We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it.”
Review of The Wigwam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Wigwam
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed with family for 5 nights.

We loved this resort. The rooms were very spacious and included walk in wardrobe, separate bath and shower, twin sinks and own private patio area. The whole resort area appeared clean and well maintained with very polite and helpful staff.

Our son loved the water slides at the main pool area which although listed as being open only Friday to Sunday in the hotel literature was open all week to his delight.

We only dined on one occasion at the resort but totally enjoyed our meal especially as it coincided with the $5 happy hour.

There were intermittent issues with the wifi during our stay but when staying somewhere so relaxing perhaps it was a good thing to be isolated from the outside world. Also as a goodwill gesture the resort did wave the nightly resort fee.

Will certainly be back next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiddyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for letting us know how much your family enjoyed your stay at The Wigwam. Our resort provides guests with a variety of amenities and recreation options including our multiple pools and the waterslides that your son liked so much. We are thrilled that everyone loved the five nights they spent at our resort and that you also enjoyed dining with us during happy hour. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    277
    79
    30
    27
See reviews for
408
331
30
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our family stayed 5 nights. The accommodations were clean and in good shape. Our room was on the second floor and had a balcony on both sides of the room, which was great except the back balcony hadn't been swept in a while and there was bird poop on the chairs. (I didn't call the front desk to report it.) The pools were great - clean, warm, and well kept. Ran out of towels one day, but it was an extremely busy day for them. The pool staff brought ice water and cups to your lounge chairs and they were very friendly. In fact, all the staff we encountered were very friendly. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Our second story 2 queen bed room had a balcony on both sides, a large closet, and a large bathroom...
See more room tips
Green Features: Environmentally friendly, but remember that If you hang up your bath towels and wash clothes to dry, they may not be replaced, so remember whose is whose!
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaKathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
It's always nice when a guest review mentions how friendly and attentive our staff was during their stay at The Wigwam. Our associates strive to provide guests with superb service to enhance their experience. We are thrilled that not only did you enjoy the friendly service you received, but your accommodations and our sparkling pool as well. We would however like to offer our apologies for the condition of the back balcony; your comments will be reviewed with our Director of Housekeeping. Thank you so much for your review. The next time you are visiting the area we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We went for four days and took four teenagers. The kids stayed in an Adobe room and we stayed in an Adobe suite that connected. This place is beautiful. The service is top notch. The kids had a great time as did we. Make sure to ask for a microwave. They are free.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jbforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was a true pleasure to have your family stay with us at The Wigwam and we're thrilled to hear that everyone had such a fantastic time. Your positive feedback regarding our staff and accommodations are greatly appreciated. Please visit us again soon as it would be an honor to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san pedro, ca
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

If you are visiting the Phoenix area and all your going to do is be pool side, then this is the place... Unfortunately we are a family of 5. So, I wanted a room alone with my wife while the kiddos slept in a different room. But front desk told me that they do not have rooms that accomodated our sleeping arrangements. My travel plans and activities were all located towards the Sedona area. So it was a 2 1/2 hour drive and 300 miles, so the resort didnt work for us. The pool was nice for the kids, loved the pool hours, the room was cleaned, and the staff was helpful. It was nice that it wasnt over ran by party goers and loud people.It was quaint and mellow. The resort reminded me of a 1950's Hollywood Bungalow resort. It was nice to have stayed there for the night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilco25th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review of The Wigwam. It was a pleasure to have you and family stay with us. It was very nice to learn of your appreciation for our pools, and staff. It was however disappointing to find out that your accommodations were not as you hoped with regard to the sleeping arrangements. We're glad that your kids had such a great time at the pool and hope that one day we will have the honor of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
74 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during and for a business meeting. The resort is beautiful, great restaurants and very friendly employees. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a place to hold a business conference or a vacation getaway.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Your lovely review and recommendation for The Wigwam is sincerely appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to let us know that your recent stay with us for your business meeting was enjoyed by you. We are flattered by your gracious comments regarding our resort, staff and restaurants. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

So much to do even in the AZ summer heat: 5 pools, 3 golf courses, tennis, world class spa. great restaurants, awesome staff. We spent lots of time in the pools and walking around the beautifully maintained grounds (almost 500 acres) Learn the long history of The Wigwam- a Mission style resort that made us feel at home and in great comfort.

Room Tip: If Reception is not too busy, ask to see a room or two.
See more room tips
Green Features: Window films help keep building cool Efficient ventilation system Temperature set to save energy Energy-saving lighting controls Water-efficient bathroom fixtures Energy-efficient lightbulbs .
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review of The Wigwam. Our resort stretches over 440 lushly landscaped acres and offers a variety of amenities and activities to our guests such as our championship golf courses and multiple dining options. We're thrilled you had such a great stay and felt at home. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We decided to support a local treasure. We grew up in Litchfield and wanted to visit and support the resort since it has seen better days. The rooms were dated-not quaint or charming. Unexpected for a resort of this caliber. We went to the pool area and this was deal breaker. Pool staff would not.sell more than two drinks even though they can clearly see we had three adults. After this hoopla, we tried a second round and were carded at the pool after the first fiasco. Deal breaker was no kids on water slide. Wigwam-pay notice- visit the other resorts with water slides and you will quickly find out your rules don't make sense. We tried to support local business-unfortunately too disappointing!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank jesus c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We never like to hear that our guests are disappointed by their stays and we offer our sincerest apologies that your experience was not as you anticipated. We would like to let everyone know that children are permitted on the water slides at our resort but they must be 48 inches or taller to do so, per county law. Information regarding the height restrictions as well as the pool and slide hours can be found on our website. Also, the law only allows us to sell 2 drinks to one person at a time. All guest feedback, positive or otherwise is very important to us and we appreciate the time you have taken to share yours here. We hope that one day you will visit us again and we can provide an experience that exceeds your expectations. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Litchfield Park
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#17 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wigwam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wigwam

Property: The Wigwam
Address: 300 E Wigwam Blvd, Litchfield Park, AZ 85340-4410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Litchfield Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wigwam 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beloved by generations, this Arizona landmark, Historic Hotel of America and AAA 4 Diamond property couples historic charm with a truly modern sense of adventure. Relax in the elegant comfort of 331 casitas and suites, but be sure to carve out time for our legendary golf, superb spa, four pools - including a new 25-foot tower with twisting water slides -distinctive cuisine and innovative, Arizona-inspired programming. The Wigwam is the ideal choice for both locals and guests who seek exceptional accommodations, amenities, activities and service that are enriched by the genuine flavors and real character of Arizona’s past and present. Rich with over 80 years of tradition, The Wigwam inspires locals and guests to “Make Some History” by creating memorable stories and cherished new traditions of their very own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wigwam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wigwam Golf Resort And Spa
The Wigwam Golf Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Hotel
Wigwam Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Arizona/Litchfield Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing