We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience from beginning to end”
Review of Old Pueblo Cafe

Old Pueblo Cafe
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Bad experience from beginning to end”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My girl friend and I visited on Friday evening 02/21/14 arriving at approx 6pm. There were tables available on the patio, but we requested to sit inside. The hostess, a young male, told us it would be a 15 minute wait. After waiting over 50 minutes and watching two other parties getting seated inside before us when they arrived after us, we asked the hostess how much longer we'd have to wait. Mind you, we were standing by the hostess's table outside the entire time. He apologized, grabbed some menus, and told us he'd seat us. Then he proceeded to lead us to a table on the patio. When we rejected reminding him that we had been waiting for a table inside, he then sat us at a dirty table.

After being seated for about 10 minutes and requesting someone wipe down our table, we placed our orders. Forty-five minutes later and a bowl of chips and salsa consumed, our meals arrived. I ordered the sonoran enchiladas which were about average and my girl friend ordered a burrito. Both plates came with rice and beans, but my friend's looked as if they'd been put on the plate and left under a heat lamp for 30+ minutes. They were hard, dry, and stuck to the plate whereas mine were soft and moist. When we told the waitress, she offered to bring new sides, but we were done.

When we tried to explain our frustrations over our experience, the waitress left saying she'd get a manager. Then she returned and said she'd give my friend 10% off her meal which equated to about $1.20. Then she asked if we were done or wanted boxes. I asked for "boxes." She returned with one box handing it to me, took my friend's plate without asking and threw the rest of her meal in the garbage. My friend was planning on taking home her burrito, but she wasn't given the opportunity. While I can see how this was probably a misunderstanding, nevertheless, we were extremely disappointed.

2.5 hours later, we were leaving and agreed it definitely wasn't worth the wait. Next time, we'll go back to Taps (next door) where I've eaten many times and never been disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DesertblondAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    39
    21
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great for breakfast”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My southwest omelette was delicious.
My kids loved th e or eggs and pancakes.
Th e coffee was served in a huge mug .
I loved it!
Compared to other breakfasts around the area, this cafe had the best food, outdoor seating and attentive staff. We had the best waitress and we will be back again !

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank megamomof3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Great food! Loved the Street Tacos (Carne Asada and Carnitas)! Can't beat the salsa and margaritas as well! Always friendly, prompt service!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler10_03_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield Park, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Skip it”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Yuck. Had the carne asada and it wasn't even editable. .. had to send it back. Salsa is the only reason I gave this restaurant anything. Service was just Ok and the atmosphere, inside the actual restaurant, was horrible. The bar seemed a better choice just by looking at it. So disappointed because I wanted a great place close to our house. Skip it.

Helpful?
Thank Always_Traveling7644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodyear
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So-so food with so-so service”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Average food. Average service. Average experience. We probably won't go there again. We used to go there regularly, but the quality has declined. Sadly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank VNorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Pueblo Cafe also viewed

Litchfield Park, Central Arizona
Litchfield Park, Central Arizona
 
Avondale, Central Arizona
Litchfield Park, Central Arizona
 

Been to Old Pueblo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing