We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We are here for the Golf !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wigwam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Wigwam
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
vancouver
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We are here for the Golf !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

The Wigwam is a multi-purpose facility located in the West Valley of PHX. If you came here for the night life and action of the Scottsdale area ... reconsider your options. If however you are looking for a wonderful golf getaway for the family or with special friends... this is the right place. We are presently located at the property thru to Dec. 26th ....having played golf every day since our arrival on Dec. 14th. The gold course +7,000 yds. is playable... but greens are far from normal play and quite slow. Its cart path only on Gold course, so be prepared to hike a bit to play your ball. Our 3- some played the Gold in just under 3.5 hrs. and open play ahead and behind conditions prevailed all day. The Blue ( Patriot ) is totally playable with 90 degree cart to ball rules in effect. Greens are fully playable and course is in say... 95 % condition. Our 3-some played (Blue) each of 2 days in less than 3:15 hrs. Blue course sand traps are wet all day due to heavy irrigation overnight watering. The Heritage course ( red ) we played today and is in 100 % fully playable conditions with drive to your ball / normal course conditions prevailing. Greens on the Red course are really fast now and its best choice of the 3 available courses for visiting or out of town guests. Today's round was just over 4:15 hrs in duration. We have focused our on site meals to Reds located at the G. course. Meals at Reds are reasonable price and quality is good, as are the portions... very large ! Staff at Reds is very friendly and considerate. The hotel has been busy this past weekend with some kind of conference going on and a visit with Santa promotion. Now today the hotel is very quiet. Our internet ( wireless ) is fast and easily accessed. No problems whatsoever with the hotel hardware, heating and / or air conditioning. Yesterday, was 80 Degrees here and we used the A/C in the afternoon and the heater at night when the temp. dropped to 42 degrees. So in all respects no complaints about the facility, beds, bathrooms, grounds or staff. Its been 30 + years since my last visit to W/W. My family already talking about coming back again next year !!! This is a Great Family Golf Facility. Just a suggestion for incoming guests to have a back-up plan "B" ready for Xmas dinner. The hotel is quickly booking up for the sit-down dinner. The buffet Xmas dinner may still be available ... if you partake before 3:00 Pm Xmas Day.

Room Tip: We chose a quiet fairway view. Its quite peaceful....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZhongGuoTong53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed so many aspects of The Wigwam, from our three 18-hole golf courses and dining at Red’s Bar & Grill to your accommodations and the amenities we offer. The holidays are a wonderful time to visit the area and our resort as there are so many festive decorations about and everyone’s spirits are elevated. We’re thrilled you and your family are already talking about returning next year; it would be an honor to welcome you back. Thank you again for your comments and warm remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    276
    78
    30
    25
See reviews for
404
326
30
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Very peaceful when walking around and good proximity to the airport. My room was enormous but quite old. The gym had a lot in it. Beds were comfy, room service was great and the spa was divine. I'd definitely stay again for a conference, but wouldn't seek it out for vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabarooni4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
We are always happy to hear from our guests and truly appreciate that you chose to stay with us. Thank you for your honest feedback and letting us know how comfortable the bed in your room was. We are also glad that you had the opportunity to spend some time at the Red Door Spa while staying here. All of us at The Wigwam are looking forward to welcoming you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We checked on Dec 2, 2013 only to find the heat was not working and the unit was very cold. The front desk sent a maintenance person out at about 10:30 pm. He decided to try to get the heat working in lieu of simply moving us. He returned with a ladder and climbed onto the roof and started banging away at the rooftop mechanical unit, it must have irritated the neighboring units. The units we stayed in were single story rooms, almost looked like old military barracks. Well after about 20 minutes of banging away on the rooftop we requested to be moved to another unit. Trying to reach the new unit, the sprinkler system was running and blocking the access into the unit. We had to wait for it to turn off, but then the sidewalk had a large pool of water on it and our feet got soaked trying to get into the unit.
Units were large but very old, reminded us of old military barracks. Beds were average and internet was slow. The scenery was nice, but a long walk from the front desk or any shopping or restuarants.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Masonsvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
While we greatly appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with us, we truly regret the inconveniences you encountered. Please accept our sincerest apologies for not only the issue with the heat in your initial room but also for not providing you with the experience we wish for our guests. Thank you for your comments, we hope to welcome you back in the future and provide you with a stay that exceeds all your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Based on reviews, expected more. Was pleasantly surprised upgraded to a large suite -- however, issues with room & had to call maintenance before I even unpacked. Problem was fixed quickly & staff was apologetic - however, not great first impression with room. My room was functional -- in room safe, coffee maker, comfortable bed, although dated -- saw another room that seemed newer. Grounds were nice & most staff members were pleasant. Was at hotel for a conference & the conference facilities were fine. Food was mostly good with one very important exception -- even with pre-knowledge of a food allergy, hotel was unable/unwilling to accommodate & provide substitution to a preset dinner menu. (Hard to believe unable to leave one ingredient off a salad). The following night they attempted to accommodate, however, did not do so accurately. So, while definitely some positives, too many misses to rate more than average.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SF94597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
While we are so glad to know you enjoyed the comfort of your suite accommodations and our resort grounds, it is certainly disappointing to learn that your expectations were not met in every way. We are sincerely sorry that there were a few things amiss in your room upon arrival and for the difficulties you encountered with regard to the menu. Your comments will be shared with our management team as we are continuously looking for ways to improve the experience for future guests. We hope that one day we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge District Municipality, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at the Wigwam in November an loved it! The property is beautifully maintained and is incredibly beautiful. The pools are fabulous and the staff is helpful and friendly. It was apparently fully booked when we were there but it's so large it felt empty. This is a lovely hotel to come relax, enjoy the scenery and some Arizona sunshine!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
We’re glad your family enjoyed your stay at The Wigwam. Thank you for letting us know how much you liked our property, amenities and our staff. We truly loved having you here and we hope that you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Just spent 3 days over Thanksgiving at The Wigwam. Had been there probably five years before and was pleased by improvements. Very friendly, efficient and responsive staff - clear management focus on being customer friendly. Physical plant was quite good, especially given its age and fact that cash-flow somewhat constrained given reasonable rates. Fitness center was ample and with good equipment.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SF S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
It was simply delightful to have you stay with us during the Thanksgiving holiday. Our staff always desires to provide guests with an exceptional level of service to ensure the best experience possible is had by all. Thank you very much for you kind praise for our associates. We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to share your review, please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed at the Wigwam at the beginning of November. We had wonderful time golfing & relaxing by the pool. The room was rooming & comfortable. The staff was very gracious & helpful. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
November is a great time to visit The Wigwam and we are delighted you had such a wonderful stay with us. Our three 18-hole championship golf courses and four pools are just a couple ways to enjoy the gorgeous fall weather in Arizona. Thank you for your gracious praise for our staff and facility. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Litchfield Park
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#16 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wigwam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wigwam

Property: The Wigwam
Address: 300 Wigwam Boulevard, Litchfield Park, AZ 85340
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Litchfield Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wigwam 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beloved by generations, this Arizona landmark, Historic Hotel of America and AAA 4 Diamond property couples historic charm with a truly modern sense of adventure. Relax in the elegant comfort of 331 casitas and suites, but be sure to carve out time for our legendary golf, superb spa, four pools - including a new 25-foot tower with twisting water slides -distinctive cuisine and innovative, Arizona-inspired programming. The Wigwam is the ideal choice for both locals and guests who seek exceptional accommodations, amenities, activities and service that are enriched by the genuine flavors and real character of Arizona’s past and present. Rich with over 80 years of tradition, The Wigwam inspires locals and guests to “Make Some History” by creating memorable stories and cherished new traditions of their very own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wigwam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wigwam Golf Resort And Spa
The Wigwam Golf Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Hotel
Wigwam Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Arizona/Litchfield Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing