We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice five days at the Wigwam”
Review of The Wigwam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Wigwam
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Acton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice five days at the Wigwam”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Spent five nights at the Wigwam as part of a conference. For a family of three our room space was great. I never felt that we were on top of each other. We had a nice small patio both out the front and back doors (make sure you keep one unlocked so that you can readily get back in if you forget your key card). The pools were nice and I liked that the family pool had lots of shallow ends for our young son. Our meal at Litchfield's was very nice. The grounds are beautiful and well manicured and kept up.

Green Features: The wigwam did not strike me as being particularly environmentally friendly given the lush green grass in a desert environment. Despite hanging towels, changed daily.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noranekko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review of The Wigwam. It is always a treat to hear from our guests and learn about their experiences. We're thrilled that while staying with us for the conference, you and your family enjoyed the spaciousness of your room and spending time at the pool. Your many kind comments are truly appreciated and we hope to have the opportunity in the future to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    288
    82
    31
    27
See reviews for
422
338
30
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at the Wigwam, place is full of adobe character with numerous pictures of its long history. Lovely room overlooking the golf course, adequate size and confortable bed. Restaurants were good, especially the Litchfield. Grounds everywhere were bueatifully kept and manicured. Main swimming pool was clean and reasonably sized but could have had some regulations regarding ball games being played in the pool! Overall a very relaxing place to stay and not the usual run-of-the-mill hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms backing onto the golf course are in a lovely quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
The Wigwam's history spans over 80 years and although many changes have taken place since it first opened, maintaining its unique southwest warmth and charm have always remained a goal for us. We are delighted that while visiting our resort you enjoyed its character and history as well as our many amenities. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We love the wigwam. Historical hotel that has modernized but retained the past beautifully.....sacred and spiritual place for us. Great golf courses, day spa, lots of walking places.....pools, bocce courts, volleyball..you never have to leave. Awesome!

Room Tip: Room with a pool view
See more room tips
Green Features: With arizona water problem they embrace environmentally friendly things...linen reuse.....recycled water fori irrigation
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plandry75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
What a positive and flattering review, thank you. We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed all that The Wigwam offers and that you have referred to us as a desert paradise. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We booked a room for Sunday night for my daughter's 5th grade promotion. It was myself, my 11 year old daughter, and 3 of her friends (yes we were allowed 5 in the room). The hotel offers free rollaways, but unfortunately, they ran out before we arrived so that's first come, first served.

We arrived around 1pm and our room wasn't ready so they gave us a key to the pool. There was a live DJ, games, and freebies for the kids at the main pool. We ordered frozen drinks and food pool side, and the kids had a blast. There were plenty of comfy lounge chairs and shade.

The hotel didn't call me as promised to say the room was ready (and I assume they ran out of the pool-view room I had booked), so I was upgraded to a larger room at the back of the property. Since we were only staying one night, we didn't mind being far from the pools. The following day, the kids swam all morning and when checking out at 11am, I was again offered a pool key so we could stay as long as we wanted. I find this to be so nice and hospitable.

The only draw back is that they charge you for local calls from the room. I want to say it was over $1 per minute. I find that a little ridiculous, but of course we all carry cellphones now.

Green Features: If you're staying more than 1 night, they offer a discount if you forego room cleaning service.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertblondAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We were so happy to read your review and learn how much fun you, your daughter and your daughter's friends had while at The Wigwam. Our pools and activities are designed to ensure there is something for everyone and every guest has an enjoyable experience. We are however sorry that you were not notified you when your room was ready and hope that this oversight did not impact your overall stay. Please visit us again soon as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at The Wigwam for many reasons- the pool area was so nice, clean and uncrowded- the service was great by the pool, too. The grounds are lovely and you truly feel you are away from it all! We also enjoyed the music and ambiance at the Wigwam Bar. Great atmosphere and food but service was a little slow every time we were there. Overall, a great place for a family or adult vacation!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the oasis area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiebella7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We’re glad you loved your stay with us at The Wigwam. It’s gratifying that you enjoyed our resort grounds, the great service you received at the pool and the time you spent at the Wigwam Bar. We hope you have the chance to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

if you are looking for old world, old west charm, the Wigwam still has it! If you have ever stayed at Camelback Inn, the wigwam has the same feel...only better. Rooms are large, well appointed. Staff is friendly and helpful. The main dining room was closed but the menu at the bar was adequate and tasty. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for choosing The Wigwam and sharing your comments. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we're thrilled you had such a positive experience. Our hotel is filled with history and we are honored to know that you enjoyed the classic charm that we offer. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Yes, the hotel is called the Wigwam and while the rooms are a bit dated they are roomy and the grounds are kepted really nice. Litchfield is a beautiful neighborhood dotted with good bars and restaurants to enjoy. It’s somewhat of a drive to Phoenix but hay you’re in Arizona, it’s spread out, so don’t worry about it! The food is very good at the hotel, something that I usually avoid but try it, you’ll like it…

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyCannoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests and learn about their impressions and experiences. We are very happy that you enjoyed our resort grounds so much as well as the cuisine served at our restaurants. The next time you are visiting the area we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Litchfield Park
23.7 mi away
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
17.9 mi away
Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort
19.2 mi away
Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort
23.3 mi away
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#19 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,158 reviews
22.8 mi away
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wigwam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wigwam

Property: The Wigwam
Address: 300 E Wigwam Blvd, Litchfield Park, AZ 85340-4410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Litchfield Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wigwam 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beloved by generations, this Arizona landmark, Historic Hotel of America and AAA 4 Diamond property couples historic charm with a truly modern sense of adventure. Relax in the elegant comfort of 331 casitas and suites, but be sure to carve out time for our legendary golf, superb spa, four pools - including a new 25-foot tower with twisting water slides -distinctive cuisine and innovative, Arizona-inspired programming. The Wigwam is the ideal choice for both locals and guests who seek exceptional accommodations, amenities, activities and service that are enriched by the genuine flavors and real character of Arizona’s past and present. Rich with over 80 years of tradition, The Wigwam inspires locals and guests to “Make Some History” by creating memorable stories and cherished new traditions of their very own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Wigwam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wigwam Golf Resort And Spa
The Wigwam Golf Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Hotel
Wigwam Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Arizona/Litchfield Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing