We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, location, surroundings”
Review of The Wigwam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wigwam
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Every time I visit the Wigwam I'm transported to a resort of the 1950's and the Golden Age of travel. I feel the same as I walk the halls of the main building and look at the historic photos that line the walls. The rooms are outfitted well and the food and staff are fantastic!

If you are fine with a little drive outside all the hustle and bustle of downtown Phoenix the Wigwam is the place for you.

After the economic downturn of 2009 the new ownership group kept the property relevant by adding new pools and meeting space. It's really a great spot located just far enough away from downtown to make you feel like you're on a vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

The Wigwam has steadily grown over the last 80 years but it has been our goal to maintain its southwestern charm and preserve its history for all our guests to enjoy. We are so glad to welcome you back each time you return to our resort and we're thrilled by your appreciation for the look and feel of our property as well as for the friendliness of our staff. We hope that you will return soon as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 1,348 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Upon arrival the staff was right there at the car with a warm welcome, this was our second stay at the resort. Check in was smooth and the bellmen directed us via his cart to parking direct next to the room. We dined in the Litchfield restaurant the first evening and the food was great, I recommend the rib eye steak. Our room was comfortable and had a nice patio with seating. We dined for breakfast outside on a communal table and service was fast and efficient. We look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: we liked our location as it was close to lobby and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ed_conwayCornvilleAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

We love hearing from our return guests and would like to thank you for sharing such a lovely review. It was a such a pleasure to have you back here with us. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the level of service you received from our associates, your dining experience at Litchfield's, and the comfort of your room. Everyone is looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Thank goodness the new owners have saved the wigwam from demise . We wish you well with your upgrades . It is my fav home away from home . Just hope in your planning that u add an adult only pool . That would be nice for those who want a quiet rest by pool. It is such a beautiful oasis like no other that I have found in az it is a sweet and lovely place the walk paths and grounds are priceless

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Susanmichele54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

We are truly flattered by your lovely review . Thank you so much for sharing your valuable feedback and suggestions. It's an honor to be your home away from home and we hope to welcome you back soon to The Wigwam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

What a gorgeous hotel! Loved the grounds, all the flowers were out while we were here and were amazing, grounds really well looked after. We stayed in one of the Adobe rooms which were nice, not luxurious but comfortable, could have done with better lighting as quite dark, but no complaints. Pool area fantastic, our son had a whale of a time. Loved the outdoor games, boules, volleyball, table tennis etc. lobby and lounge areas gorgeous with roaring fires ( even though it was 100 degrees!) and saddle stools, old furniture and photos.
Food great, we ate breakfast in the bar, and dinner there and at Litchfields which was absolutely amazing,staff here great, and food gorgeous. Reds ok, great views but service a bit lacking compared to the others. All in all we are very sad to be leaving tomorrow! Thanks for a great stay, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bruisyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

It is just great to hear that the service, accommodations, and amenities you experienced at The Wigwam all met your expectations. We were so happy to read your review and learn how much you enjoyed your stay and the beauty of our resort grounds. Our property stretches over 440 lushly landscaped acres with approximately 8,000 rose bushes in an array of colors. Your many compliments for our staff and hotel are truly flattering, thank you. We hope that one day soon we can welcome you back for another great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Overall, we had a great time and wonderful experience. The serving staff at the hotel bar was slow and had horrible service. The other hotel staff was great and very friendly. We were impressed with the large rooms and the huge walk in closets.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HSTOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your stay at The Wigwam. While we are thrilled that you had such a great time, we would like to apologize for the service you received at the bar. Your comments will be reviewed with the appropriate manager. Once again we would like to thank you for your review. Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this resort before and loved our casita and the grounds. This time things seemed a bit worn, and attention to detail was lacking. We had a room with a door that didn't want to close, and had to be slammed to get the lock to engage. Also the room, not a casita this time, but a row, had an adjoining door that you could hear right through- and we heard our neighbor's TV all night. The design of these rooms also had a balcony for the second story on top of our room, so you could hear people moving around up there. On the golf course the GPS systems were not working. We could not check out via the TV, as that was not working, so had to drive over to the office. The grounds are still stunning, the staff are all very helpful, and food at Litchfield's, The Wigwam Bar, and Red's was great. The outdoor spaces with the pools and firepits are very nice. I might return in a few years because of the setting, but would probably try another resort next year. I would request a casita or get a room along the fairway.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Your feedback is welcomed, however it is disappointing that your accommodations during your most recent stay did not measure up to your prior experience. We value your feedback and wish that we were made aware of your concerns while you were here so that we could do whatever we could to make your stay exceptional. We’re thankful that you shared your appreciation for our facilities and the friendliness of our staff and hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon for a stay that exceeds your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I recently tagged along with my husband while he attended a conference held at this resort. Our room was large, restful, and just what I needed at the end of this 2014 winter! The room had a comfortable king-sized bed, a sofa and a desk, with plenty of room. Plus the ceiling are high, helping the feeling of lots of space. The a/c unit cooled the room quickly when needed, but mostly I had the french door open and the curtains fluttering in the breeze. The bathroom is large, with a tub and a nice separate shower, and two sinks with loads of counter space. The furniture could use a little updating, but the television was a nice sized flat screen. The french door opens to a patio with a lounger and a table and two chairs. Lots of privacy.

The on-property gift shop is run by Ruth, who is an absolute delight to have a conversation with. She will encourage you to swim and get a tan. :)

Room Tip: We were in room 668, which is on the bottom floor and end of a unit. The patio looked on to the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suitcasereadied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

As always, it is a true pleasure to hear from our guests and learn about their experience at The Wigwam. We are delighted that you had an opportunity to accompany you husband to our resort during his conference and that you enjoyed the comfort and spaciousness of your room. We hope that you both will return in the future as it would be our privilege to welcome you back. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Litchfield Park
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Goodyear
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Goodyear
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Phoenix/Glendale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Phoenix Goodyear
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix/Avondale
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Goodyear-West Phoenix Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wigwam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wigwam

Address: 300 E Wigwam Blvd, Litchfield Park, AZ 85340-4410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Litchfield Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Price Range: £105 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wigwam 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beloved by generations, this Arizona landmark, Historic Hotel of America and AAA 4 Diamond property couples historic charm with a truly modern sense of adventure. Relax in the elegant comfort of 331 casitas and suites, but be sure to carve out time for our legendary golf, superb spa, four pools - including a new 25-foot tower with twisting water slides -distinctive cuisine and innovative, Arizona-inspired programming. The Wigwam is the ideal choice for both locals and guests who seek exceptional accommodations, amenities, activities and service that are enriched by the genuine flavors and real character of Arizona’s past and present. Rich with over 80 years of tradition, The Wigwam inspires locals and guests to “Make Some History” by creating memorable stories and cherished new traditions of their very own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Wigwam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wigwam Golf Resort And Spa
The Wigwam Golf Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Hotel
Wigwam Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Arizona/Litchfield Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing