We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK this time”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wigwam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Wigwam
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
703 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Just OK this time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this resort before and loved our casita and the grounds. This time things seemed a bit worn, and attention to detail was lacking. We had a room with a door that didn't want to close, and had to be slammed to get the lock to engage. Also the room, not a casita this time, but a row, had an adjoining door that you could hear right through- and we heard our neighbor's TV all night. The design of these rooms also had a balcony for the second story on top of our room, so you could hear people moving around up there. On the golf course the GPS systems were not working. We could not check out via the TV, as that was not working, so had to drive over to the office. The grounds are still stunning, the staff are all very helpful, and food at Litchfield's, The Wigwam Bar, and Red's was great. The outdoor spaces with the pools and firepits are very nice. I might return in a few years because of the setting, but would probably try another resort next year. I would request a casita or get a room along the fairway.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Your feedback is welcomed, however it is disappointing that your accommodations during your most recent stay did not measure up to your prior experience. We value your feedback and wish that we were made aware of your concerns while you were here so that we could do whatever we could to make your stay exceptional. We’re thankful that you shared your appreciation for our facilities and the friendliness of our staff and hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon for a stay that exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    276
    78
    30
    25
See reviews for
404
326
30
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I recently tagged along with my husband while he attended a conference held at this resort. Our room was large, restful, and just what I needed at the end of this 2014 winter! The room had a comfortable king-sized bed, a sofa and a desk, with plenty of room. Plus the ceiling are high, helping the feeling of lots of space. The a/c unit cooled the room quickly when needed, but mostly I had the french door open and the curtains fluttering in the breeze. The bathroom is large, with a tub and a nice separate shower, and two sinks with loads of counter space. The furniture could use a little updating, but the television was a nice sized flat screen. The french door opens to a patio with a lounger and a table and two chairs. Lots of privacy.

The on-property gift shop is run by Ruth, who is an absolute delight to have a conversation with. She will encourage you to swim and get a tan. :)

Room Tip: We were in room 668, which is on the bottom floor and end of a unit. The patio looked on to the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suitcasereadied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
As always, it is a true pleasure to hear from our guests and learn about their experience at The Wigwam. We are delighted that you had an opportunity to accompany you husband to our resort during his conference and that you enjoyed the comfort and spaciousness of your room. We hope that you both will return in the future as it would be our privilege to welcome you back. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belton, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived until we left, our stay was marvelous! The bell men were right there to greet you and handle your luggage while you checked in and then delivered you and your luggage directly to your door. Complimentary fresh oranges picked from their trees on site were very sweet and delicious.

The room we stayed in near the Oasis pool was extremely roomy. King sized bed, couch and comfy chair for sitting, huge bathroom with separate tub and shower, twin sinks with mirror covering the entire wall so both people can dress at the same time and never bump into each other and the list just keeps going.

We ate breakfast at both The Wigwam and Red's Bar and Grill by the golf course, always eating on the patio as the weather was absolutely fantastic! Red's was our preferred choice as they had a buffet which offered everything on the menu. Pancakes, French toast, fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes with onions and bell peppers, biscuits and gravy and a chef to prepare an omelet with any ingredients your heart desired! Fresh squeezed orange juice tasted just like the oranges in the lobby!

The grounds at The Wigwam were perfectly manicured and the flowers, roses, cactus, shrubs, rose bushes, and trees were absolutely gorgeous. My husband and I loved strolling through the grounds admiring all the beautiful colored flowers and flowering shrubs lining the walkways and driveways.

All of the staff, and I stress ALL, was so friendly and always polite and extremely attentive to your needs. They truly made sure all their guests were taken care of in every way possible.

The resort is very large and golf carts are available to ride if you are unable to walk the distances.

Two weddings were held there during our stay, but the only way we knew something large was going on was the extra cars we saw parked. It never interfered with our stay or interrupted us getting around the resort.

We will definitely return to this resort in the future!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjfivefour26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
We’re so happy to hear that you and your husband experienced a fantastic stay at The Wigwam. It is always our desire to provide our guests with exceptional service and to care for them in every way possible. Thank you so much for sharing such gracious praise for our staff. It means a lot to us to find out that during your visit you enjoyed the level of service you received, the comfort of your room, the beauty of our resort grounds and also dining on the patio. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Decided to book a spring break trip late in the game (finally had enough of this horrible MN winter!). The Wigwam worked with our plans...& we are so thankful it did!! What a wonderful stay!

The room was older, but remodeled (we requested an updated room). It was clean, spacious (the bathroom was HUGE & we had a walk in closet!) & comfy. We had 1 minor housekeeping issue, which was promptly addressed by both the housekeeper & the supervisor.

The restaurants on site are good, but limited. And, while we received exceptional service at the front desk, concierge (before & during our stay) & bell station, the outdoor restaurant service wasn't great (we ate outside 5 times...& 4 of those times, I had to get menus & servers to help us myself). There are a few restaurants within walking distance & I arranged for grocery delivery before we arrived (with the help of the concierge), so even though we didn't have a car, we weren't lacking for food.

My husband & sons golfed & had a fantastic time. I enjoyed the spa...also fantastic. The pools were a perfect mix of fun for the kids, relaxation for the adults. And while I believe the resort was booked (or nearly so), it did not feel crowded.

The resort is beautiful & everything is impeccably maintained. Could a few things have been better...sure. However was our visit more than I expected...absolutely! If given the opportunity, we would stay at Wigwam again & would not hesitate to recommend to our family & friends!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
We are thrilled that your spring break visit to The Wigwam exceeded your expectations. Thank you so much for sharing your generous praise for our resort grounds, recreation options, and the exceptional service you received from most of our associates. We do however wish to offer our apologies if at any time we fell short of goal of providing the highest level of service to our guests and hope that any impact on your overall stay was minimal. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband's company held a conference at the facilities at this hotel, and I was lucky enough to tag along. The Wigwam is part of the National Historic Register of Hotels, and it is nothing short of adorable. Nothing on property is over two stories, and most buildings are just one. Rooms are grouped together in little "cascitas". Our suite was right on the golf course, so we had lovely, peaceful views, which included a very large wigwam in the middle of the golf course! The rooms were lovely and spacious. The staff was excellent and did everything they could to welcome you and make your stay pleasant. We went to the driving range late one afternoon, and because we were there late in the day we just given a golf cart and told to go have fun. . .no charge. The dinner in the dining room (part of the conference) was excellent. While dining alone outside, the waitress was so attentive she made my evening very pleasant. Many outdoor tables have firepits set into the tables, to help with any chill in the evening. The hotel is excellent for children, also, and situated quite close to major highways to get you anywhere you want to go in the Greater Phoenix area. . .OR Sedona. . .which I highly recommend also!

Room Tip: Rooms on the golf course are very quiet. For children, look for a room closer to the large pool are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tagalong88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
What a lovely review, thank you. It is always our desire at The Wigwam to provide exceptional service, great accommodations and a variety of amenities to make our guests stay great whether they are here with us for business or for leisure. Thank you so much for your many compliments, it brings us tremendous joy to learn that you had such a wonderful visit. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New ROchelle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Hotel grounds and facilities are fantastic and absolute 5* rating, room product is slightly dated/tired (I would have offered 4 1/2 if that was an option, but was nice enough overall to give the 5* rating overall), but very nice nonetheless. Very spacious rooms in the adobe style buildings, lots of variety in room product (we had two room, and a suite in a different building). Lots of pools, main pool was really nice, kept quite clean, staff all around is quite good and well trained. Conference facilities are good, well laid out, and well managed. Overall, highly recommend this property for either a business retreat or personal vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
We cannot thank you enough for your high recommendation and wonderful review of The Wigwam. It brings us great joy to learn how much you enjoyed the spaciousness of our rooms, our many amenities and the level of service you received while staying with us. It is always our desire to provide an outstanding experience for all our guests. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
160 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Wonderful Hotel - Very large rooms. We picked this place off of Travelocity, so felt like we were taking a chance. So great. Large Rooms,with a 60's feel, but very updated Rooms, Pool and Restaurants. Ate on property every night and absolutely loved it. Pool Bar was great, and waterslides for the kids provided an added level of enjoyment.

Room Tip: Try and stay close to the pool if you have an option
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellerWags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for choosing The Wigwam! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the many amenities we offer. Our resort has four pools on our property including the Lodge children's pool which features the 25-foot tower with a twisting water slide you mentioned in your review. It was such a pleasure to have you here with us. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Litchfield Park
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#16 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wigwam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wigwam

Property: The Wigwam
Address: 300 Wigwam Boulevard, Litchfield Park, AZ 85340
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Litchfield Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wigwam 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beloved by generations, this Arizona landmark, Historic Hotel of America and AAA 4 Diamond property couples historic charm with a truly modern sense of adventure. Relax in the elegant comfort of 331 casitas and suites, but be sure to carve out time for our legendary golf, superb spa, four pools - including a new 25-foot tower with twisting water slides -distinctive cuisine and innovative, Arizona-inspired programming. The Wigwam is the ideal choice for both locals and guests who seek exceptional accommodations, amenities, activities and service that are enriched by the genuine flavors and real character of Arizona’s past and present. Rich with over 80 years of tradition, The Wigwam inspires locals and guests to “Make Some History” by creating memorable stories and cherished new traditions of their very own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wigwam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wigwam Golf Resort And Spa
The Wigwam Golf Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Hotel
Wigwam Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Arizona/Litchfield Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing