We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short visit of the wineregion”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Eikendal Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eikendal Lodge
Ranked #10 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stafa, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Short visit of the wineregion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Leonie is the heart of the Lodge, helped us with the choice of a good restaurant and recommended an unforgettable hike in the Helderberg mountains! Please have the cleaning device removed out of the pool during the day!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    41
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
146
16
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Great time yet again at Eikendal Lodge
Second stay.
Will hopefully be returning in February 2015
I unfortanately was poorly during during my stay.

Leoni went above and beyond what we expected and sorted Doctors appoinment for me within 20 minutes on a Sunday morning
Love the early doors wine tasting.
Breakfast lovely

ALL staff so friendly and nothing too much trouble.
Will most cetainly be returning hopefully for a 3rd time

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrspirelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

My husband's family was in the wine business for over 100 years in the U.S. so I was looking for just the right accommodation to experience the Winelands. Being in the midst of a working vineyard was just perfect. Leoni made us feel as if we were long lost relatives and was most helpful in determining the best approach to visiting this region in the limited time we had. Were enjoyed two dinners on our private patio which were arranged with the restaurant at their wine cellar. We enjoyed their wines and kept a stash in our refrigerator. Perfect!

Room Tip: We were in Room 7 with a delightful terrace shaded by a grape arbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Beautiful location, helpful and very nice staff. Breakfast fullfilling more than expectations. Rooms are very cozy and all have a private balcony. We will come back as soon as possible; we had a perfect stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Juerg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goma, Democratic Republic of the Congo
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Had a wonderful time in Eikendal Lodge. Everything was perfect from the picnic lunch at Eikendal restaurant, the fantastic view from our room, the complementary wine tasting, and the great dinner at 96 Winery Road Restaurant that Leonie booked for us. Very friendly and helpful staffs.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at the lodge and had a very relaxing time.We have 3 children ages 3,5,7 and they were catered for very well.The service was treat and staff extremely helpful and friendly.We stayed in adjoining rooms 8 and 9 which worked very well for us.Great attention to detail, fresh flowers in the room, chocolates on bed in evening and lollipops for the children, all a nice touch.
The rooms were very clean .The bathrooms also very clean , slightly tired but certainly more than adequate.
The breakfast was delicious, one of the best breakfasts we had while in South Africa.
We'd recommended staying here, lovely garden, children able to run around, nice big pool too.
Dinner had been booked in advance of our arrival, and also a visit to the cheetah outreach centre in Somerset West was organised, which was very enjoyable and a must if you are in the area .
The children also liked the resident Jack the dog.
We hope to stay here again in the future.
Thank you Leonie and Kristine.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Patrina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eikendal, Manager at Eikendal Lodge, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Patrina F,
We are very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed a memorable stay here at our beautiful Lodge.
It is always lovely to welcome families and kiddies to our little paradise, and Jack loves all the attention ;o)
We hope that you will be able to return one day!
With best wishes, Leonie, Wendy and the Lodge team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Eikendal lodge. We, a family of five, stayed here for two nights at the end of December. Service, including breakfast, was impeccable. Reservations for restaurants in the neighborhood around New Year were made in advance on the initiative of Eikendal. The staff was very friendly and service minded. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marcel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eikendal, Manager at Eikendal Lodge, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review, and that you will recommend us! We love having families around, and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed a comfortable and relaxing stay here at our Lodge. We hope that you will be able to visit South Africa again soon, and then we look forward to welcome you back at Eikendal Lodge. All the best, Leonie & Kristine and the Lodge team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
7.7 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
3.8 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
5.0 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
#4 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
6.1 mi away
Summerwood Guest House
Summerwood Guest House
#5 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eikendal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eikendal Lodge

Property: Eikendal Lodge
Address: Eikendal Vineyards | R44, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eikendal Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an authentic Cape Winelands experience, blended with superior wines and true hospitality! Eikendal Lodge is uniquely situated amidst prized vineyards and a working winery near Stellenbosch. The property also offers a wide range of activities, from grape picking to a fly fishing clinic with experienced professionals. Our philosophy is focused around the personal preferences of our guests with each visit specially tailored to ensure a flexible Winelands experience. We strive in making every stay a memorable one with exceptional yet unpretentious, personalised service and a homely atmosphere, giving each guest a sense of ownership. Eikendal Lodge offers an idyllic Winelands retreat, and comprise of nine spacious, en-suite bedrooms. Each room has a private terrace opening directly onto amazing, panoramic views of the Helderberg Mountain, our beautiful garden and lusciuos vineyards of Eikendal. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. Each room is individually decorated and appointed with air-conditioning, satellite television, direct telephone, safe, fridge, and tea/coffee-making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Eikendal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing