We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corporate Trip, very happy with experience.”
Review of The Wigwam

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Wigwam
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Corporate Trip, very happy with experience.”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I was booked through my company for a corporate meeting. Upon arrival we checked in and were taken by staff with our bags to our assigned rooms. The grounds are meticulously maintained and quite beautiful. The night time lighting and sunrise and sunset ambiance is second to none. I would stay again if I am ever in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions of The Wigwam with us. Our property encompasses 8,000 rose bushes, citrus tree-lined enclaves and lushly landscaped walkways; we’re delighted you enjoyed its beauty. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    288
    82
    31
    27
See reviews for
422
338
30
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, Ca.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Wow, talk about a let down. The hotel grounds and main buildings are beautiful! The rooms for the price NEED A LOT OF HELP. To the people who love this place, I say yes if you show up there with a car full of kids and you are stuffing everyone into a room, bungalow or suite and you don't care that the rooms were possibly re decorated 10 - 15 years ago because you can't wait to get in the pool or out to play golf, then GO FOR IT. However, if you feel that for between $200.00 and $300.00 dollars a night for a bungalow room on a fairway, you should be able to get a room that is nicely decorated, smells fresh, doesn't have mold, mildew and deteriorated bathroom walls, has some colorful wall hangings, maybe some up to date bathroom fixtures, then you better book a room somewhere else!
I read a lot of reviews about this place and can't believe how many people rave about it. I really must be nuts or blind! The front desk person was nonchalant and dull upon check in, which was on Valentine's Day evening, the Wig Wam charges you a $20.00 resort fee that really doesn't cover much of anything that another property wouldn't give you for free. Oh, I forgot, it does cover a FREE BOTTLE OF DRINKING WATER AT CHECK OUT however if you open one of the two bottles in your room, THAT IS A $5.00 FEE PER BOTTLE. I could go on about how let down we were but I'll just bite the bullet, eat the hefty room charge and added resort fee and get the Wig Wam back the old fashioned way, by telling my friends NOT to spend their money there and for us, not returning again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Words can’t express how disappointed we are that we could not meet your expectations in terms of your accommodations. We would like to clarify that the resort fee you mentioned includes a variety of amenities and services such as guest room internet, fitness center access, local and 800 calls, bottled water upon departure, in room Starbucks coffee, overnight self parking, daily newspaper upon request and unlimited golf with the purchase of a paid round at rack rate. Your feedback is welcomed and we appreciate the time you have taken to share it here with us. We hope that one day you will visit us again and we can provide an experience that exceeds your expectations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I live in the area but have never stayed there till the conference. Very nice establishment. Was there for a week and every day was good experience. I do plan on staying there again. The food there was excellent as well as the staff. Thanks for the good times.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
We are delighted that your stay with us for the conference was enjoyed so much by you. The Wigwam staff is committed to creating a memorable experience for each and every one of our guests and we are glad that we could provide you with a great experience. We hope that you can return soon either for business or for leisure. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tri-state
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Hi Wigwam! We have stayed at your resort for the last four years and really love it. Our family lives in Glendale and when we come to visit from NJ we split our time bw the family home and the Wigwam. This trip was just as wonderful as previous stays. Bitsy at the front desk was awesome, Essie at Concierge was terriffic. Your pool bar manager was incredible. Actually, I have to say that every single member of your staff is the reason we come back and stay again and again. They know your name when you come in the door, at the pool and restaurants. They really go above and beyond in a warm fashion. The Wigwam feels like a home away from home for us. Any problems we ever encounter were dealt w/ immediately and remedied to our standards and approval. Your resort is just beautiful. Thank you so much for helping us create such wonderful family vacation memories.

See you next time!

Love,

The Fernandes Family

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
It is always our pleasure to welcome you home to The Wigwam. We’re thrilled to learn that your most recent stay was just as wonderful as your previous visits. Thank you so much for your gracious praise for our team members; it means the world to us. We look forward to seeing you again and we hope it’s soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2013

This is the third year we have gone to Wigwam for a golf trip. Each year the trip has gotten better. The resort is a beautiful and historic property. The golf courses are very well kept and are friendly to golfers of all skill levels. The most impressive asset of Wigwam are the staff who serve you. Every staff member, from the reception, to ground keepers, to restaurant staff, etc. are extremely helpful and friendly. It is clear that they want the guests to have a very positive experience. They succeeded with us. This is the best resort at which we have stayed over ten years go golf trips to both Arizona and Florida.

Room Tip: All rooms are very clean and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
It was delightful to hear that you enjoyed the comfort, the service and the personal attention provided at The Wigwam. Our staff is committed to ensuring that our guests’ time at the hotel is memorable and we thrilled that we were able to succeed in our goals. Your gracious praise and compliments are all very much appreciated, thank you. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Went for an informal lunch with a friend and was impressed to find an oasis in the desert. A private resort tucked away out of sight with beautifully kept gardens. Food was excellent matched by the setting. Suitable for the whole family.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We’re elated that your dining experience was so wonderful. Your compliments for our resort grounds and cuisine are greatly appreciated. We hope that you will visit us again at The Wigwam.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I lived in Phoenix, AZ for two years, and in fact, really lived in Litchfield Park, pretty much right across the street from the Wigwam. I never stayed there while I lived there. However, I had to go back to the area for work and the Wigwam was running a pretty good special so I stayed here for about 7 days. Some days by myself, some days with my fiancé.

Since I lived here for two years and drove by all the time, I wanted the place to be great and wanted to love it, but I did not. The easiest way to say it is the place is not nearly as nice on the inside as it is on the outside. That is the guest rooms anyway. The grounds are of course outstanding, immaculate actually, and the pool area is recently upgraded and very nice, and the main building are historic and interesting.

However, I was very disappointed in the guest rooms. The only compliment I can give them is they are larger than a typical hotel room. Beyond that, they probably have not been updated since the 70s, maybe longer. Very, very dated. I would not rate it about a 3 star hotel and sadly even that is pushing it. Also, for the size of this resort, which also functions as a country club for the locals, the gym was abysmal. Not the worst I have seen but not even close to the best and for a resort of this size I expected better.

Location wise, I assume if you are staying here from out of town you are doing so to play gold and thus, you'll be fine. But if you want to do/see anything else, you are a ways off. The closest area is the Glendale Stadium area, which is about 15 minutes...any easy drive. Downtown is 30 minutes plus and if there is traffic than upwards of an hour. Scottsdale is probably an hour as well. There are a lot of great food options nearby. My fiance and I ate at the main, fancy restaurant once and it was good enough. Beyond the food offered by the Wigwam, there a couple options at the end of the street, and after that you are looking at chain food restaurants in the Goodyear area.

If you do stay hear, and are looking for food options, go to ground control, just up the street. It is mostly just bar food but pretty good bar food and they have gelato as well. But be prepared to wait though as they are in no hurry (it is a bar/coffee house).

I really am not happy to hate on the Wigwam but it honestly is a run down, old place that does not command or justify more than $100.00 a night. The grounds and pool area are outstanding but the rooms themselves are a huge disappointment. Sorry Wigwam, you need to spend some of the money on the inside too.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
It’s disappointing that although you’ve shared an appreciation for our resort’s grounds and pool, we were not able to fully impress you during your stay. We truly regret that your accommodations did not live up to your expectations but we are grateful for your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us, we hope that one day you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Litchfield Park
23.7 mi away
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
17.9 mi away
Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort
19.2 mi away
Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort
23.3 mi away
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#20 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,158 reviews
22.8 mi away
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about The Wigwam

Property: The Wigwam
Address: 300 E Wigwam Blvd, Litchfield Park, AZ 85340-4410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Litchfield Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wigwam 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beloved by generations, this Arizona landmark, Historic Hotel of America and AAA 4 Diamond property couples historic charm with a truly modern sense of adventure. Relax in the elegant comfort of 331 casitas and suites, but be sure to carve out time for our legendary golf, superb spa, four pools - including a new 25-foot tower with twisting water slides -distinctive cuisine and innovative, Arizona-inspired programming. The Wigwam is the ideal choice for both locals and guests who seek exceptional accommodations, amenities, activities and service that are enriched by the genuine flavors and real character of Arizona’s past and present. Rich with over 80 years of tradition, The Wigwam inspires locals and guests to “Make Some History” by creating memorable stories and cherished new traditions of their very own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Wigwam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wigwam Golf Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Golf Resort And Spa
The Wigwam Hotel
Wigwam Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Arizona/Litchfield Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing