We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ehhhhhhh”
Review of The Wigwam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wigwam
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Ok - in general it was fine. But I'm not sure I would bother going back.

What I liked: The bathrooms in the rooms were killer! Huge showers, huge soaking tub (my favorite part!) Interesting decor, liked the history of the place.

What I didn't like: Hard to find your rooms. I got lost every night I was there trying to find my room. If you have trouble walking, this isn't the place to stay. Yes, they have guys with golfcarts that can take you here and there...just hope they're available. They were renovating when I was there, so there was a lot of distractions/noise.

I don't know - I just wasn't overly impressed, but it was clean and a different experience so I wouldn't tell someone NOT to go, I just wouldn't feel the need to go again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATLBuckeyeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

It’s disappointing that although you’ve shared an appreciation for our hotel and our history, we were not able to fully impress you during your stay. We truly appreciate the feedback you have shared with us, thank you. One day we hope that we can welcome you back and exceed all your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

719 - 725 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

The usual Phoenix-Scottsdale axis is rather far from here, this is much more old-timey western in character and it is in the flatlands of Litchfield Park, west of Phoenix. Large Rooms, great water pressure in the showers and three fine golf courses is just the start. Lots of pools and such. Every single restaurant & bar was a treat with excellent food and beverage at a good value. We stayed about 4 days and we do get around a bit; can recommend to all golfers and it is a quaint & can be a romantic place. There is wonderful Western American Art & Sculptures everywhere. As with anywhere else, go at Max. Occupancy and on weekend and it will be just that, you can experience some of the problems that the * ratings describe. I read those as they generally are "punishing reviews" and I for one cannot conceive of giving 1/5 here. Also, I am told that sometimes they pair excellent deals with a certain airline .... so take a flyer that's a pretty safe choice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your stay at The Wigwam. It brings us a great pleasure to learn about your appreciation for our resort, decor, golf courses, and restaurants. We hope that the next time you are visiting the area you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

staff is the best I have ever seen. I have worked in the cruise industry and have traveled all over the world. The Wigwam is in my top three of places to stay..I feel very welcome at the Wigwam. The staff is outstanding

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divercan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

What a lovely review, thank you! It is a privilege to know that you found our associates to be so gracious. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we are honored to be among your top three choices for places to stay. Please come back and see us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Spent 6 days at the Wigwam resort golfing and eating. All the people at Wigwam were very nice and helpful. Golfed twice a day from Monday to Thurday and never had to wait. The food at the golf course and Litchfields restaurants was very good. The concierge was very helpful for getting our bording passes to come home. This is my second time to Wigwam and is still great place to stay and golf. You need to either come before or after October for golf as the courses are being reseeded and shut down all over the Phoenix area and at the Wigwam. Wigwam supposely keeps one course open during that time.We were blessed because the weather wasn't hotter than 94 during our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed right on the golf course. It was in our back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abeargolfnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

It was such a pleasure to welcome you back to The Wigwam and provide you with another great stay. We are so glad that during your six days with us you had the opportunity to enjoy our three championship golf courses in addition to a great experience dining at Litchfield’s. Thank you for sharing such a lovely review; we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed at the Wigwam for a weekend in early September 2013. It was so warm and unique that we returned the following weekend and upgraded to a suite. The breakfast food is quite good (egg white southwest omelette) and the grounds are meticulously maintained. The kids liked the main pool area since it featured 2 fairly large water slides with lifeguards on duty. Red's is the name of the bar adjacent to the golf course(s). The atmosphere is lively and the staff is knowledgeable and courteous. Oh yeah, there's also an awesome sushi and Mexican restaurant located right outside the gates of the Wigwam grounds on Old Litchfield Road. We are looking forward to the day that our travels lead us back to the Wigwam.

Room Tip: The luxury suites are well worth the modest price increase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

We cannot thank you enough for sharing such a lovely review. It is always our desire to provide guests with everything they need to enjoy their visit and create many fond memories of their time at The Wigwam. We’re delighted the entire family had a wonderful time and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I stayed here one night for a conference and the room I stayed in needed some serious updating. By far the worst hotel I have stayed in and would never return. Did not feel secure with the litle chain lock on the door to the outside. Window airconditioning unit was so loud it was difficult to sleep. Reminded me of the hotel/motel from the movie pyscho.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

It is truly disheartening to learn that your experience was far from what we expect for our guests. Feedback, positive or otherwise, gives us the ability to continually improve the experience for future guests and for that, we are grateful. Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I stayed for two nights recently for a business trip and was extremely pleased with the level of service, the cleanliness of the rooms, and the ample space in the room and resort.

The front desk was always staffed with a smiling, helpful host (I lost my sunglasses for about 20 minutes, asked for a cab, and also received a small antiseptic lotion to soothe a couple of horsefly bites I received).

The property was huge. I never once was disturbed by the sound of doors slamming, children screaming, or housekeeping knocking on doors. That being said, the distance from my room (literally next to the golf course) to the conference area clear across the resort was a little bit of a hike in 100F temperatures. To add to this, two of the three ice machines that I passed several times on my treks were out of commission, and at least one had algae growing in its filter. There is no mini fridge included with the room, so the fact that there was no ice either was bothersome.

The room was impressive, with a shower box, walk in closet, bar with sink, safe, flat screen LG tv and desk. The bed was extremely comfortable and the linens were luxurious. The room was clean, however I did discover a beetle and horsefly that must have made it in when housekeeping or myself entered or exited the room.

I purchased a meal to go from Red's bar and grill, and was pleased with the professionalism and promptness of the bartender on duty - I was in a hurry and he promised and delivered a meal and beverage so that I could return to my hotel room for a conference call.

My biggest complaint would be the shoddy WIFI; mostly everyone at the event I was attending (business travellers) would agree. The connection goes from full connectivity to none at all and back again, so doing anything more than sending a message or checking the weather will take a couple tries, to the point of frustration.

Unfortunately, I did not have a chance to utilize any of the four pools, the spa, tennis courts, bike rentals, golf course, or fitness equipment, but I sure wished I could have! Would absolutely recommend a business trip or relaxing vacation at this resort.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you very much for your review and recommendation for The Wigwam. Our commitment to our customer is our highest priority and we are happy you were able to experience a high level of service during your stay. Whether our guests are with us for business or for pleasure, it is always our desire to provide them with everything they need to create a memorable stay. We deeply regret any inconveniences that you may have experienced with our Internet services; your comments will be shared with our team as we are continuously looking for ways to improve our guest’s experience. We would like to let you know refrigerators for guest rooms are available upon request and hope that on your next visit you will let us know if you need anything. Please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Litchfield Park
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Goodyear
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Goodyear
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Phoenix/Glendale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix/Avondale
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Goodyear-West Phoenix Area
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Goodyear
Comfort Suites Goodyear
#2 of 9 in Goodyear
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wigwam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wigwam

Address: 300 E Wigwam Blvd, Litchfield Park, AZ 85340-4410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Litchfield Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Price Range: £114 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wigwam 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beloved by generations, this Arizona landmark, Historic Hotel of America and AAA 4 Diamond property couples historic charm with a truly modern sense of adventure. Relax in the elegant comfort of 331 casitas and suites, but be sure to carve out time for our legendary golf, superb spa, four pools - including a new 25-foot tower with twisting water slides -distinctive cuisine and innovative, Arizona-inspired programming. The Wigwam is the ideal choice for both locals and guests who seek exceptional accommodations, amenities, activities and service that are enriched by the genuine flavors and real character of Arizona’s past and present. Rich with over 80 years of tradition, The Wigwam inspires locals and guests to “Make Some History” by creating memorable stories and cherished new traditions of their very own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Wigwam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wigwam Golf Resort And Spa
The Wigwam Golf Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Hotel
Wigwam Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Arizona/Litchfield Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing