and helpful. Restaurant was really good, bar was fun. Main lodge has been recently redone so it combines old world charm with updated amenities.

Which brings us to the room. It looks to have been redone last in the eighties maybe? I know there's a push button phone by the toilet, if that tells you anything. The room was clean, bed was great, linens were mostly nice (a couple of the towels seemed also to date to the eighties.) So there's just a big decor issue here: you're paying $300 night you expect the room to be, well, a bit swanky rather than tired.

There were also functional issues, the shower head leaked so water pressure was poor. I mean I'm huddling under the shower-head trying to get wet in a $300 a night room? Come on! In the shower itself the caulking was coming out between some of the tiles, paint chipped on the door frame. Etc etc: very tired.

Some of the staff said they are redoing the rooms. This is literally all the place needs to be a sort of perfect oasis. But in the meantime unless you get a heck of a deal on the room rate I'd stay away. Come for dinner, schedule an event there (so long as no one has to spend the night) but until rooms are redone this isn't a good value. I feel bad saying it because the staff were all so great but...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zaraselby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

We would like to thank you for highlighting those aspects of your stay that you found to be so positive, such as our staff and our 440 lushly landscaped acres at The Wigwam. Exceptional guest service is the ultimate goal and top priority of our staff and your gracious praise of their efforts is greatly appreciated. We do however regret that your room accommodations were not up to your expectations and that you experienced some functional issues as well. It is encouraged that our guests share any concerns with us during their stay so that they may be addressed promptly to create a better overall experience. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We recently stayed at the Wigwam, booking 2 rooms for our family. We had a problem right from the start when they would not honor the price quoted by their reservation staff for a 2 room suite. We thought we were set, even given a confirmation number, but when the emailed confirmation arrived it was almost twice the quoted price. After several calls to the hotel, and speaking with the manager, they said "sorry we made a mistake" and would not come down at all on the price. We wanted to stay at the Wigwam since several more family members were coming to golf the next day, so we ended up booking 2 single rooms. The rooms were fine, but we were disappointed. I did think it was odd that the rooms don't have a mini-fridge, especially since it was so hot outside, it would have been nice to have cold water and a place to put left-overs. We ate breakfast at Red Allen's both morning - the food was good and plentiful. The grounds of the resort are beautiful and well kept. In general it was a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

We do understand how frustrating it can be when information is not conveyed correctly, and we hope that time with family on the links made your stay more enjoyable. Refrigerators are available, upon request, for a small fee per stay. Please let us know if there is anything we could have done to make your stay at The Wigwam more comfortable, and we look forward to having you stay with us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We booked a room for a single night for a "staycation" in Phoenix and to take advantage of Spa Week at the Red Door spa (and my birthday). When we arrived, a local merchant market was taking place in the parking lot, which was nice. Reception greeted us well and our room was ready at noon. That was great because we really just wanted to sit by the pool for hours and read.

When I booked, I asked for a quiet room with a patio/balcony and I liked the idea of a soaking tub based on the tub I got a Loew's in Tucson. They recommended the Adobe Terrace room, which was a slight upgrade from their traditional rooms. We got to the room and weren't quite sure what to make of it. The room was huge, but sparse - a lot of empty wasted space. It seemed like it needed a couch not a chair, but it was too square to accomodate one. It had a small wet bar sink, but for no real reason that I could see. The patio was a bit odd - pretty much straight open to the tennis courts, and the bathroom was freakish. The soaking tub was just a deep tub - not like the Loews that was big enough for two and luxurious. This looked like it would be in a hospital. And it was an oddly laid out bathroom - long and thin. And overall, it just looked a little shabby and smelled very musty. But it did fit my requirements - so that was that.

Then we got changed to go to the pool. My barefoot husband immediately noticed that there was water around the toilet on the bathroom floor, and the front entrance carpet was soaked. I called to the front desk and they sent an engineer immediately. The engineer blamed the wet carpet on when housekeeping washes off the cement outside the front entrance (which just seemed wrong to me - the room next door wasn't wet, and why would they make a habit of that if it results in a wet room?). Then he said the toilet just suffered from a loose valve. I asked if we should get another room and he said no, he'd get housekeeping to dry the floor. While we were getting set to go to the pool, he came back and said he talked to housekeeping and that the previous guests had spilt water in the entrance, and they'd bring a fan. Ok - then why did they give us this room if they new the carpet was wet? Whatever - it was pool time. Four hours later, we came back to the room and there was with a big fan running, a still wet carpet and a toilet that was running non-stop. And no note from management apologizing for the problems. I called the font desk and asked for a new room.

This time the person on the phone had a clue, and upgraded us to a much nicer suite room on the fairway. It was a night and day difference. This was resort living! There were still bits of oddness (a wet bar with no fridge, mini-bar or corkscrew?) but the view was great, it was clean, perfectly quiet and very livable. I'm glad the 2nd person on the phone understood that we would leave with a very bad impression if they didn't give us a nicer room after all that oddness.

Overall the resort was fine - not as nice as some we've been to and far more expensive than many, but it had charm. Wi-fi and parking were covered by the resort fee and the drinks by the pool were plesant. The main restaurant - Litchfield's - was closed though (it was a Sunday) and the 2nd restaurant (Red Allen's) couldn't acommodate our diet (vegan) so we had to eat off site. Odd little details though - the first room had two robes, the second one had only one, the first room had two backup rolls of toilet paper, this had none (and the role was 3/4 gone). But those are minor details. The pool was good too, btw, but the spa pool was much more relaxing and quiet - so book a treatment and spend the day there!

Room Tip: Get a suite - they are much nicer than the traditional rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Soniab13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I visit the resort for Computerword event, the facilities, the organization, and the service are excellent, but I like it is the place, it is as being in an oasis in the desert.

Room Tip: it would be a good idea to put some announcement for 10, where I need to leave to go to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose Antonio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Litchfield Park
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Goodyear
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Phoenix/Glendale
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Goodyear
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Glendale - Westgate
4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix/Avondale
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Goodyear-West Phoenix Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wigwam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wigwam

Address: 300 E Wigwam Blvd, Litchfield Park, AZ 85340-4410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Litchfield Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Price Range: £128 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wigwam 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beloved by generations, this Arizona landmark, Historic Hotel of America and AAA 4 Diamond property couples historic charm with a truly modern sense of adventure. Relax in the elegant comfort of 331 casitas and suites, but be sure to carve out time for our legendary golf, superb spa, four pools - including a new 25-foot tower with twisting water slides -distinctive cuisine and innovative, Arizona-inspired programming. The Wigwam is the ideal choice for both locals and guests who seek exceptional accommodations, amenities, activities and service that are enriched by the genuine flavors and real character of Arizona’s past and present. Rich with over 80 years of tradition, The Wigwam inspires locals and guests to “Make Some History” by creating memorable stories and cherished new traditions of their very own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Wigwam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wigwam Golf Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Golf Resort And Spa
The Wigwam Hotel
Wigwam Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Arizona/Litchfield Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing